We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Refrigerator”
Review of Sunbeam Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunbeam Motel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Check-in was fine and Henry, the host is very personable. The room was clean but small and it could use some nicer and more comfortable chairs. My only real complaint was that when plugged in; the "fridge" made a racket and kept me awake the first night. We had food and drink in it and didn't want to take a chance that it would spoil so we left it plugged in. After all was eaten etc. we unplugged it the 2nd night and I slept a lot better. This motel is close to town and several eateries. If you're looking for a bargain and don't mind "roughing it" just a little; it's a good deal.

Room Tip: We were upstairs and had a nice view of the mountains. It's a two story dwelling.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Sunbeam Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed here one night on a roadtrip I took toward the end of Oct. 2013. These are basic motel accomodations. Plus: there is a small refrigerator and a small microwave in the room (I was in room 7), in addition to the standard coffee maker and hair dryer. Staff was very friendly, even giving me some tokens for the trolley that goes down to the Farmer's Market. If you don't want a big breakfast in the morning, they offer some packaged danish in the office. The bed was too hard for my taste, but that seems to be true even in pricey hotels (I like soft beds!). The pillows were also hard, and I woke up with a sore neck. There was quite a bit of street noise, but it disappeared when I closed the windows and turned on the fan. I would definitely stay here again, as I believe it is a good value for the price... I'd probably bring my own pillow next time though!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 19yowzer92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Motel is 15-20 mins stroll from the centre of town and has FREE WIFI! Check in is in a tiny room at the front of the motel - it was quick, however. Parking is free and ourside the rooms. We had room 12 on the ground floor at the rear of the motel - room was quite large with 2 queen beds in it. It had a wall mounted A/C, decent sized fridge, microwave and large flatscreen TV. There was also plenty of storage both hanging and drawer. It also had a wash basin and mirror. You have to get a hairdryer from the front desk.
Toilet had a bath/shower - it was smallish but perfectly OK. Hotel offered a "mini" - coffee/cakes for free, however, we walked down to "Splash" a great bakery 5 mins down the road.

Motel is a bit tired and could do with a face lift BUT it was perfectly adequate for our needs on this short stop over. Location was good for accessing downtown and the bars/restaurants and I thought it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor as we could hear the other guest climbing the wooden stairs and creak...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was helped be a friendly manager to check in. We were downstairs at the back in room 12. It had all the basics and seemed clean. Fridge, microwave, hairdrier, flat tv, coffee maker, two queen beds and room for our bikes. Nothing really wrong with the place, it just felt like the last update was in the 80's.
But, oh yah, the bed...I have decided, after this trip, my first priority in finding hotel rooms in the future, is a good bed. Yes, price is still important to me...but not worth lack of sleep. So, if you are not a hard bed fan, at least avoid room 12, and bring your own pillow.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a road trip on October 1, 2013. Very easy to find, quaint, clean, nothing fancy and very inexpensive. Walking distance to downtown. Very friendly staff. This motel is a great value for what you are spending. We are very happy and would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It was the cheapest hotel I've stayed on my californian trip. However, it was also the most uncomfortable (and I stayed in a lot of motels). Room was dim, carpets and heavy curtains gave it a really dusty feel (I can't really say it was dirty, but for me it felt uncomfortable), furniture was dated. Owners were very friendly, I'll give you that! And location is on a street full of motels, 10 min walk from the centre. So I guess with some emodeling it can turn into something good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachella84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Ok, this place may not look the best but it's really worth to stay here. The interior looks a bit old fashioned but thats happens a lot in californian motels. The bed was very comfortable though. We had a great night of sleep and the shower was good too. Its just a cheap, clean, nice place. We were staying in room 10, other guests had already posted some pictures of it on tripadvisor its a nice room. The guy at the office was very friendly. Its would have been nice if they would serve breakfast but there are enough nice places to go in the area. We went to Splash and would recommend it.
As we were in SLO on a thursday the farmers market was downtown, it was nice to see. The whole town seems to go to this market. There is a lot of food, we saw a lot of people waiting in line to get a box of barbecued meat :) SLO was a nice place to visit and stay for a night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chotee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.0 mi away
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
Lamplighter Inn & Suites
#26 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
358 reviews
2.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
Vagabond Inn San Luis Obispo
#27 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Motel
Villa Motel
#16 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Padres Motel
Los Padres Motel
#18 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
Super 8 San Luis Obispo
#21 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbeam Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbeam Motel

Address: 1656 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2930
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £41 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbeam Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunbeam Motel is a wonderful motel for the budget-minded traveler. It is conveniently located near downtown San Luis Obispo and Cal Poly. Our rooms are equipped with standard amenities, including cable TV with HBO, free wifi, refrigerators, hairdryers, microwaves and daily housekeeping services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sunbeam Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing