We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Returned once again to Sycamore, again "splurging" on a suite across the highway. Comfortable, quiet, great setting for soaking and then relaxing in front of the huge flat screens. Good restaurant, fine spa and pool area, bikes for rent and a nice hiking trail head right on the property.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank smgradman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. It is wonderful to hear you have been able to enjoy the resort multiple times.

I am pleased to hear you have been able to enjoy the soaking tubs, restaurant, and spa while on property.

We look forward to your return stay in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    670
    350
    199
    108
See reviews for
359
1,497
78
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Van Nuys
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our trip to the Sycamore Mineral Springs was enchanted. From check-in to check-out, everyone we encounterd at the resort was so helpful, generous, and selfless. Our suite, dinner, and everything = A++

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tyrone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing our staff to provide an amazing stay for your getaway weekend. We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

It was a pleasure to host your stay to the beautiful central coast.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This resort is woodsy and relaxing. We enjoyed the private spa, fluffy comforter and all the pillows! We had dinner at the restaurant and the meal was absolutely delicious! It was a birthday celebration and mentioned this when making the reservation. It was disappointing that the birthday was not acknowledged at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lrgal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you celebrate your birthday weekend at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the resort as you enjoyed the private spa and luxury room décor.

I personally apologize the restaurant did not recognize your birthday during your birthday celebration. I am glad to hear the dinner at the restaurant was absolutely delicious.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a very enjoyable time. The newly remodeled room was very nice, the weather was perfect. Our walks around the spa were filled with great views and
fresh scents of the trees and flowers. We had a couples massage, amazing! Make time and enjoy this great spa and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore for your getaway for two. It was an honor to host your getaway weekend. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the remodeled West Meadow – King Suite, the spa, and massages.

I am pleased you were able to enjoy the scenery with the lush trees and flowers around the resort.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

With the views of the trees, and the tubs in the rooms, it's the best place to relax the cares away, and the new restaurant, you do not have to travel far to get good food, I recommend Sycamore has the best place to stay, and you will want to spend many nights there just to feel the cares drift away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host your recent stay to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. Thank you for allowing us to provide you with a great place to relax on the Central Coast.

I am pleased you were able to enjoy the outdoor scenery, the hot tubs, and restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The grounds of the property are gorgeous. You feel like you are at a woodsy retreat but still close to the beach! Spa services were great and all employees were professional and service oriented. Average rating is due to the age of the property and could use a face lift I several areas. Only complaint is that the kitchen needs to learn how to cook a hamburger, medium well does not mean rare or well done/burnt.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to host your recent visit to the Central Coast. Sycamore is surrounded by beautiful grounds that allow for different attributes such as the near by beach and hill side views.

We are currently in the process of remodeling each of our rooms across the resort. Thank you for your kind feedback as we value each of our guest comments to continue to grow the resort each day.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

The water is great. The service staff are fabulous but the rooms are small without any comfy chairs in the room or on the deck. Our first stay was a web special and that cost was reasonable. But this stay made us decide not to come back and pay full price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kmrgudic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing us to host your recent stay during your recent travels to the Central Coast.

I am pleased to hear you received great service throughout your time at the resort. We are currently in the process of remodeling our rooms across the resort to allow for further comfort and luxury.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing