We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super cheap digs”
Review of El Toro Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Toro Motel
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Super cheap digs”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Even though it is totally run-down and quite sketchy looking, this is a huge bargain in san luis obispo. The room wasnt dirty or the showers werent moldy like others mentioned, but decent sized and clean enough. True the heater/aircon banged, but as of most coastal california, the tempature isnt so cold or warm to keep you up at night. Free coffee and pre-packaged pastries for breakfast is just an extra plus.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oddholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

The rooms had mold mildew,dry rot around shower.u smelled mold and mildew. All nite.floors has dry rot.weak.showers leak on rooms below. But got to stay free.no ice machine.2by 3ft soda machine..nit friendly people.police says to call code inforcement.and health on hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dharlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Luis Obispo hotels

Essex
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Out of the 20 hotels/motels we have stayed in over the past 2 months this was by far the worst- it looked as if it needed a woman's touch. The grounds were a mess of old furniture. the bed sheets were very rough/unironed dry. The floor had big dents in it which made you feel you would fall through. The bathroom window did not lock, and there was no lock inside the front door for night security. The shower room was a disgrace- as shown in the picture! There was no coffee in the room BUT it was available in the office between 8-10am in paper cups without lids for you to carry back to your room -my husband spilt coffee down his trousers when trying to get out of the office-not happy. There was a pre-packed muffin to go with this.
The one good thing I can say is that the water was hot, with good power, and plentiful.
It is right on the junction of 2 major hwys which is useful, but made it a rather noisy place to be.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladys45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My daughter graduated from Cal Poly this weekend and we stayed here. There were people hanging out in front of the motel who looked like they were up to no good. I asked the manager to show me the room we would stay in and he showed us a room that was decent with a flat screen tv and also very clean. When I went into the room I stayed in, it was the complete opposite. I put layers of towels on the mattress to avoid bed bugs. The windows did not even lock! I couldn't leave my stuff in the room because I was unsure if it would still be there when I came back. I told the manager I did not want to stay here because I did not feel safe and he said there was nothing they can do. There are no refunds. Do not stay here!! It is disgusting.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank slotraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed here several nights. The motel is old, but the rooms are very clean and totally adequate. We had a couple of minor problems which were addressed and taken care of immediately. Having a micro and fridge certainly helped with our budget. Noel, in the office couldn't have been more friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eagle909696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2011

The motel appeared old and run-down. Junky chairs sitting on the porches outside rooms. We were not told about any continental breakfast, but it looked like there was coffee and some pre-packaged pastries. The beds were fine and it was relatively clean but the bathroom was "bare bones" and the shower looked old and and a bit scummy, although it worked fine. There was no hair dryer, although the description said there was. I was able to get an old one from the front desk. Although the owner/manager seemed nice, housekeeping "forgot" to make our beds and replace our dirty towels. There was a fair amount of road noise and there was a bright light right outside our window that made sleeping difficult unless you are heavy sleepers.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

So I think those who have reviewed this spot have exaggerated a little. I mean it's fine - not gross or anything and the guy at the front office is really nice. But make sure to ask for a room on the interior because across the parking lot it's really loud.
The heater in my room started banging really loud in the middle of the night so I froze... But other than that it's your typical roadside motel - decent, good location an I felt safe...

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.6 mi away
SLO Brew Lofts
SLO Brew Lofts
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obi...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
550 reviews
0.6 mi away
Garden Street Inn
Garden Street Inn
#3 of 8 in San Luis Obispo
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Toro Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Toro Motel

Property: El Toro Motel
Address: 625 Toro St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2828
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Toro Motel has been here since 1970's serving its patrons with great quality service and affordable rooms. Stop by to see how we are doing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Toro Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing