We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funkalicious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Granada Hotel and Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Funkalicious”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This little bistro feels like it would fit right into the streets of Paris or Barcelona, but here it is in San Luis Obispo, the "happiest city in the USA."

The menu is limited, but what they do, they do well. Their cocktails are winners and their salads are fresh, local, and great. I'm no hamburger eater, but my friend offered me a bite of hers and I nearly wrested it from her grasp. The secret? The chef includes bacon pieces in the ground meat. What could go wrong with even more bacon in our diets? Sorry doc.

Sitting out on the lower patio by the fire pit and sculptural tree is wonderful on even nippy nights, but we nearly froze up on the terrace above there. Indoors is nice at night. Very cozy and perfect ambiance.

You have to check out the copper unisex washbasin outside the bathrooms. Talk about a great example of upcycling. It looks like it was once one of those big hot water tanks attached to a wood
stove. Very cool wash area.

The staff is accommodating and fun. Hip. Young. Uplifting.

Really, I mentioned the cocktails, but I need to mention them again. Wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLL009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    47
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
29
131
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corte Madera, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2014

What a great experience! From the minute we checked in to the minute we - regrettably - checked out, every aspect of our stay was simply perfect. Lovely, welcoming staff at reception made us feel immediately at home. The room (#12) was a real gem: stylish decor, awesome shower (exposed brick! amazing pressure!), fab products, a surprisingly big closet...everything exceeded our expectations. And the bed was heaven.
Dinner at the Bistro was excellent too. The deviled eggs, the pasta, the perfectly-prepared steak and great wine list led to a long and leisurely dinner.
I can't recommend the Granada highly enough. I only wish we had spent longer. But we'll remedy that with many, many more trips. to SLO!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikkiSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful! A very classy, modern hotel with all the warmth and character of San Luis Obispo. We were welcomed at the reception desk by two huge smiles and personally escorted through the hotel and to our room. The room was clean and beautiful. The shower was awesome, big and has great water pressure. There is a lovely patio and sitting area upstairs for the guests. The restaurant is fantastic both the service and quality of food. We ate at the bar and a table on the patio. Loved the ceviche, Caesar salad, butternut squash soup, and especially the chicken. Montgomery and Mike made us delicious infused cocktails and were knowledgable on their extensive wine selection. Karen the massage therapist was excellent and so sweet. Every member of the staff we encountered was smiling and friendly. I already can't wait to go back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AJ101511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Although this little gem is listed as a bed-and-breakfast it is not. Our stay at the Granada Hotel was wonderful. The room was extremely comfortable. Suite #12 had beautiful hard wood floors, exposed brick, mini balcony, a huge shower and was tastefully decorated. The service both in the hotel and in the Bistro was awesome. Private parking, great downtown location.. The Mission and all the shops are within a two block radius. Will definitely return here on our next trip to SLO.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed at the Granada for the first time this past week. I can not say enough about this place, it is completely unique and has got to be one of the leading hotel I've stayed at. You are within walking distance of downtown, service was amazing. I dined at several nice restaurant over my stay and have to say, hands down the bistro on property is to die for. It has to be one of the best restauranta in SLO. Can not wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perry760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed at the Granada Hotel last December and was completely smitten from the moment I arrived. A beautiful yet discreet destination, it's easy to miss even if you're looking for it. Everyone on staff was friendly and professional, an expert team. My room was large and so tastefully decorated that I kept forgetting I was in a hotel and not the guest bedroom of a wealthy friend! Oh and the shower... water pressure perfected. Located in the middle of downtown, you can walk everywhere. Should you want to do some exploring farther afield, however, the Granada has its own private parking lot, making it easy to slip down the back stairs and get on the highway, which is just a few blocks out of town. Stay. Here. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcl2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Myself, a friend a our two teenage daughters stayed here while attending a Cal Poly campus tour.
We loved the atmosphere and location right in the middle of town. The rooms are on the smaller side, and they only have one queen bed. We stayed in room 3 and 4 which had an adjoining balcony with a beautiful fireplace, perfect for a glass of wine in the evening or your morning coffee. I will stay here any time I visit the SLO area!

Room Tip: Room 3 and 4 with an adjoining balcony, if you travel with a friend or with your kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoSoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
1.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granada Hotel and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Hotel and Bistro

Property: Granada Hotel and Bistro
Address: 1126 Morro St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3604
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Granada Hotel and Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel and restaurant serving farm-to-table dishes inspired by Spanish cuisine. The hotel includes 17 rooms: 3 Classic, 10 Deluxe, and 4 Suites with balconies. The design exposes the raw elements of the original 1920's building. Each well-appointed room features original hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, antique Persian rugs, original artwork and the finest textiles. They are 100% non-smoking and offer air-conditioning, LCD flat-screen TVs, and bath products by C&O Bigelow and Kiki de Montoarnasse. Also included in the rate is a complimentary Linus Bikes for touring the area. Granada is situated in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo, making it easy for guests to enjoy a wide range of activities including wine tasting, hiking through the lush countryside, a day at the beach, golfing, or strolling downtown shops and restaurants. The world famous Farmers Market is located one block from the hotel, and is held every Thursday night. Oprah Winfrey and National Geographic recently named this ‘the happiest city in America’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Granada Hotel and Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing