We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,010)
Filter reviews
3,010 results
Traveller rating
1,252
897
466
251
144
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,252
897
466
251
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub avila beach the bob jones trail west meadow yoga classes queen suite across the bridge private tub hiking trails couples massage relaxing stay beautiful property romantic getaway gift shop central coast tubs sulfur
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 3,010 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This resort is NOT a great value, considering the price and what you get (or don't get) for your money! The In-Room spa has no view (dirt hillside), very few working jets and no heater, so there is little incentive to fill it with hot water (which can take a half hour or more!) every time you want to use it. And they charge you extra to use the scenic hillside spas. Disappointing, considering we spent almost $1,000 for a 2-night stay.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rickgyver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ccrellin, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm very sorry we didn't meet your expectations. I'm having our maintenance team look into the hot tub jet issue. Some of our tubs are "drain and fill" and other have built-in heaters. Some people like one style, others the other one. We appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The room was not a $300 room. The carpet was stained so I didn’t want to take my shoes off. There was an ant problem. The room didn’t have filtered water so I wasn’t able to make coffee before getting dressed and asking the front desk for more water. Overall the room was run down and needs a remodel. Check in is really late.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank H7704NLrichardg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ccrellin, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We have completely renovated almost every one of the one-bedroom spa suites and now we are in the process of renovating the historic standard mineral spring rooms. We are located on 100 acres of forest and meadows, and occasionally we will get ants, but usually it is pretty minimal. Thank you for your helpful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I read a lot of reviews beforehand so I was careful to reserve a room that met with my expectations. Since I read that some of the rooms are without AC and "5 star resort" levels of insulation, I reserved a suite in the Meadows, specifically, the Mellow room. I was very happy to find that the room was clean and had a beautiful layout with our tub on our private deck. It was especially nice to find that it would be impossible for anyone to look over and into our deck. The room was QUIET, we did not hear a sound from anyone or anything. The amenities and accommodations were great and the staff was beyond pleasant and helpful. From the young guys driving the golf carts to the staff at the spa, everyone evidenced happiness and contentment with their jobs which goes a long way to increase my enjoyment when I stay somewhere. We only managed one meal, breakfast, at the restaurant and we both found the offerings to be unique and great tasting. I really have no complaints and would definitely return. Oh, I expected the sulfur smell to be MUCH worse. We didn't smell anything where we stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jdllmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ccrellin, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a wonderful review. I will make sure to share it with everyone at Sycamore! So glad you had a chance to experience so much of what Sycamore has to offer. By the way, the West Meadows wells are full of minerals but do not contain the sulfur smell at all. We are looking forward to you returning soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The overall location is wonderful and beautiful. The first room we were assigned to was terrible. The bathroom shower had mildew and the sulfur smell was so extreme we would not have been able to open the windows. We ended up having to upgrade to get a better room which was better except for the ants, the keurig appliance not heating up the water for coffee and the hot tub had dirty water. We thought the water was clean until we saw the dirt and oil floating up when we were ready to go in it. Ended up not using it.Please note that we did use our timeshare exchange for the first night and paid for the second night. It was not up to the standards of our timeshare units. We would like to come back but again Sycamore may want to update some their rooms as it is a beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mgualderama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ccrellin, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We've completely renovated almost every one of our one-bedroom spa suites and are in the process of renovated our historic standard mineral springs rooms--the kind you stayed in. Some guests absolutely love the sulfur smell, some clearly do not. All our water has minerals, just some of the wells also contain the sulfur smell--or fragrance to some. Of course, I don't know if that is the case, butkj our water with all its mineral is at times is mistakenly seen as not clear or clean. But it is. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The only complaint is that the furniture was very noisy, which made being intimate an issue. The bed was loud and moved like it was going to break and the couch made a lot of noise as well. Food at the restaurant was not great either. Other than that, we have no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KendraRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ccrellin, General Manager at Sycamore Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Well, I'll look into the furniture issue you noted. We've just created an updated menu at our Gardens of Avila Restaurant. I hope you'll return and try it. Please feel free to contact me directly, I can personally make sure you do not experience the furniture situation you described upon your next visit. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews