We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed terribley!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were so excited to tyake a trip here, viewing the pictures the room we were supposed to get was spectacular, however upon arrival our room was anything but nice. 300.00 a night to have a bathroom that had mold all over the shower, the light bar completely rusted out, the mattress was in bad shape, all the furniture in the room was badly scarred and dilapidated, I could not call for another room as it was July 4th weekend and it was booked solid. When I asked about it at checkout and showed pictures response was most all rooms had been remodeled in June 2014 my building was still scheduled supposedly. This is bate and switch too me with the pictures.. if you know your rooms are substandard to the pics.. say so, offer a needs remodel discount of 50 % off.. but too say nothing and let us check into this mess is not acceptable at all!!! I was told could come back and enjoy 1 free night in an upgraded room, we live almost 4 hours away.. why not offer 50% off the terrible weekend we had, or offer two night free stay in newly remodeled room as our stay of two night was a bust!! The hiking trails are great, that's the only reason we stayed on the next night!!! DONT waste your money.. not worth 300 a night for filth and mold.. oh and by the way.. maid service came in and only changed the trash can.. no cleaning of the room while we were there, the coffee cups had mold on the white paper they were sitting upside down on.. yuck!! I would not walk around our room barefooted.. I wore shoes as I saw the carpet was filthy as well. WHAT A SHAME!!! If only I could reach the actual owners of this property.. SHAME ON YOU for leaving this place alike this and charging sky high rates for junk!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Carrie,

Thank you for your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We appreciate your business and feedback.

\We are happy you enjoyed our hiking trails as this is a perfect way to explore our grounds while getting exercise and a great view of the ocean at the end! We are sorry your experience wasn’t ideal for you. Thank you for pointing out certain issues as we can forward these along to department heads in order to maintain the highest quality service.

We have just finished a major portion of our resort wide remodel which are the West Meadows King Suites. The next round of room remodels are underway currently.

We hope when you return with your voucher that you will be able to experience one of our newly remodeled rooms and have a different, more enjoyable experience than your first. We look forward to hearing back from you. Thank you again for your time in writing a review.

Best,
Sycamore Mineral Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,015 - 2,021 of 2,707 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the resort two nights in the Eloquence Suite, a two bedroom, two bath suite. Very spacious with lots of character. Arched doorways and a huge patio with a hot tub all to ourselves. The kitchen has a full size fridge and microwave. Flat screens in each bedroom and the living room area. The grounds are lush and very beautiful. The only cons were that it wasn't as clean as I would hope for the cost of the suite. Kitchen cabinets were sticky and the grout on the tile floors didn't look very clean. They were kind of skimpy on towels given that there's a hot tub on the patio. The first night was very quiet, but on our second night the people above us clomped around back and forth until about 2 a.m. I would suggest making sure you have an upper floor room. I would stay here again. The cons weren't enough to keep me away.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We are very appreciative of your business and your time in writing a review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Eloquence. It really is a great place to gather with friends and loved ones. Our entire Resort does exude peacefulness and serenity. That’s what we strive to offer here at Sycamore – a break from the norm and ability to fully disengage and relax.

Thank you for bringing up the cleanliness of the suite, we will definitely forward this along to our housekeeping department. Also, in the future, if you need any more amenities in the room – such as more towels, please call the front desk and we will be happy to provide these for you.

Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you again!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Disappointed in the room for the price. Tub area was dark and shabby. We had expected more. The room itself was ordinary, but clean. Room location was in a poor spot in the building--beneath a tier of other rooms. We felt boxed in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Eric,

Thank you for your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We appreciate your feedback and time in writing a review as it helps us improve daily.

We are sorry to hear that you felt ‘boxed in’ while in your room and that your tub area was dark and shabby. We do have different room types available that are free standing and more open to nature. These are our West Meadows suites. Next time you visit us, please ask for one of these rooms and you will feel the difference. These rooms will be worth your time and money!

Thank you again for your review and recent visit. We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Mineral hot water is very good and we could enjoy the juczzie very much. It is very nice that each room has juczzie because we could take a juczzie any time between 7:00AM to 11:00PM, which was good especially after two hours hiking. Buth room is not large maybe too small. We woke up early because of noise from upstairs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kaoru K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Came here with my girl for 4 th of july weekend it was amazing loved everything about it. The room came with its own private hot tub that over looked the mountains it was a beautiful view. A turkey keep passing by while we were in the hot tub my girl was scared to death of the turkey LOL I thought it was pretty funny. Will be back soon

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alejandro L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Alejandro,

Thank you for your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We greatly appreciate your business and time in writing a review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your 4th of July weekend here at Sycamore Springs. Sycamore is truly an authentic resort filled with many amenities that set it apart from typical places to stay. Our Hot Tubs are definitely one of those amenities and we are happy to hear you enjoyed those too. Plus, our wild turkeys sure keep things interesting!

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you at Sycamore again soon!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Minerals Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were in SLO to attend a wedding at a venue near Sycamore Mineral Springs. Your resort is in a great location and tehre is much potential. Overall from the rooms, and other facilities are in despserate need of renovation. The rooms look like a Home Depot remodel. With a renovation Sycamore Springs could be a wonderful resort

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Cheryl,

Thank you for your recent visit to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort. We are glad to have had your business during your friend’s wedding weekend. Thank you for taking the time to write a review as it helps us continue to grow as a successful business.

We are aware of the need for a remodel and renovation for most of our rooms. Currently, we are in the middle of a resort-wide renovation. Thus far we have completely remodeled and renovated our West Meadows Suites. We are onto the next round of suites and rooms now.

We hope that you will be able to come again and stay in our newly remodeled rooms to experience the ‘new’ Sycamore. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Check into the harmony building rooms if you can. They have mineral water hot tubs and an unobstructed view of the hillside. Call ahead a half hour before your arrival and they will have your tub ready when you get to your room. The new chef in Avila Gardens restaurant is great. Best Ribeye in recent memory. Also very important mid week deals if you can save you a lot of money off the rack rate. And Yoga classes daily are always a treat for me and my wife

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petecwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SycamoreGuestService, Public Relations Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Pete,

Thank you for your recent stay at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for writing a review as it helps us improve daily.

We are happy to hear about you were able to fully enjoy your tub the moment you arrived by having it filled prior to your arrival.

Our Chef is really making a big difference in our Garden’s Restaurant. We are happy with all he has incorporated and all the changes he is making. He is a truly talented Chef and we are glad to have him – as are our diners!

It’s always great to hear when guests are able to fully utilize all that we offer here at Sycamore. Our Yoga Dome is such a wonderful amenity that our guests can enjoy for free – so we are happy to hear when guests really enjoy them.

Thank again for your recent stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Sycamore Mineral Springs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
8.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,467 reviews
8 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,702 reviews
5.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,284 reviews
5.5 mi away
SLO Brew Lofts
SLO Brew Lofts
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1215 Avila Beach Dr, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8048
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £120 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort rests atop hot mineral springs and spans more than 100 acres of forest, hills and meadows on the picturesque Central Coast of California. An authentic California resort, the property features hillside mineral springs hot tubs, a beautiful spa, the Gardens of Avila Restaurant, a labyrinth, private balcony hot tubs, meditation gardens, and wide selection of mind-body classes in our Yoga Dome. Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort -located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles is just a short walk to the ocean and close to award-winning wineries, golf courses, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach, and San Luis Obispo. Escape to our historic resort voted best Spa and Weekend Getaway on the Central Coast. Experience rustic elegance in a serene and relaxing environment surrounded with the best California has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycamore Mineral Springs Hotel San Luis Obispo
Sycamore Springs
Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort
Mineral Resort Springs Sycamore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing