We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“service- bad, food- good, SLO location....”

Que Pasa in San Luis Obispo
Ranked #177 of 303 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“service- bad, food- good, SLO location....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We've been to the Atascadero location 3 times and always enjoyed it. My friend and I were in S.L.O. on Thurs. for farmers market and wanted to check out the Monterey St. location, I'm sorry we did. There were only 6 other people in at 9pm, even though that's when their "late night happy hour" starts, so there should have been no problem getting prompt service. Our server "Freddy" brought us menus AFTER clearing off a table from others who had left, so we just sat and watched. We were just about to get up and leave 10 min. later when he finally came back to us and acknowledged that he forgot we were there, gee ok. He did come right out and say he would give us a 20% discount. The food did come very fast, less than 5 min, so somebody had their act together. What really ticked us both off over everything else, was the music got abruptly changed by either the server and or manager to the worst ghetto rap they could find at least 5 times during our 45 min visit, if a decent couple of songs came on, it got changed. We just ate and got out of there. The manager never came to our table to say anything about us being forgotten about etc, but was sitting at the bar enjoying himself a glass of red wine when we left. Real professional, not.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdDogPatsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    15
    12
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
896 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Typical Mexican restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Had a nice meal in the restaurant - typical mexican. It was quit e busy whilst we were there but service was quick. My only gripe was that I asked for a glass of white wine and instead of getting the cheaper houes white they opted from the most expensive one. Lesson learned.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murray, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good authentic Mexican Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The food here was great. The gentleman (Carlos) who seated us was not pleasant. Just looked like he was not happy to be there. The waitress was a little better but acted like it was a problem to get us change back from a $20 bill, said she had to "ask the manager" We needed up just telling her "never mind" which meant she ended up with a bigger tip than we wanted to leave or felt she deserved. Food excellent...service less than average.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,354 helpful votes
“Not Your Normal Mexican Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Que Pasa is a unique restaurant with an excellent wait staff and some of the best mexican food I have ever had. The combination of flavors are gently mixed with unique spices to make a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank melsdad2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not your everyday Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Que Pasa has a very unique menu and it is excellent. Their handmade Margaritas are great. We had very good service. Don't expect your everyday American type Mexican. They make their own tortillas and you see the a you come in the door. Highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank PennyMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Que Pasa in San Luis Obispo also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Que Pasa in San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing