We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun time at Sycamore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun time at Sycamore”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at Sycamore Monday, April 28th, 2014. We started with a soak and a nice massage. The water in our assigned tub (Cove) needed to be warmer, instead of barely body temp. My wife loved her massage with Lynn.

We followed our massage with local wine in the garden with Colorado based friends who were also staying at Sycamore. We finished up with a great dinner at the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, which is on site.

Tuesday we walked the Bob Jones trail into Avila, about 2 miles one way, then stopped on the way back for breakfast at Woodstone, which is along the trail.

As always, we had a great stay and look forward to the next time.




  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SLODoug25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing Sycamore to create a fun time for you and your wife to enjoy. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the multiple attributes Sycamore has to offer.

From the soaking tubs to massages we strive to allow for each guest to relax during their getaway vacation and we are thrilled to know you were able to experience just that.

It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our farm-to-table restaurant and enjoyed the breath taking gardens views with your friends.

We look forward to your return visit as there are many attributes to the Central Coast such as the Bob Jones trail to enjoy on many different occasions.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    683
    356
    203
    108
See reviews for
364
1,526
80
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The first impression of my room was not the lap of luxury I was expecting. But I was there for the water and to decompress after a stressful work week. Free yoga and mediation class added to the most relaxing stay imaginable. I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CER63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for allowing us to create a memorable and wonderful experience for you during your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort.

We are in the process of updating all of our rooms and hope to soon create a lap of luxury in all 72 rooms across our resort in the near future. I am pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the amenities across the resort and take in the mineral benefits of the mineral water.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future as we hope you continue to come and enjoy our yoga and meditation classes offered daily at our resort.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We could have stayed a week maybe two! Loved every aspect of the place from the people to the food to the yoga and of course the water! We highly recommend a room with a tub. There is nothing like the experience of drawing your own private mineral water soak at the temperature you desire! Plan your trip to include walking, going to the beach or renting a bike on site! Avila Beach is minutes away with lots of cool things to see and do. Take a moment to check out the end of Cove Road and the Farm Stand Store, both also in the immediate area. We loved this place and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gino L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your recent visit to the central coast. It is a great joy to hear you enjoyed the food, yoga classes, and hiking trails.

We look forward to your return visit as we offer mineral spring hot tubs in each of our 72 rooms. Each room offers the benefits of mineral springs.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Covina
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My first time travelling solo. Drove up from Los Angeles, the drive was beautiful and when I arrived at the Resort I felt the website pics didnt do it justice because it was BEAUTIFUL! I had a restful - splendid stay all by myself! Everyone was friendly and my room was CLEAN and bright :) I will return in 6 months and every 6 months after that! LOVED It!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Araceli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding for your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your trip along the coast. We will look forward to seeing you in 6 months at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great place - get a room with private mineral water tub - you can just smell all of the goodness (strong sulphur smell so be warned if you don't like that)! Great massages also. Only negative is that we were quietly sitting on our bed watching TV at what I thought was a reasonable low level when we got a call that we were being "too loud" - it was only 9:30 pm! We have had noisy neighbors talking very loudly in their tubs next to ours and have not complained a long as they pipe down at 11pm.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding for your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the rich mineral springs during your stay at the resort.

We have a fantastic massage team and are thrilled to hear you were able to enjoy the additional services while on vacation.

I do apologize for the inconvenience of being called at 9:30 pm as we try to create a quite atmosphere for our entire resort guest during each guest stay. We appreciate your understands and look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I feel that we should have been told the area we were staying in was being remodeled,. The workers were passing by under our balcony quite early. Quite noisy. Also the housekeeping staff did not service our room. They left a note that the tag was on the ground and to call if we needed service. We did call and was told they would come but they did not. Later when I called again, I was told the housekeeping staff went home at 3. Then why can't you check in until 4 PM?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beverly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your accommodation needs. We value your comments and appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. Your feedback helps us greatly as we continue to improve our guest experience.

I apologize for the guest service you encountered at our resort and the inconvenience it caused you. Our intention is to offer excellent guest service and strive to exceed the expectations and experience of every guest at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. I apologize you were not made aware of the remodel taking place during your stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future as we will have our West Meadows – Spa King Suites completed on May 15th, 2014.

I apologize for the miscommunication in your room not being serviced during your stay. We value our guest privacy while they are here on vacation and if a privacy sign is displayed we do not enter the room. I apologize after receiving your phone call we were unable to perform full stay over service as the housekeeping department had left for the day. However our front desk did offer to service the room in which was declined.

Customer service is highly valued at our resort and I look forward to your return visit to share with you a new outlook of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort.

It was an honor to host your stay during your visit to the beautiful Central Coast; we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I chose to go here due to a friends recomendation. What a good desicion! My wife and I had a great stay. The private hot tubs were awesome to hang out in at night and view the stars. We even saw peacocks walk by! The restraunt, although expensive, was well worth it. We are vegan and the chef made us a special dinner that was excellent! The oasis tub was one of the highlights along with the hike to the summit of the hill behind the property. We will definitly be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your romantic getaway along the Central Coast. It is a pleasure to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay at the resort.

Sycamore offers a unique experience for couples to unwind and enjoy one another. We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the different amenities among our resort from the hot tubs to hiking trails.

It is wonderful to hear you were able to enjoy the vegan items offered in our Farm to Table restaurant. Our Chef uses the freshest ingredients from local and organic farms, ranches, fisheries and vineyards.

We will look forward to your return visit to Sycamore to celebrate many more romantic getaways.

Sincerely,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing