We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO it!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Huge props for this place for the price.
It's brand new, it blows away any other budget chain in the area, including the oft-reviewed Comfort Inn. The Comfort Inn and the one across the street is older and full of loud kids. So if you have loud kids and are old, please go there. (just kidding!!)
those of you looking for an exercise room? It's the BEST one i've seen for a small chain like this. By far.

the only issue is that it's NOT in the main part of town, so you'll have to (gasp!) drive to get food.
Unless you goto Margie's diner next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsilken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    212
    52
    24
    13
See reviews for
253
141
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is another Hilton property that lives up to the Hilton name. It was very clean, well decorated and appointed and the room was hugh. It was billed as a suite but consisted of one large room with wet bar, fridge, microwave and a hide-a-bed couch. The bed was exceptionally comfortable and afforded us a great night sleep. The room was very quiet and the black-out curtains very effective. Good thing we were not on a schedule as we both slept nearly 12 hours which is unheard of in a strange environment. The complimentary breaksfast was run of the mill but the two ladies who were keeping the plates stocked did an outstanding job and were very friendly and personable. Actually all of the staff we had contact with were over and above in their desire to be helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Great freeway access without the freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wintalldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
We are thrilled that our brand new hotel has met your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to review and share your stay with us. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our breakfast team as well as the rest of our staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

et me start by saying we'd stay here again. We stayed for two nights (myself, husband and kids ages 4 and 1). It was a nice hotel and obviously new. The staff was friendly. We had a king suite (room 426) which was very spacious. There's a kitchenette area with a sink, cabinet, microwave and small fridge. The bathroom is nice and clean. There was a comfortable king bed and night stands, several lamps/lights, a closet and a dresser, a desk with a chair, an arm chair and an additional chair. There was also a pull-out sofa and ottoman. There was a flat screen tv.
Our room had a decent view from the bed of the hills but looking the other direction you looked over the freeway. The only negative of the room was there was a lot of noise from the freeway. Even on the top floor (only 4 floors) it was noisy.

Now for a couple of negatives:
They offer a breakfast ... our first morning my husband went to get coffee and came back with some fruit too. We were planning to go down for the full breakfast later. The fruit (melon) was spoiled. It turned us off and we did not venture further into the breakfast.

There is an indoor pool which we went to a couple of times. It was a little cool. The first time we asked at the desk if there were towels at the pool and were told yes. When we got there we couldn't find towels. I went back to the desk and was told they ran out - the person blamed housekeeping. I went into the fitness room and found some hand towels which we used for the kids. On our way out for dinner we asked at the desk for extra towels for our room and were told they were also out of those towels (the pool towels and room towels are different). Again, there was blame to housekeeping. When we returned from dinner the person at the desk had 2 bath towels waiting for us. He said, I hope 2 is enough we're running short. it was fine.

Like I said, overall it was fine and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdela555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Nice free breakfast.

I thought the rooms were just a little on the small side. One king in the room would have been fine, but two doubles seemed just a tad tight.

Be a little careful with turning onto Calle Joaquin from Los Osos Valley Rd. It comes up pretty quickly after getting off of 101. I suspect that the road actually got moved during construction because the GPS didn't pick up the intersection.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irvine_TSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel. I understand the turn onto Calle Joaquin can be confusing. I have reached out to CalTrans and due to San Luis Obispo County regulations, we are unable to display a sign that indicates where to turn in order to reach our property. We hope that this will change in the future. Thank you for visiting our property and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma,CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Everything is new the room even smelled new. Comfortable beds, good size rooms, great free breakfast. The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our brand new Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo. We greatly appreciate your kind comments and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us! The next time your travel plans call for San Luis Obispo, please allow us to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.4 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
3.7 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing