We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Serive/Shabby rooms”
Review of Peach Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Peach Tree Inn
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Lodi, California
2 reviews
“Horrible Customer Serive/Shabby rooms”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We were staying at The Peachtree Inn for a Bachlorette Weekend. There were 7 of us in thr group and when making the reservations the Maid of Honor had requested 2 room with 2 beds each. this was to help keep costs down and we were all fine sharing a bed with each other. She had told the person taking the reservations that there would be 4 girls in each room.
Once we get to the hotel the manager Claire seemed to already have an attitude. Calling our MOH a liar saying she didn't tell the person there would be 4 girls in a room and their limit is 2 per room. She told us she didn't want a lot of noise so she gave us 2 adjoining rooms, only 1 room had a king and the other 2 doubles. She told us she would have to charge us an additional $10 per person in each room over the max of 2 per room. It was either that or put us in 4 rooms (3 rooms were not an option for some reason) That was settled and we were told that we could split the bill on all of our credit cards during check out.

The rooms were older and pretty shabby. Nothing great. The beds were horrible I don't think any of us slept well. They had an okay breakfast in the morning of store bought muffins, fruit, oatmeal, cereal and toast.
Come check out we had to deal with the moody Claire again. She then proceeded to tell us that we couldn't all split the bill onto our credit cards because she gets charged $2 per transaction. We were all pretty fed up at this point with her and her attitude and the lies that we offered to pay the additional $2. To which we got more attitude.
In the end our MOH just paid with one card and we had to pay her back.

Needless to say we will never being using this hotel again. Even though it is a reasonably priced place, I would rather pay more for somewhere else rather than deal with the lack of customer service and attitude from the management at The Peachtree Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TashaScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    234
    55
    20
    13
See reviews for
126
255
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I like supporting local business whenever I find one worthwhile, and the Peach Tree Inn is a place I'll be returning to on future visits to SLO. I'm 52 and arrived with my 24 year old son. We both loved it there. Evening staff was very friendly, and helpful with info concerning places to go in town. Morning staff was equally friendly. Very homey atmosphere. In the nicely stocked breakfast room I talked with a few other travelers who all shared my feelings about the place. Then I met the owner who had just arrived, a very sweet lady, and then her husband, and had very nice conversations with them both about all sorts of things. They are in their 60s (?) and care very much about the quality of their guests' stay. Parents of SLO students who visit will find the Peach Tree Inn to be a very nice experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

Old school, single story motel - drive your car right to your door. Rooms were spotless - better than many newer and much more expensive places. Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank khmetalworkdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This hotel/ motel was a very pleasant surprise. The room was very clean ,comfortable, well maintained and equipped. The hotel personnel were very helpful and friendly. The grounds were well kept and inviting. Very convenient to downtown SLO. This has to be one of the best kept secrets in the whole area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ricardozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland,ca
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

This place is just a nice step up from a basic motel. The rooms in the front near the street are not that great. But down below near the creek the rooms have been renovated and they are lovely and quiet! We really enjoyed talking with the owners over breakfast. They are such friendly and helpful folks, it added so much to our stay. ANd there is so much to do in the area! We had a ball!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katyarose-art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Wonderful experience in every way. One must keep in mind that this is a two diamond motel so don't have the same expectations that you would at a 3-5 diamond place. With that said, this retro '50's type motel is a "home away from home" The owners and staff bend over backwards to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.
Rooms: They have been renovated and are very comfortable but don't expect anything fancy. Very basic but clean and quiet. No central A/C or heating but not a big deal in my opinion. Wall unit for heat and window unit for A/C. Regular TV, not modern flat screen.
Park your car directly in front of your room. Very convenient.
Lawn and lounge chairs and swings throughout property.
No pool which I find to be a plus.......less noise.
Very nice expanded continental breakfast. Great selection and a wonderful, friendly dining area complete with desktop computer for guests to use at no charge, large selection of videos, games and daily newspapers. Snack type food available throughout the day.
Reasonable daily rates and sometimes specials. Many repeat guests (like us) that have been coming back for decades. Can't go wrong!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trip4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We recently spent a night at the Peach Tree Inn whilst completing a road trip of the Pacific Coast Highway. We didn't have a booking, but were able to book a King room for a very reasonable price. King rooms are at the back of the property, away from the road. The lady that checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful, as was the older gentleman who checked us out the following morning.

This is an older style property, but I felt that it was generally homely and relaxed rather than worn or outdated. The rocking chairs, bird feeders and garden areas would be lovely to enjoy in summer. Our room was very clean and cosy, although the bed was a little hard and it was a little noisy (e.g. could hear the couple next door). It is a short drive from the property to the downtown area, and there is a restaurant recommended by front desk within walking distance.

The complimentary continental breakfast was nice, and included bread, pastries, coffee, juices and cereal.

Overall; a lovely little inn with the charms of an independent property.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lu_and_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
383 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
350 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peach Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peach Tree Inn

Property: Peach Tree Inn
Address: 2001 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Peach Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peach Tree Inn is a home-style inn centrally located in friendly San Luis Obispo. Our caring front desk staff know San Luis Obispo well and are eager to assist you in making your stay most enjoyable.Located on the edge of town, our Inn allows visitors the ability to carry on business-as-usual, or to escape from the hurried world to relax on the porch, gaze at the hillside and chat with interesting travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peach Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peach Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Peach Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing