We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“360 views”

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hiking trail that ends with a spectacular view of the whole Central Coast.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“360 views”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Nice hike/trail run to this peak. Terrain does get somewhat techical at some parts when you have to navigate through slates of rocks but definitely a great trek. At the top you see ocean views and nice surrounding hills. Going down from the peak, if you like trail running you would really enjoy the way down. Grade is just perfect - not too steep but enough pitch to allow you to really book it. Fun switchbacks and I felt like I was on a ride. It was cool seeing the water's edge and where you park getting closer and closer as you go down. Mountain bikes are allowed to a certain point at the beginning of the trail but it's clearly marked to how far. The trail did fork out a couple of time but either well marked or pretty easy to figure out which one goes to the top.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flipsub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“good workout and great ocean views”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A 4 mile RT hike up a mildly steep, rocky trail. Exercises the ankles. Gets the heart and lungs pumping. Went on a gorgeous sunny day and could see forever to the mountains and to the ocean. Cooling breezes. Warning, trail signage is a joke (barely present) and visitor center had inadequate hours. We hikers asked each other and of course, going up would get to some peak and going down would get to the ocean. Hard to get lost, but might not be where you planned. Trail is exposed so bring hat and sunblock. They allow horses on many of the narrow trails.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paladin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pomona, California
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The PERFECT reflective getaway”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Montana de Oro State Park has many other trials, but Valencia Peak has thee best view. The whole park is surrounded by beautiful views from the beaches and cliffs to the trees and mountains. The trail itself was never too difficult and definitely helped me grow as a new hiker :) oh..and I'd definitely invest in hiking boots before going!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Panoramic Views”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Well worth the hike! About half way to the top, near the ridge of the second peak, we've found fossils --- really cool! Look carefully along the part that looks like a dinosaur ridge - that's where we found the fossils. You can see absolutely stunning views from the top!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hike”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Nice hike. Not too difficult. We only had sneakers and the the path is a little rocky, but no problems. Views are nice although it was a little foggy the day we were there..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank swhwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valencia Peak Trail also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Valencia Peak Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing