We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Came here with my girl for 4 th of july weekend it was amazing loved everything about it. The room came with its own private hot tub that over looked the mountains it was a beautiful view. A turkey keep passing by while we were in the hot tub my girl was scared to death of the turkey LOL I thought it was pretty funny. Will be back soon

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alejandro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Alejandro,

Thank you for your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We greatly appreciate your business and time in writing a review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your 4th of July weekend here at Sycamore Springs. Sycamore is truly an authentic resort filled with many amenities that set it apart from typical places to stay. Our Hot Tubs are definitely one of those amenities and we are happy to hear you enjoyed those too. Plus, our wild turkeys sure keep things interesting!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you at Sycamore again soon!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Minerals Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,706)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,018 - 2,024 of 2,706 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were in SLO to attend a wedding at a venue near Sycamore Mineral Springs. Your resort is in a great location and tehre is much potential. Overall from the rooms, and other facilities are in despserate need of renovation. The rooms look like a Home Depot remodel. With a renovation Sycamore Springs could be a wonderful resort

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Cheryl,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are glad to have had your business during your friend’s wedding weekend. Thank you for taking the time to write a review as it helps us continue to grow as a successful business.

We are aware of the need for a remodel and renovation for most of our rooms. Currently, we are in the middle of a resort-wide renovation. Thus far we have completely remodeled and renovated our West Meadows Suites. We are onto the next round of suites and rooms now.

We hope that you will be able to come again and stay in our newly remodeled rooms to experience the ‘new’ Sycamore. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Check into the harmony building rooms if you can. They have mineral water hot tubs and an unobstructed view of the hillside. Call ahead a half hour before your arrival and they will have your tub ready when you get to your room. The new chef in Avila Gardens restaurant is great. Best Ribeye in recent memory. Also very important mid week deals if you can save you a lot of money off the rack rate. And Yoga classes daily are always a treat for me and my wife

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petecwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Pete,

Thank you for your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for writing a review as it helps us improve daily.

We are happy to hear about you were able to fully enjoy your tub the moment you arrived by having it filled prior to your arrival.

Our Chef is really making a big difference in our Garden’s Restaurant. We are happy with all he has incorporated and all the changes he is making. He is a truly talented Chef and we are glad to have him – as are our diners!

It’s always great to hear when guests are able to fully utilize all that we offer here at Sycamore. Our Yoga Dome is such a wonderful amenity that our guests can enjoy for free – so we are happy to hear when guests really enjoy them.

Thank again for your recent stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a fabulous time. I think key is to go midweek. We pretty much had the pool to ourselves but could not understand why the Oasis (beautiful hot tub with water falls) was fully booked when we asked and it was un occupied the whole time we spent at the pool ( a few hours). The restaurant wait staff and the bell hops were great. I found the desk staff, both at check in and at the spa desk, a bit brusque. The private hot tub on the deck adds a wonderful element for which I would come back. We stayed in the West Meadows Suites which I think are worth the extra money. Quiet and surrounded by beauty. We brought our bikes and enjoyed the Bob Jones Trail to Avila Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Astrid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Astrid,

Thank you for your recent trip to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are so glad to hear you had a fabulous time while staying with us. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us strive to become the best we can.

Happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the pool to yourselves! The Oasis may have been closed due to preliminary remodel work. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant and staff along with the balcony Hot Tub. We are sorry about the desk staffs and we have forwarded this along in order to give the best possible service in the future.

Our West Meadows suites are just gorgeous and we are so happy with the outcome of the remodels! We are glad you enjoyed the quiet, serene nature preserve that they sit upon. Thank you again for your time in writing a review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Nice and quiet. Would describe it as a combo of a throw back to hippe era with outdoors and some modernism. In that regard staff little young and little yo dude. Would go back but not rush back right away. Massage was great my wife and I both had 90 minutes. Was disappointed wine and chees was not in our room upon opening door to room. The small details need to be improved upon. Also nothing open before 8:00 am couldn't even get coffee, they should change this there are early risers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your recent visit and stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We are happy to hear that you had a quiet and peaceful time.

Our Spa is highly sought after and recognized as being one of the best Spas on the Central Coast. We are very glad to hear you were personally able to experience it. There is no better way to ultimately relax.

We apologize for the wine and cheese not being prepared upon your arrival. We have forwarded this message along in hopes that this won’t happen again. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. Our restaurant doesn't open for breakfast until 8:00am, however we do have a coffee station that should be setup and out at 6:30am, 7 at the latest. It is located in the lobby by the Front Desk. If this wasn't out for you, we again apologize.

Thank you again for your review as it helps us improve. We hope to see you back at Sycamore in the future!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We mostly enjoyed our stay. We were in the adventure building, which was described as the "affordable" section. I was a little worried about the potential quality of the room but was pleasantly surprised. Our room was comfortable and spacious, we loved the balcony & hot tub. The toiletries provided smelled heavenly! Room service was prompt but for some reason it is unavailable between 11am and 5pm, which was disappointing. There were two big minuses about our stay: 1. the noise from people using the tubs on the hillside, they were rudely yelling and hollering until about 1am (the hotel states that quiet hours are from 9pm-9am but this is apparently not enforced), and 2. whining, barely attended children throwing tantrums at the hotel pool and outside in the "meditation" garden. We were looking forward to a quiet, relaxing, romantic trip and that feeling was totally shattered by the excessive noise and bratty children. With the way this resort markets itself it seems like it should be adults only, there really isn't any reason to bring small children. Luckily we decided to do more sightseeing than originally planned so we didn't spend as much time in the room. The bed was firmer than I enjoy. This coupled with weird clicking and popping noises in the wall near the headboard meant we didn't sleep as well as my partner and I were hoping. Still it's a beautiful property close to gorgeous hiking trails, the beach, Morro Bay, Pismo, and SLO.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear George,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy our amenities and also explore the surrounding areas.

We apologize for the surrounding resort noise you experienced. We do have quiet hours, but because of the size and location of the Tub Hill, sometimes we cannot always implement and enforce this. We would be happy to do something in this event and please call the Front Desk shall anything like this occur again.

We are located in a beautiful Central Area, close to so many great activities. So, we are glad you and your partner were able to get out and experience the surrounding cities, sites and hiking trails.

Thank you again for your stay and we look forward to having you again soon! Thank you for taking the time to review Sycamore.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

As a first time visitor to this Resort, we were not aware that the property was under renovation. We got the section that has yet to go under renovation. The first night the room was so bad that we begged to be moved to another one. The second night the room was a little better- still very old and not as advertised and expected! Location and customer service were great. However, the rooms that haven't gone through renovation are uncomfortable and not worth your money!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Mike,

Thank you for your recent visit and stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We are glad you were able to get away and relax at our Resort.

We are happy to hear that you liked our location of our Resort, located among forests of Sycamore and Oak trees. Our grounds really are tranquil and beautiful and serve just the right amount of peace and nature.

We are sorry about the poor room conditions you experienced. Our historic resort is in need of updates, in which we are implementing currently. It is true that we have renovated and completed one whole portion of rooms – and already onto the next phase. We should have all the rooms renovated by this time next year!

We hope you will be able to come back and stay to experience our new remodeled rooms and resort! Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,466 reviews
8 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,702 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,283 reviews
5.5 mi away
SLO Brew Lofts
SLO Brew Lofts
#9 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £120 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing