We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another gem of a theatre on the Central Coast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Luis Obispo Little Theatre

San Luis Obispo Little Theatre
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unforgettable Characters. Extraordinary Stories.Live Theatre on the Central Coast since 1947.San Luis Obispo Little Theatre is a non-profit, volunteer-based performing arts organization committed to presenting quality theatrical productions for the entertainment and enrichment of our community.
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another gem of a theatre on the Central Coast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

On the Central Coast we are fortunate to have multiple places to see live theatre. I just got the chance to enjoy my first show at the San Luis Obispo Little Theatre. This was a reader's theatre, where they put on the play by reading from the script. While the staging is minimal, the way they portray, the story is not. Great actors/actresses brought the show to life with the voice inflections, and engagment of the audience through their vocal interaction. This theatre is right in the heart of San Luis Obispo and close to many restaurants and easy parking. While this reader's theatre production of "Good Reading" was only two nights the season will be coming soon and I recommend checking out their website to see if a shows interests you and support local live theatre on the Central Coast.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ttnbten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Little Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

If you like live theatre, check out the Little Theatre. There's a quality production on stage most weekends in this intimate, friendly venue. My wife and I are season subscribers and we're looking forward to the upcoming season which includes The Best Man, It's a Wonderful Life, and Sound of Music.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Run down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

This place needs help. We didn't enjoy it here. The seats were too close together and it did not start on time. The air circulation was also bad.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LakerLover25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S, President, Board of Directors at San Luis Obispo Little Theatre, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
We're sorry you did not have a more pleasant experience at the Little Theatre. We did want you and others to know that we installed new seats throughout the theatre in August 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A tiny gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

One of my God daughters teachs at the SLO Little Theater and often performs there. This is the best Little Theater I've ever seen. The arrangement of the stage and the seating ensures an intimate experience regardless of where you sit. The casts are always wonderful and the choice of plays intriguing. I come all the way from the SF Bay Area for productions there. It's that good!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzannaRoseanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have been to quite a few shows here and never been disappointed. Very small and no bad seats. We are buying season tickets this year. I think a very good deal if the quality continues.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Parclod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Luis Obispo Little Theatre also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to San Luis Obispo Little Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing