We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No fuss no muss”
Review of Sunbeam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunbeam Motel
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“No fuss no muss”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a road trip on October 1, 2013. Very easy to find, quaint, clean, nothing fancy and very inexpensive. Walking distance to downtown. Very friendly staff. This motel is a great value for what you are spending. We are very happy and would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    42
    38
    13
    5
See reviews for
22
56
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It was the cheapest hotel I've stayed on my californian trip. However, it was also the most uncomfortable (and I stayed in a lot of motels). Room was dim, carpets and heavy curtains gave it a really dusty feel (I can't really say it was dirty, but for me it felt uncomfortable), furniture was dated. Owners were very friendly, I'll give you that! And location is on a street full of motels, 10 min walk from the centre. So I guess with some emodeling it can turn into something good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachella84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Ok, this place may not look the best but it's really worth to stay here. The interior looks a bit old fashioned but thats happens a lot in californian motels. The bed was very comfortable though. We had a great night of sleep and the shower was good too. Its just a cheap, clean, nice place. We were staying in room 10, other guests had already posted some pictures of it on tripadvisor its a nice room. The guy at the office was very friendly. Its would have been nice if they would serve breakfast but there are enough nice places to go in the area. We went to Splash and would recommend it.
As we were in SLO on a thursday the farmers market was downtown, it was nice to see. The whole town seems to go to this market. There is a lot of food, we saw a lot of people waiting in line to get a box of barbecued meat :) SLO was a nice place to visit and stay for a night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chotee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Sunbeam was clean and in a great location. The owners were very kind to us and helpful! We would definitely go back! The hotel room had a microwave and mini refrigerator and so was well equipped if you wanted to stay for awhile.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherriLynn196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was an average place to stay. Prices were very good. Staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean. We stayed for one night after a drive along Big Sur before we headed down to LA. I was not impresssed with San Luis Obispo itself but the hotel was decent. Next time i think I would choose to drive the extra few miles and stay in Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Walked in here on a Thursday morning before an afternoon interview, and got a room immediately. Great, friendly guy at the front desk! Was so happy with the room, we decided to stay another night, but had to switch rooms because of a previous booking. Fortunately for us, there was another clean room available, so we just tossed our belongings into the other room and hit downtown again. (Pictures attached of both rooms)

The free coffee was actually pretty tasty, and there were plenty of clean towels, washcloths, etc. Beds were comfy, absolutely no smells from anything in the place. The entire experience was leaps and bounds better than a Motel 6, and I love Motel 6! The price is right, and you're walking distance to downtown. 2 minute drive up to Cal Poly. Conveniently located in a safe, cute area right off the freeway. Free wifi, free parking, awesome TV, mini-fridge, microwave, and travel suggestions at the front desk.

If the next time I'm in SLO isn't with a moving van, I'll definitely be back at the Sunbeam Motel.

Room Tip: I don't know if you could go wrong with any room, but the upstairs rooms have cool views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balneario Camboriu, SC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We arrived very late and they were waiting for us, with everything ready and a room downstairs (not necessary to carry the luggage up). The receptionist is very friendly. The room is clean and organized. Good location. Beautiful city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiancaP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.0 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#25 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
Travelodge San Luis Obispo
#23 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbeam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbeam Motel

Property: Sunbeam Motel
Address: 1656 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2930
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbeam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunbeam Motel is a wonderful motel for the budget-minded traveler. It is conveniently located near downtown San Luis Obispo and Cal Poly. Our rooms are equipped with standard amenities, including cable TV with HBO, free wifi, refrigerators, hairdryers, microwaves and daily housekeeping services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunbeam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing