We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Japanese Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goshi

Goshi
Ranked #13 of 301 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,354 helpful votes
“Outstanding Japanese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Make sure you call to see if a reservation is needed - otherwise you may have to wait because this place is hopping! Great food - boats, rolls, bowls, etc....Sushi Bar available as well as tables. They also have green tea ice cream, tasty! Service is great and friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
11 Thank melsdad2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    28
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Best traditional Japanese restaurant between Santa Barbara and Monterey. I've been eating here about 2-3 per month for 14 years. ALL the other sushi restaurants in SLO cater to those people looking for sushi rolls filled with tempura shrimp, fake crab, and drenched in mayonnaise. Goshi serves traditional japanese food with the best quality fish available on the central coast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Sushi Take-out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We ended up using their take-out service and everything was very fresh and tasty. We had the unagi donburi bowl - a very ample serving of unagi. We also did some of their special rolls which were delicious as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“wonderful, as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

The food is divine and the service is prompt. We are satisfied every time we dine there. we invited friends and they were very complimentary as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bellacat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Japanese food ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Located in SLO and Paso Robles, Goshi Japenese Resturant is a wonderful food and dinning experience. Authentic. Fresh food, sushi,soups,noodles great menu! Atmosphere tasteful and good energy, staff professional, fast and courteous. Prices are good for what you get, lots of flavor and hot as opposed to cold. I've NEVER had a bad meal or experience at either one.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vida67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goshi also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Goshi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing