We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place..average room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Santa Maria
1 review
“Beautiful place..average room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

For as much money that we spent on a room. The room should have been nicer. The hot tub that was on the balcony was nothing spectacular. The balcony was dirty looking. Needs more tv channel options as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brittney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to the beautiful Central Coast. Our resort is unique as it sits over 100-acres offering a variety of atmospheres. Throughout the property we offer 13 different room types offering a variety of room options for each guest.

We are currently in the process of updating our resort and creating an updated decor in each room type. As you travel the Central Coast we hope to see you in the near future.

Thank you,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    652
    341
    191
    107
See reviews for
341
1,458
78
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I chose to spend a portion of our 30th Anniversary at Sycamore. We wanted to find a resort with a spa in the Paso Robles Wine Country area. There wasn't much to pick from and Sycamore seemed to be the best fit. We upgraded to the suites. The rooms were very nice and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the mineral spa on the patio was nice. However, the rooms were located across the highway and we had to walk over a bridge and along a dirt path to get to our room. They offered shuttle service, but the wait was too long and we decided to walk. It was OK until we were coming back from dinner and it was dark and poorly lit.

The massage facility was average and is not integrated into the facility. You have to book and pay separately which was fine. As part of the spa, you have the opportunity to use the mineral spas. The spas are located on the hillside and it's unique, but not something I'm sure I would want to do again.

My biggest complaint is the service. We dined at the restaurant on site. The food was prepared well, but not a great value. There were only 3 couples sitting outside and there were 2 servers assigned. You would think we would have gotten decent service, but we had to track our server down more than once during the dinner. The dining room is dated and the outside patio doesn't offer anything in the way of ambiance. The environment did not compliment the prices charged for the meal.

The fatal flaw was Guest Services. A friend called ahead and purchased a gift card for us to use with our spa treatment. The card was placed in a small package on a table in an area of our room that was out of the way. We didn't realize this gift was in our room until we were checking out. We didn't realize it was a gift to us until after we left. When we called the hotel to see if we could apply the credit to our bill, we were told that we had to use the card at the time of service and that we could use it next time we were in the area. We had to escalate the situation and threaten to put a stop payment on our bill if they wouldn't work with us. Finally, we were told that if we came back to the resort, they would give us a credit on our bill. We had to drive back to the resort the following day to take advantage of the gift. The front desk clerk offered no apology for the inconvenience.

Overall, it was disappointing overall experience and I would not recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Front Office Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort for your 30th wedding anniversary. We are pleased to offer a stunning resort and spa here on the Central Coast to allow for a tranquil and relaxing getaway experience.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the West Meadow King Suites as we are excited to display our newly remodeled rooms to our guest. As the room is located over a walking bridge we believe it allows for a peaceful walk to the room. I apologize you felt there was a delay in bell service during your stay, we seek to provide each guest with immediate service and apologize we fell short of just that during your recent visit.

It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed our spa facilities as we recently were awarded the best of San Luis Obispo County to receive a massage.

I apologize for the guest experience you received during your dinning experience. We seek to create a unique experience for each guest as we offer local fresh ingredients. Through feedback such as this we are able to review our levels of service and create a higher level of service for each guest.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the use of your gift card. The gift card was purchase by your friends after your arrival – which was requested to be placed in your room. The front desk is happy to accommodate payment changes at anytime, I personal apologize you felt there was a lack of service provided during stay.

It was an honor to host your stay on the Central Coast; we hope to see you for another getaway weekend in the near future.

Thank you,

Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Booked a spa package with a king suite that included its own hot tub on the patio. The suite and the hot tub - fantastic! Everything else - difficult, trying, annoying - not conducive to a relaxing stay. Called to book a double massage and the only availability they had was 11:15 the morning of checkout. Asked if I could get a checkout at 1 pm since I was using their amenities and they had no availability before 11:15. I was told no problem, just call in the morning. The next morning, called and was told absolutely no late checkouts after 11 a.m. After much pleading, was granted a 12:30 checkout. Next problem - the spa. Come 11:15 they came to get us one by one. When informed I had booked a couples massage 4 days earlier and confirmed with Kayla (sp?) they were surprised and decided to squeeze the two of us into a room obviously meant for one table.

So, all in all, a nice property, but if the stay is meant to be tranquil and relaxing instead of filled with conflict and problems, they need to have the service match the prices.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MX411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Visalia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have been in the hot tubs various times and have always wanted to actually stay in one of the rooms. Celebrated my daughters 8th grade promotion on this stay. Very beautiful. I was very pleased - very clean and nicely decorated! Loved having the spa on the patio, made for a relaxing stay! Loved being 5 minutes from the beach!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrrance
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good overall. Was a little pricey. They should integrate their systems, that way you only go to one place to make your dinner and massage reservations. The room was mice, really liked the fireplace and private tub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lompoc
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for our 4th aneversary. Staff is really nice and the private tub on the deck was great. But the pillows and the bed were really horrible ! Lumpy kneck and back torture! My husband said " no wonder they have a spa they have to give you a massage after a night with those pillows and bed" oh and also the bed was suppose tone a queen and was clearly a full. Over all I think with the prices they charge they should be making enough money there to get better bedding .
The breakfast was WONDERFUL!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amber W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Martin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband requested this property for a birthday get away weekend. Dinner at The Gardens was terrific with knowledgable wait staff and interesting wine list. Room was well appointed and spa relaxing. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
6.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
7.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#11 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing