We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most lovely places to relax in California”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
“One of the most lovely places to relax in California”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and go up to Sycamore Springs at least quarterly to unwind, reconnect and enjoy the spring waters. The restaurant is fantastic and the local veggies are amazing.

I can't recommend staying there enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Spring Resort. It is wonderful to hear you enjoy our resort on a frequent bases.

We will look forward to seeing you on your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    705
    364
    207
    109
See reviews for
376
1,566
82
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Noisy location (traffic) though rooms well sealed from noise, cannot open windows without traffic sounds.
Bed uncomfortable, lumpy, too high up.
Not all that clean. Old scratched up furniture.
Difficulty with flusher on the toilet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heidi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent visit at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. I personally apologize for your past experience at the resort.

I do apologize for the traffic noise you experienced during your stay we do our best to eliminate the traffic as best we can. I do apologize for the room conditions you experienced as we have recently began a property wide renovation.

We look forward to your return visit and providing you a new experience of our stunning resort.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed across the bridge in the bungalows. The room was amazing, especially with the hot tub right outside our door. The staff was very friendly and helpful, however the restaurant service and food left something to be desired. After arriving the night before at 11:15 PM, we looked forward to a good breakfast. The service was slow, the coffee was luck warm, and when our food arrived, happened to be cold. Needless to say, we didn't eat at there again. Although we will more than likely return in the future, we will be eating outside of the resort property.


  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your romantic getaway at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in our West Meadows – King Suites. We recently remodeled these rooms and it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed the updates.

I apologize for the service you experienced in the restaurant during your stay. Sycamore strives to provide outstanding service to each guest. By receiving direct feedback from our guest we are able to continue to grow our guest experience daily.

We will look forward to your restaurant visit and providing you with the highest level of customer service.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hills, Ca
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The area of Avila Beach, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo is gorgeous and worth visiting. The location of the property is convenient to hiking, the beach, and downtown SLO. The hot springs are nice. However, the room leaves a lot to be desired. We were in an older building (Harmony). There is no sound proofing and the windows are super thin, so you end up hearing EVERYTHING that your neighbors are saying and doing. The room is super basic and the bed was not comfortable. But its definitely nice to have a private hot tub on your balcony.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the beautiful central coast for your recent accommodations. San Luis Obispo County offers a unique atmosphere with beautiful scenery.

It is a pleasure to hear you were able to enjoy the hiking trails and local area attractions. I apologize you did not enjoy your room during your stay. Sycamore began renovations in November 2013 to create a new atmosphere for our rooms. I am pleased to hear you were able to enjoy your own private mineral spring hot tub on your balcony during your stay.

I look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarzana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It's a wonderful place to relax and re-charge. The setting is gorgeous and the facilities have an old-world charm. I really liked the soaking tubs and the massage was excellent! We found that the location was wonderful and I loved the proximity to the walking and hiking trails.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort as your restful place of relaxation. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the resort. Sycamore in a unique property and has a special charm to allow for the full relaxation experience.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future to continue to enjoy the soaking tubs and massages.

Thank you once again for your kind feedback.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Concept was great. We upgraded our room to include the fireplace and it didn't work. Disappointing. Everything was very pricey.

Concept was great. We upgraded our room to include the fireplace and it didn't work. Disappointing. Everything was very pricey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your recent visit to the Central Coast.

I apologize that you did not have a memorable experience at our resort. Thank you for being understanding of our historic property maintenance needs. I apologize your in room fireplace did not work during your stay. If we are made aware of any maintenance issues while guest our on property we do our best to resolve the occurrence instantly.

We look forward to having you return in the near future and creating a new experience at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The room was nice, the trails/atmosphere was awesome and the hot tub was well worth the amount of the overnight stay! The service was amazing and the restaurant was well delicious. We wish we had come earlier and enjoyed more of the trails and picnic area. We wish check out time would have been a little later though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing us to create a relaxing and quaint experience for you at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the restaurant, trails, and picnic area.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,571 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
642 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
609 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,352 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing