We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll Be Back!”

Mo's Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #34 of 303 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

On a recent trip to the SLO Thursday night Farmer's Market, we wandered through the area and came upon Mo's. While there were a lot of people lined up at the Market for Mo's BBQ, the restaurant was relatively quiet.

We were greeted immediately by the friendly staff at the front, and settled on a tri-tip sandwich for me and a shredded pork sandwich for my boyfriend (of course, we shared both to give each a try). Each sandwich comes with a choice of beans, potato salad or cole slaw. We opted for the beans and potato salad, and added a side of their homemade chips.

Our meal arrived promptly and everything was delicious. The meats were hot and tender, the beans had a nice consistency and tang to them, the potato salad had just the right amount of mayonnaise, and the chips were crispy without being greasy.

Overall, a comfortable, reasonably priced and tasty meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HendixMom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    45
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
898 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“The food said it all - excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Opted for the ribs - absolutey excellent. Wife had a burger and she too thought it was very good. Prices are reasonable too. Service was speedy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Honisoiquimalypense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Given the number of barbeque places, this is a good one in San Luis Obispo. Make sure you get some of the handmade chips, they are great. Good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BKawahara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
258 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,354 helpful votes
“Better than the Pismo Beach Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have eaten at this location twice now and both times the experience was enjoyable. The ribs were excellent as well as the tritip sandwich. At the Pismo Beach location the ribs are just OK and the tritip tastes boiled before they attempt serve it. The staff at the SLO location are fun, high energy and make the visit ti their restaurant a fun time. At the Pismo Beach Mo's the staff acts as though they are doing you a favor by coming into their location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
15 Thank melsdad2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stopped at Mo's on our way back from Central Coast trip. Got there for lunch and the 2 ladies that helped us couldn't have been nicer. Maybe they were the owners. I had a Tri-Tip sandwich, my wife had a pulled pork sandwich. I love barbecue and both were great. Nice tender meat, with good sauce. They have sauce jugs you can help yourself too. I like that because the food is not covered in sauce trying to hide poor meat flavor. Clean bathrooms, nice place, good value, overall a winner. There is also a Mo's in Pismo Beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrStogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mo's Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Mo's Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing