We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories to be made”
Review of Peach Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Peach Tree Inn
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memories to be made”
Reviewed 14 July 2008

You might just remember this kind of place from your childhood. One story rooms next to each other, you park in front of your door and race to the swing hanging from a nearby tree. The Peach Tree Inn brought back so many memories and helped to create similar memories for my kids on our most recent road trip.

There were snacks available in the afternoon/evening and a good selection at breakfast. Great staff, nice rooms, and a fabulous value! This is a true find in San Luis Obispo!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    234
    54
    20
    13
See reviews for
126
255
34
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, Calif.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2008

I haven't stayed there, but last week I stopped by to check to see if they would have a group rate for our coming San Luis Obispo High School Class reunion in October. Yes, they did and the two women at the front desk gave me a key to check out one of their larger rooms that back onto San Luis Creek. (just three blocks from where I spent my teenage years).

The Peach Tree is where our late high school football coach stayed when he came out to our reunion ten years ago. He liked it and it's convenient location--right next to the popular Apple Farm's restaurant.

Although the motel hasn't changed much over the years (Monterey Street was the old highway), I was impressed with the space and furnishing of the large rooms down by the creek. A sliding glass door opens to a balcony overlooking a mostly overgrown creek this time of year. Deer can usually be seen grazing on the greens off your room's private deck. The room had a King Size sleigh bed, a large leather sofa, and two leather barrel chairs alongside a glass-topped table. The bathroom still had an old style shower-tub, but the mirror and sink countertop were recently upgraded. Management is very friendly and gave us a very good group rate.

You can't beat the location or prices on upper Monterey Street's popular "Motel Row". Be aware that motel rates rise all over San Luis Obispo County whenever there is something big going on at nearby Cal Poly. Fall Parent's Day, Homecoming, April "Poly Royal" (open house), December and June graduations. Attached is a photo I took last week looking northeast toward Hwy 101's Cuesta Grade.

  • Liked — Price, room size and location
  • Disliked — a bit old, but older places are usually in the best locations
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SLOnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Our first impressions of this motel were excellent as the receptionist was really friendly and helpful, making us feel genuinely welcome. Thinking back to when we booked online, we also received a personal email back to thank us for the reservation which all adds to the service.

It’s a low level building, so all rooms are on the ground floor and you can park directly in front. The room was pleasant and clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom adequate. There was a swing seat outside which was a nice touch.

There is complimentary continental breakfast with some deliciously unusual breads – you can eat inside or on the deck, or even take it to your room. You can also get cookies and popcorn in this area at other times and there is a selection of videos available if you want to use them.

We only booked one night but would have been happy to have a longer stay, as the inn was peaceful and very attractive.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Que
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2008

Blissful stay - we had a room overlooking the creek.

Very romantic, spotlessly clean and well decorated.

Would always choose here over a branded motel down the road.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PolgaraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

"Guest" is often a nice way to say "customer" or "credit-card holder" in the travel industry. It's rarely representative of the way most individuals treat guests: as people they are happy to have staying with them and whom they go out of their way to make comfortable.

I truly felt like a guest at the Peach Tree Inn. The desk staff was friendly and just the right level of chatty: friendly without being fake or not knowing when to be quiet already. The breakfast/lounge area just past the front desk was full of people lounging about, checking email on the internet or reading a book. Snacks and drinks were laid out in the kitchen, readily available to anyone who stopped in.

Speaking of the breakfast/lounge area: breakfast is truly the highlight at the Peach Tree Inn. The breads alone are worth a stay, as well as the fresh fruit and juices. You serve yourself, which is actually nicer than it may initially sound. And the quality of the breakfast is excellent. It's actually an accurate continental breakfast (as in like the breakfast one gets in hotels in continental Europe) and not just a few crappy bagels and pastries laid out at 6 a.m. and forgotten about for the rest of the morning like you get at many hotels.

That's all in the main building. The move to the individual rooms, unfortunately, doesn't quite measure up. Not to say they're bad, but the standards set in the main building are very high, and the rooms are a bit worn for wear.

The Peach Tree appears to have had its last remodel roughly 25 years ago. The colors are dated, and the furniture's worn. The bed, while clean and comfortable, had a bedspread that looked like it had been around the block more than a few times. The TV was tiny, and the remote didn't work consistently.

But really, those are quibbles. The location is nice and quiet - there's no hint at all that the 101 is just a couple hundred yards away - and the courtyard view of the surrounding hills is gorgeous. The bed's comfortable, and the water stayed hot in the morning. There are lots of hotels with more impressive decor that can't get those basics right.

The only other quibble is the location. Yes, there seems to be quite the concentration of hotels right around the Peach Tree, but it is on the edge of town. Something that would be within a nice walking distance of downtown, where there are ample restaurants and bars, would be nice. But the tradeoff in location is more than made up through abundant hospitality.

With a remodel, the Peach Tree would go from great to outstanding, in my opinion. But there's nothing wrong with great, especially when it comes through making guests feel truly like guests, where they're welcome and people are happy to have them there. Good treatment makes up for nice, but largely unused, amenities any day. It's a pity more hotels don't invest in the hospitality side of the equation instead of only the facilities.

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — The location is not within easy walking distance of the liveliest part of town
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tef5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2008

I read all the reviews for SLO motels and decided to take a chance on the PEACH TREE INN this trip to SLO. What a delight it was! I was in a room right behind the office, so I was sheltered from the street noise a bit. The place wasn't totally crowded and that helped also. The pillow-top bed was wonderful to sleep on, and the pillows were fine. Yes the rooms are older and not modernized, but who needs totally new and modern all the time? This property is a small gem in this city. The continental breakfast/ breads are tasty and homemade, and the staff was very congenial. YES i will stay here again and definitely recommend it to my family and friends.

  • Liked — friendly staff, easy on and off freeway, close to where i needed to go.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dragn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2008

The staff and the office/lounge are great, breakfast was awesome but the room is marginal. The beds were really hard, the shower head was nearly nonfunctional, the walls are thin and from the outside noise levels the windows must be single paned. SLO is expensive and the Peach Tree is no exception.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
706 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
344 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peach Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peach Tree Inn

Property: Peach Tree Inn
Address: 2001 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2617
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Peach Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peach Tree Inn is a home-style inn centrally located in friendly San Luis Obispo. Our caring front desk staff know San Luis Obispo well and are eager to assist you in making your stay most enjoyable.Located on the edge of town, our Inn allows visitors the ability to carry on business-as-usual, or to escape from the hurried world to relax on the porch, gaze at the hillside and chat with interesting travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Peach Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peach Tree Hotel San Luis Obispo
Peach Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing