We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Place with just a touch of the quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granada Hotel and Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Classy Place with just a touch of the quirky”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Granada Hotel in SLO is a classy and welcoming boutique hotel. My wife and I were travelling through California and we loved our stay in this place.

Rooms are a little small and there isn't much shower privacy, but the ambience and quality of the place easily outweighs these minor inconveniences. A two storey building that gives the whole of the top floor over to guests. This includes a terraced area where coffee is served in the mornings. The hotel is in the heart of SLO so everything is close by. Other plus points include the free and spacious parking, friendly and attentive staff, free and strong wi-fi, and good quality bathroom products. Highly recommended for discerning travellers and those who like a bit of class with just a touch of quirkiness.

We also ate in the adjoining bistro. This was also very good with the knowledge of our server especially noteworthy.

Room Tip: A room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElToffeeChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    48
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
31
132
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This review is for the Hotel. First, let me say that the staff is great. They are friendly, helpful and caring. I was a late check in and called ahead. The woman at the front desk was great, she sent me an email with instructions on what to do. We also got a call from them while on the way over there with further instruction and to make sure that we understood what to do. Once there everything was crystal clear an easy we got ourselves checked in and there were handwritten instructions which was a nice touch and really made it feel like a boutique hotel. The room is VERY ROMANTIC almost every light has a dimmer even in the shower which of course in the bedroom! The decor is also very romantic. I have read a lot of reviews complaining about the size of the room but as long as your not going to stay the week its perfectly fine.
I would stay again and highly recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chabibialways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the woodlands, texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We recently were booked for an evening stay in San Luis Obispo at the Granada Hotel by a business partner. Since you never know what to expect, we didn't have super high expectations. However, we were really very pleased with Room No. 3. It had a very intimate courtyard shared with the next room with a gas-fed fire feature and a couple small tables and chairs, and a small but ample view of the sky.

Coffee was readily available in the morning just around the corner, and there was a fabulous deak above the bistro where you can set inside or out for some relaxation. What a cool spot. It didn't hurt that the Apple store is directly across the street. The only drawback we had was that there is no breakfast in the bistro in the morning.

We had to leave and go to the adacious Madonna Inn... whew. Lordy, that is a mess unless you love pink and gaudy decor. The food was good quality, and their service was very good, but the interior decor is dismal. They just keep sticking more plastic flowers and grapes on top of others. It was worth seeing just to bring you to your senses:-)

Room Tip: Room 3 was at the top of the stairs so no one was above us. Relatively quiet. Nice. AC ran all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Granada was an excellent getaway for a romantic weekend in SLO. Though the rooms are small, they are beautifully decorated with romantic lighting---including a chandelier in our wonderful bathroom. There was a marble vanity with storage shelves beneath and a lovely steam shower. The restaurant served a "siesta" menu in the afternoon and we thoroughly enjoyed the food. The wine menu has terrific, wry descriptions of all the wines. A pleasure just to read!
The coffee served in the morning is excellent, but it's only a few steps away to Starbucks or Peet's if you sleep so late that you miss it! The beds are so luxuriously comfortable, you may want to stay in all day.

Room Tip: Room 1 has a fireplace, settee, and a bathroom with steam shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cba2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A very enjoyable stay that began with a warm greeting from Christina at the front desk. Each room appears to be uniquely and beautifully furnished. Located in the center of town allowed us to take brief rest stops in our room while exploring the downtown area. The room is so nice that we don't mind just spending time in the room reading and sharing fruits from the farmers market.
Only a complimentary wall street journal was missing from the hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dor1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The Granada is an amazing gem of a find. It's recently re-done with amazing detail. I live locally and stayed with my wife for a night away...such a good idea. It's got a good location right in the center of downtown. I feel like all of the room options are good...we stayed in one that had a balcony over the street and it was nice sitting out there enjoying breakfast in the morning. Other rooms have interesting patios and design features too. The bistro is equally as amazing. We had good food and also enjoyed sipping on drinks sitting on the upper patio. Service from the bistro and the hotel staff was great. This place is really special and I'm glad it exists.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura County
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Where do I start? I love this place, the rooms are tiny but really well done. Everything is great quality here, luxury linens a bed to sink in to. The public space is so serene and the attention to detail in the furnishings and fixtures was wonderful. The restaurant is excellent too, oh and the coffee is the best coffee I've ever tasted and is free in the morning. Can't think of anywhere else I would rather be than drinking coffee on that terrace.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the back of the hotel was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
706 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
611 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,574 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granada Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Hotel and Bistro

Property: Granada Hotel and Bistro
Address: 1126 Morro St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3604
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Granada Hotel and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant serving farm-to-table dishes inspired by Spanish cuisine. The hotel includes 17 rooms: 3 Classic, 10 Deluxe, and 4 Suites with balconies. The design exposes the raw elements of the original 1920's building. Each well-appointed room features original hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, antique Persian rugs, original artwork and the finest textiles. They are 100% non-smoking and offer air-conditioning, LCD flat-screen TVs, and bath products by C&O Bigelow and Kiki de Montoarnasse. Also included in the rate is a complimentary Linus Bikes for touring the area. Granada is situated in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo, making it easy for guests to enjoy a wide range of activities including wine tasting, hiking through the lush countryside, a day at the beach, golfing, or strolling downtown shops and restaurants. The world famous Farmers Market is located one block from the hotel, and is held every Thursday night. Oprah Winfrey and National Geographic recently named this ‘the happiest city in America’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Granada Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing