We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, new hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Clean, new hotel”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We enjoyed our one night stay here. Everything from check-in to the free breakfast to checkout went as smoothly as possible. The rooms were spotless, had plenty of areas to charge our electronics, the wifi worked well, etc. All we really want is a clean, safe hotel where we can sleep without noise or distractions. Even though the hotel had lots of large groups staying there, nobody bothered us, the noise was under control and the beds were quite comfortable.

Room Tip: We had a view of the highway and couldn't hear a single car. I would imagine rooms in the back a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    215
    52
    24
    14
See reviews for
256
142
25
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
354 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

A beautiful brand new facility with a convenient location next to the highway, it’s just what you’d expect from a Hampton. The staff was friendly, the room was nice, the wi-fi worked well, breakfast was good and plentiful, and there was more than enough parking. The bathroom door is set to always swing closed so that’s a very annoying feature we could do without. You do need a car to go to eat or shopping. Priced very much on the high side but it probably just goes with the area and summertime. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2CAtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Did not have the liquor license, so did not have the manager's evening wine and cheese (which would have been really nice after working all day).
Breakfast was good - enough of a variety to satisfy most tastes.
Room was a good size and very clean.
Front desk personnel pleasant.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel14599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
We understand that the manager's evening reception is important to our guests. We are working on obtaining a limited liquor license to accommodate this request. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Like many of the reviewers, we enjoyed the tasteful, modern decor and the cleanliness of this hotel. The staff was accomodating at check-in while the breakfast room staff was perfunctory in their attentiveness. The breakfast was better than the Holiday Inn Express breakfast because it included make- your- own- waffles and fresh fruit, in addition to the usual breakfast fare. The beverage choices were plentiful, and the quality of the coffee was way above average, and it was available throughout the day/night---a nice touch. The location of this hotel is not ideal, but the downtown area --a 5 minute drive---has many excellent restaurants, bars and coffee places. Our room on the third floor was quiet and did not face the freeway.The air conditioner was not too loud or bothersome. The room had all the amenities one needs for an overnight stay. The bed was as comfortable as any bed in a five star luxury hotel--probably because it was brand new. However, the coffee machine was in the bathroom---something I find unhygenic and unappetizing. (We moved the coffee maker before we attempted to make tea or coffee.) Although the price we paid for the room was relatively high---we were happy that we did not stay at the Embassy Suites. When we went to Cost Plus---which is next to the Embassy Suites---we literally saw hordes of children with their parents coming and going through the hotel doors. During our visit,the Hampton Inn was inhabited mostly by adults and a contingent of friendly local firemen. Overall, we had a very pleasant, restful stay--- and we will probably stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: The hotel is adult friendly and quiet. Hopefully, it will remain this way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Brand new in 2012. So not many problems, except...................some unwanted pests aka ants must have hitchhiked into the hotel during construction or during the furnishing of the property. There were teeny tiny ants all over the bathroom. We notified managament as we checked out. Other than ants in bathroom it was perfect, and very convenient on/off the freeway.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We made sure to take care of this issue in every room and around the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
196 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Hampton Inn opened in June and we stayed there in July for 4 nights. The hotel was sparkling and clean as only a new hotel can be. The room was comfortable and quiet. The hotel was located around the corner from the 101 freeway which made it very convenient for our day trips into San Luis downtown, across to Edna Valley, and up to Paso Robles. The breakfast included hot food but that was quite ordinary and nothing exceptional. The swimming pool (indoor) and the hot tub was very nice and clean and we used them every day to relax.. I would recommend this hotel and we intend to stay there again on our next trip to the central coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kardex2dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The place was very nice and accommodating. It is definitely newer and modern decor. The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was good, though you could tell they were still learning the routine, as things were running low and oatmeal wasn't ready to serve until the end of breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francisfammem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at our brand new hotel. We can assure you that we have our routine down now and we would love to accommodate you on your next visit to SLO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.4 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
706 reviews
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,176 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
420 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Address: 1530 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Hampton Inn & Suites San Luis Obispo hotel, located off scenic Hwy. 101 and Los Osos Valley Road. Situated in the heart of central California, this Hampton Inn hotel is close to cultural and recreational attractions. Enjoy fishing, hiking, surfing or kayaking at Avila Beach. Take the children to the San Luis Obispo Children's Museum or the SLO Museum of Art. Find hunting, jogging and horseback riding only minutes away from our hotel. Traveling on business? This California Hampton Inn is only a few minutes away from AT&T, California Polytechnic State University and French Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing