We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SloCo Pasty Co. - CLOSED

SloCo Pasty Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: British, American, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Made popular by Cornish tin miners in the 1700s, pasties (pronounced “pass-tees”) are a full meal of your favorite foods baked in a pastry crust. The traditional Cornish pasty is called the Oggy and is filled with steak, onion, rutabaga, and potatoes. Featuring a variety of meat, vegetable, and dessert options served in a fun pub atmosphere with outside dining. Serving your favorite beers on tap and the best local wines. Also available to-go and frozen.
Paso Robles, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I wish I would have found this restaurant sooner! It will definitely be my new go-to SLO dining place.

Ordered a bowl of the Irish Stew and a Bangers 'n Mash Pasty to split between the two of us. Be forewarned: the "bowl" is HUGE and could have probably fed both of us just on its own. Served with some wonderful Irish Soda Bread that is fantastic. The stew is thick and delicious. Any stew served with a mound of mashed potatoes on top is great in my book. The Bangers 'n Mash Pasty is served with a side of slaw that is fresh and tossed simply with a vinegar-based dressing. The pasty was chock full of mashed potatoes, onions and perfectly seasoned bangers. The crust is perfectly golden. The brown gravy served on the side was a perfect accompaniment.

Prices are more than reasonable for the amount of food and freshly-made quality. I can't wait to go back and try even more of their fantastic pasty varieties. Next time I'm fairly sure I will even stock up on some of their frozen options to go as well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Auntie_LaLa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Try this place; it is so good at what it does. They really have got to grips with the pasty tradition and re-set it in a California context. We chose from the lunch specials and were delighted by the flavours of the pasties and how the meal was presented. And by the size of the portions - tasty, hearty, but not leaving you feeling that eating will be the death of you. Go for it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idyllwild, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I Must Have Been Starving OR This Was Really Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My title says it all! Great (and fresh) food and "different" in a good way. This little hole-in-the-wall will definitely be on our "must" list whenever in SLO.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Pasties in California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We went for Thanksgiving weekend to San Luis Obispo and found this excellent pasty restaurant. We liked it so much we ate there twice in 3 days!

It's reasonably priced, has good service and is vegetarian friendly.

On our second visit we were tempted by the desserts. We had the cookie dough and nutella pasty. I thought it sounded odd, but it was the tastiest thing I had in a long time.

If you are ever visiting or just driving through SLO, I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGreatAmio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, interesting food, reasonalbe price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

A real side-street find, just south of the Mission on Chorro. I had a mid-evening meal with my wife and daughter - we all loved our food and the friendly wait staff. It's a small place with limited seating inside and on the sidewalk, but very enjoyable. There were several choices or "pies," and each one was very tasty. We complimented our pies with a side order of baked truffle fries, and ordered from a nice selection of wines, beers, and soft drinks. The dessert pies sounded really good, too, but we were plenty full - another time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank maestrojohnnyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SloCo Pasty Co. also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing