We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and tasty”
Review of The Wild Donkey - CLOSED

The Wild Donkey
Restaurant details
Haines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming and tasty”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We had a chance to savor the two specialties of this sweet little place--a Greek salad and two tacos. The atmosphere was calm and warmly lit and decorations were great. We stumbled on it by accident and were most grateful. Service was gracious and friendly.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    10
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great small restaurant”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant. The atmosphere is light and soothing. The soups are amazing and every entree I have tried has been great. I work in downtown SLO and this is a great place for a relaxing lunch. Also good for veggie dishes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Diss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,354 helpful votes
“Great Quirky Place”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My family and I have eaten here about four times and always leave with no complaints. this quirky new place has a menu that incorporates greek and mexican food and even offers some fusion entrees (lamb burrito). I've tried everything from the spanakopita and mousakka to a lamb quesadilla. the food is always great and everything tastes so fresh. the waitresses during the day are always so pleasant and give amazing service. the portions are good and the prices are reasonable. I would reccommend the wild donkey to anyone and everyone. I look forward to eating there pretty much every week :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank melsdad2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Moussaka EVER!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We do a lot of traveling, and I have ordered Moussaka whenever I can. Ever since this restaurant has opened in SLO, their Moussake has been the bar to which all others are compared......and found lacking! We also enjoy the salmon as well as their wonderful greek salad. It is a nice yet casual atmosphere, good service and always a good meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LynneSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wild Donkey a nice fusion of Greek and Mexican”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This place is great!! Easy parking across the street and the great food make this an easy choice. Also real easy to get to from 101.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcguires4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wild Donkey also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing