We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Friendly Comfortable Hostel!!!!”
Review of HI San Luis Obispo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Friendly Comfortable Hostel!!!!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Friendly, Cool and comfortable! These friendly staff members go out of there way to make you feel at home!!! Great location-try avala hot springs local pool for $10 a day or go to Pismo Beach or morro- short distances from here.Some of these best spots on the coast!!!

Room Tip: Womens Dorm Room Upstairs Rocks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoking b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    27
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
5
13
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stopping off at HI Obispo was a small miracle. Traveling alone, this hostel provided much needed socialization with friendly people doing interesting things with their life. It is clean, the bed comfortable and they offer free sourdough pancakes - the best pancakes ever! Everyone is very nice and welcoming. I even lucked out to stay during the music and potluck day! Great hostel all around! Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2012

STAY HERE!!!!!!

For the last year and a half I have traveled all of the united states and stayed in every major hostelling organization in America. In general, the hostelling scene is an unknown gem in American travelling, which is a huge misfortune but...anyone who knows the hostel scene and tavels through these parts know that the Obispo Hostel is a gem in a gem.

Warm environment, clean living area, free parking, accomidating staff and free breakfast it is hard to believe such a place exists in the neighborhood. Like all hostels, it is located in the most prime part of town near everything.

There is nothing else to say than, stay here, be welcomed and continue your journey a better version of yourself.

Room Tip: plenty of power outlets, no worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I stayed here one night as I was passing through San Luis Obispo. The place is very clean, in a great location, with very friendly and helpful staff. In the evening, I hung out in the common space, reading and chatting with staff and other guests, and had a great time meeting some really nice people. I stayed in a dorm room and my bed was clean and very comfortable. Slept like a baby and woke up to some great coffee and pancakes! It was the exact experience I was looking for after a long day of motorcycle riding. I would definitely go back here and will recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I didnt ask for much, but they gave me everything. When I needed help, they were there for me like family. That's what you will find when you stay in this house of strangers, located in probably the happiest home in America. Don't be shy to contribute to the good vibes, and have some pancakes.

Room Tip: Take whatever is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I dont know why, but the house was super neat, clean and everybody was incredible friendly and helpful. the price was cheap and the rooms are really pretty. A helping hand, a room to stay and a second home you will find.

Thanks guys you made my stay my honour.

Room Tip: Morro Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asdfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here overnight as we were passing through on a roadtrip. Were instantly greeted by many a smiling face, showed to a comfortable room and invited to join the staff and other for a home cooked meal (which was delicious). I was sick when i arrived and it was the perfect place to get some rest, there were extremely comfy couches and a fire place, and just a generally chilled and cosy vibe. I highly recommend this place - really friendly staff and a great place to just hang out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beeji_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
2.8 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#19 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI San Luis Obispo

Property: HI San Luis Obispo
Address: 1617 Santa Rosa St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3721 (Formerly Hostel Obispo)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your HI San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing