We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sammies and People!”

Mr. Pickle's Sandwich Shop
Ranked #35 of 304 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Price range: US$8 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: Mr. Pickle's Sandwich Shop offers a fun, upbeat deli experience serving hearty customizable sandwiches on highest quality breads, fresh produce, lean meats, cheeses and special sauces. Flavorful and habit forming, no kidding! We offer in-shop dining and outdoor patio seating. Give us a ring (or) order on-line for pick-ups and local area delivery. We are an easy stop for a quick bite on your travels up and down the coast. We cater events and parties. Everyone gets a free cookie!
Avila Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Amazing Sammies and People!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

So, I admit that I came here after I found out about the free cookies. But also because there's always a line. Not huge - just enough of one for me to notice and wonder what the buzz is about.

The sandwich looked pretty typical but it was loaded with meat - not proportioned 1 ounce of meat crap like Subway. I was expecting a great sandwich but I wasn't expecting awesome bread! It was SO good! I got the wheat bread but I want to try the dutch crunch next - it looked like maybe cheese was melted on top, and we all know you can't have too much cheese.

Super friendly people too - seriously everyone was nice and made small talk but worked quickly.

I'll be back for the cookies (and awesome sammies!!)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    14
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Sandwiches”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The French roll is fresh and crispy, the meat plentiful, the friendly sandwich maker actually makes sure that they get your exact combination of veges and condiments. Even the wait is usually short. What's not to like. Recommended for a quick delicious filling lunch. Eat there or... like me... take out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Humphryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo
1 review
“I've had better...”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

After hearing so many great things about this place, I decided to give it a try. Unfortunately I was left a little disappointed. If you are vegetarian, there are better and cheaper options other than here.

Helpful?
Thank Taylor_nichole8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super friendly!”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Personal service, very friendly. Highly recommend. All employess had the same friendly attitude, not afraid to have an actual conversation with you!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank doozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One A Day”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Wow. What a great Sammy. The food was fresh and prepared exactly how I liked it. I thought the team was terrific. Thank you for coming to our community. We needed a place to pick up a lunch perfect for a picnic. Don't forget the yummy cookies. Thank you, Thank You.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SummerSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. Pickle's Sandwich Shop also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Mr. Pickle's Sandwich Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing