We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice if..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice if..”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

you get a room in the Plantation Building. The Plantation Building is next to the creek so our view out the window was nice with views of a lot of trees. The other buildings are in between the Platation bldg and the street with views of the adjoining hotels and parking lots.
Our room was large with a king size bed big flat panel tv and gas fireplace. The bathroom was a good size with double sinks and a huge shower but no tub. The only issues with the room was that the draining of the air conditioner sounded bad but we were lucky that is was a nice day and didnt use it for long, also parking maybe a problem if you come late.
Breakfast was good and there was still enough food when we arrived at 9:40. Like the 12 noon checkout

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1mars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    160
    37
    15
    5
See reviews for
91
323
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The rooms were nice with lots of amenities (Big TV, free DVD rental). The breakfast was quite good and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location was not ideal as you were on a busy street and not near the main street of the town. Overall a good place to stop for a night on your way down the coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjaminm454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whistler
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We usually go to the effort of searching out a quaint bed and breakfast because we like to support small family run businesses and we also particularly like the "breakfast" portion of the stay because they are usually such a treat and so well done.
We were told upon checking in that breakfast would be served until 10am the next morning yet when we arrived at 9:40 the next morning we were told that breakfast was over at 9:30 and we had missed it by 10 minutes. When we explained that we were told by the front desk at check-in that the breakfast was over at 10:00 we just got a shoulder shrug and a sorry. There was no offer for a simple bowl of cereal or toast, not even a cup of tea. We were obviously annoyed yet there was no effort to ease the situation. Stunned at the lack of service we went back to the room to make our own tea and realized there wasn't any available in the room, other than one packet of decaf camomile... which we think this is pretty weak for a british themed bed and breakfast.
When we checked out very shortly after, only because we were starving and frustrated and needed to forage for food now, the same girl was at the front desk. She didn't bother to ask "how was your stay?" or apologize for the incident, only a quick goodbye and at this point we were too irritated and hungry to bother expressing our issue again. Lets just say that this led to a few hours of scrambling around an unfamiliar city trying to find parking and a decent cafe to spend more cash on to get a meal when we had already paid a premium for at our "bed and breakfast" and we were already late for the road trip we had planned. I know this is such a simple thing, but it put such a bad taste in our mouth and really set a bad tone for the rest of our day.
We spend several months of the year travelling and booking many accommodations and this is the first time we felt so aggravated as to write a review. I only gave this place 2 stars because the rooms are quite nice. But as i feel most people desire to stay at a true B&B, it's the personal touches and quaint service that makes them worthwhile. I recommend you skip this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amritaWhistler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisCreekLodge, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
We feel terribly about this experience! It is our hope that every guest enjoys their time with us. Unfortunately, this one slipped past us as we have been in transition of new management, new employees and new policies. Excellent customer service is something we strive for and we are diligently working on. We hope you will give us another opportunity to make you feel well taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a ground floor king room in the Plantation building (the Antigua room I think). The room was spacious with a fireplace, side chairs and a desk. It also had a mini fridge, good size shower, and double sinks in the bathroom. Daily cleaning was well done, though there was some "deep cleaning" tasks in our room - like the vent fan in the bathroom - that hadn't been done in awhile. Bed was very comfortable, and we appreciated the in room DVD player and newer model tv. Only major drawback is that there seems to be very little sound proofing between the first and second floors - you can hear nearly everything in the room above and it's made worse by the jacuzzi tubs in the upstairs rooms. It also doesn't help that the hallways are all tile, you can really hear people coming and going at night! So pray you have good neighbors. We also enjoyed the provided continental breakfast each morning, though the breakfast room is a little small for the number of rooms this property has.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank relax7500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I always wanted to stay at San Luis Creek Lodge after reading the positive reviews on tripadvisor. My daughters both attend Cal Poly, so I make frequent trips to San Luis Obispo and have stayed at many hotels in town. Recently we booked 2 nights in the Craftsman building (2 queens for ~$250/night), and were a little disappointed. The service was good, although we preferred the afternoon/evening staff to the morning. The room was well furnished and comfortable, but was showing some age and had very dim lighting. The bathroom was large and beautiful, but there was a constant noise that sounded like water in the pipes - we thought it was coming from the Best Western pool next door. The property is very small and parking was always a challenge. There is no pool or jacuzzi, and the fitness center consisted of a treadmill and bike located in the main building upstairs in full view of the dining area, with very little ventilation. Breakfast was good, with fresh baked pastries, juice, coffee, sausage, dry cereal, and eggs made to order. We were encouraged to bring our food back to the room since the dining room was very small, but it was difficult juggling the heavy plates, drinking glasses, and silverware on the tray. I would recommend providing lightweight paper goods as an option. I believe San Luis Creek Lodge is intended for couples as a romantic getaway, (although for $250/night I would expect a hot tub and better view). For us, we prefer accommodations with more amenities (and less cost) and will stick with the Quality Suites or Holiday Inn for future visits to SLO. One note: my husband noticed a charge on our VISA card to 'Aung San' which made him suspicious and he almost cancelled our credit card. I checked with the front desk and found out that the owner's name is Aung O'o. I would recommend specifying San Luis Creek Lodge on the credit card statement.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikoSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

As a real life English person, I find it amusing when I go to themed "English" places here in the US. They are almost always nothing like England! This place was English themed, the room we stayed in was made to look like some kind of medieval castle, with tapestries on the walls and a grand fireplace. Overall, it wasn't as cringe-worthy as most themed places, although it was verging on Disney-esque. So, despite the strange theming which is a personal preference, the hotel itself was immaculately clean, the room spacious and the breakfast satisfactory. I don't necessarily think I would stay here again, but I have no reason not to recommend it to others. The only note I would make is to the owners - the Faux-English block of rooms has been misnamed: Londonderry is in Northern Ireland...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green_been
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed in Plantation 606. We had booked 3 nights to celebrate my husbands Birthday -Room was lovely. Back window was open to green "creek" area, so we could leave it open and still have privacy.
BE AWARE: This property is sandwiched in between two other hotels! There really is no open space and hardly any view to speak of. Parking is very difficult if the hotel is full. No pool. Breakfast room is very small and cramped. My advice:
If you are in San Luis, there are so many lovely locations with much better ambiance.! If I could have cancelled and rebooked somewhere else, I would have Do not settle for San Luis Creek Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms before you check in. The vary wildly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKay111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisCreekLodge, General Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
We appreciate your feedback. We are always happy to make improvements in the areas where we are able. One of our most recent endeavors is to create a more functional space in our dining room by rearranging our buffet tables and to upgrade our seating arrangements. We hope the next time you visit San Luis Obispo, you will want to experience our little piece of luxury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Property: San Luis Creek Lodge
Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing