We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room with a balcony”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Heritage Inn B&B
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice room with a balcony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed in the white lace and promises room. We had a nice private bathroom with a small balcony. There really wasn't much of a view, but this was a beautiful old house with an interesting history. The hostess was friendly and helpful with suggestions. The parlor has loads of information about SLO. It is also equipped with fresh baked brownies and cookies waiting for you. Wine and cheese in the late afternoon. Wonderful breakfast, self serve. It's nice to be able to choose your portions. There is everything you could want and more for breakfast. Convenient location in the city. Stay here if you want to be spoiled and be comfortable. This is a pet friendly place, although we didn't bring a pet. But, we enjoyed seeing other people's dogs. No dogs were allowed in the breakfast area. The house was very clean and I would go back again to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaSmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    17
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
59
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My father and I overnighted here in August 2010 while on a drive down the California coast, and Lisa and her perfect little inn made our journey. From the refreshments available on arrival and anytime (including lovely local wines), to the clean, beautifully-presented rooms, to the delicious, abundant, lovingly-prepared breakfast, we enjoyed every moment and every experience Lisa offered us.

A side note: Lisa has a great deal of experience in the hotel industry, and takes serious pride in the cleanliness and upkeep of her establishment. (This is probably the cleanest guest house I've ever stayed in, counting journeys on five continents.) She is also a delightful conversationalist, and kept us well entertained throughout our stay.

Thanks so much, Lisa! Keep up the outstanding work.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KimSolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

I needed a place to unwind after a long road trip and this was the place to do it. No tv, just a beautiful and comfortable room. I did not stay long, I got in late and left early. I was greeted by Lisa at 10pm and she had brownies, tea and wine available. This was such a relief after driving all day everyday for over a week and staying in motels. I had such a restful sleep because there were tons of blankets and pillows on the already comfy bed. The breakfast the next morning was just amazing. Everything we ate was better than the last bite. I have no dietary restrictions, but Lisa was so willing to accommodate us if we did. It was definitely the right place to say in SLO!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abnormal456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

This is our second time staying at Heritage Inn, which is conveniently located right off 101, halfway between the Bay Area and LA. Lisa, the Innkeeper, provides wonderful hospitality and a very warm welcome. She had fresh-baked cookies ready for us upon arrival, wine for those who drink, a cozy fireplace going, and offered a room upgrade at no additional charge.

She made an amazing breakfast of tomato, cheese and zucchini frittata, blueberry coffee cake, spice muffins, whole wheat cranberry banana bread, yogurt and fruit platter (see photo).

The house itself is very quiet. Its proximity to the highway and main roads means that it can get a bit noisy outside. The rooms are old and old-school but very clean and with a firm-enough mattress for our purpose of getting a good night's sleep. We like Grandpa's room (good value and fireplace) and stayed in Mountainview room on this trip (great view of the hills during the day and with small private bathroom).

Pet and kid-friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel-adventure-md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

For a little more than $100 a night the Heritage Inn is a bargain for anyone staying in the SLO area, especially for parents of students looking for budget-priced lodging that is close to campus. Although the property is adjacent to a Highway 101 on-ramp the traffic noise was minimal to non-existent even though our room's window faced the busy thoroughfare. The room was just big enough for the two of us and the large antique bed roomy as well as comfortable. For a little more you can opt for a room with a private bath, but we did not feel inconvenienced in the slightest in sharing the two second-floor bathrooms available for the two rooms without. Our room did have a sink and a fireplace. The host was warm, friendly and made us feel welcome. Breakfast was fresh daily and above average B&B fare. We noted that the cook was more than happy to adjust the menu upon request for veggies, vegans, lactose intolerant, allergies, etc. Pets are welcome, too. Both Jen and I felt quite comfortable and will definitely not hesitate to book again in the future.

Room Tip: While all appear similar in size and furnishings, the only major difference is whether you want a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCalBeachGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Fairly small B&B tucked away just off interstate 101. Communal living room was good, dining area was cramped (and the place wasn't full the night we were there). Bedroom was small and the ensuite was poky.
Close to main shopping centre and there are good restaurants and facilities in the town. I am sure there are better deals for the price.

Room Tip: All are upstairs so pack light
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We already miss the Heritage Inn...

Our room was clean, comfortable and sweet, and the location on the edge of SLO is a short walk or drive to town. What sets the Inn apart from other B&Bs, though, is the lovely host, Lisa! She is as unobtrusive or chatty as you wish (though we thoroughly recommend chatting, she has had such an interesting life path so far!), and as many reviewers have already said, she cooks up delicious breakfasts and to-die-for afternoon cookies.

We absolutely recommend a stay!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliie_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
1.4 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn B&B

Property: Heritage Inn B&B
Address: 978 Olive St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2360
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heritage Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hotel San Luis Obispo
Heritage Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing