We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Luis Creek Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peach Tree Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apple Farm Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands Inn & Suites(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
University Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lexington Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Cuesta Inn(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Motel(San Luis Obispo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (661)
Filter reviews
661 results
Traveller rating
423
178
40
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
423
178
40
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation buildingwafflesstarbucks coffeethemed buildingscraftsman stylefree popcorndouble sinkshuge tvdvd playerfour poster bedcal polygas fireplaceroom was largebed and breakfastnice breakfastmonterey streetchain hotel
Filter
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 661 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Room was good (but no bath) clean and tidy and quite large with coffee but no tea or fresh milk. Reception had 2 young girls who were very helpful but did not have any local knowledge. Must visit the chewing gum wall in town never seen anything like it. Wwould recommend it as stop off from LA to San Iran. Also visit the elephant seals on your way to San IRan . Breakfast is scrambled eggs and some rolls

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myles a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

i've thought long and hard about our experiences here, since this was an absolutely adequate spot for our three day visit to the area. But, what it's come down to is this: if you want a clean, quiet, comfortable room at a relatively affordable rate for the category of lodging, The San Luis Creek Lodge is fine. If you want consistently polite service, anything extra at all from the room including a nice breakfast, or a place to sit outside,or a jovial atmosphere... then keep looking. The evening check in person was outstanding and sweet, the housekeeping staff was nice, the room was large and clean (it might be time for a carpet cleaning, however.) That's the upside. The downsides: Inattentive all the way to rude staff (other than the night check in gal.) Light to ridiculous breakfast, (why don't hotels that can't do it right, just skip it?) inadequate seating area for breakfast, chained furniture outside which made comfortable seating impossible. We believe that this is a family owned business, and as all businesses do, face challenges. But, a cheerful, helpful attitude to the guests who give you their business is, well.... free. And priceless. Any shortfalls of this hotel would have been overcome by a breakfast room staff that gave a darn or even squeaked out a smile or offered a new pot of coffee without being asked. Way too many choices in SLO to return here. Sorry, I wanted to like it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChristineLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanLuisCreekLodge, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2012

Thank you for choosing our Lodge for your stay. We appreciate your feedback. Excellent customer service is something we strive for. We are updating our breakfast menu to include fresh waffles in the morning, as well as a few other modifications to the current selection, so we hope you will visit again for an excellent experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for two nights during a month-long trip up and down the coast, and considered this one of the best places we stayed, subject to certain limitations. This is a small hotel, with 25-30 rooms in three two-story buildings set front to back on a deep, fairly narrow lot. There are hotels or motels on both sides. The building closest to the road is the Londonderry, then the Craftsman, and the Plantation building is at the back of the lot.

We stayed in the Plantation, the building farthest from the street, in a room on the second floor on the back side. It was very quiet, set in the trees, and there was no noise from nearby structures. Ww liked the room a lot--excellent bed, large bathroom, nice amenities. As it was in the trees, it was a bit dark, but that was ok on hot days. This room had no fireplace, so was less expensive than other rooms in the building.

This is not a B and B, although breakfast is provided, and the front desk service is efficient rather than solicitous. The hotel offers a senior rate discount of 10%, but it seemed that one had to ask for it. There's an excellent breakfast/lunch place two blocks down the street called the Splash Cafe.

All in all, a very good affordable small hotel where we will surely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor in the Plantation Building are the quietest.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJandMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

you get a room in the Plantation Building. The Plantation Building is next to the creek so our view out the window was nice with views of a lot of trees. The other buildings are in between the Platation bldg and the street with views of the adjoining hotels and parking lots.
Our room was large with a king size bed big flat panel tv and gas fireplace. The bathroom was a good size with double sinks and a huge shower but no tub. The only issues with the room was that the draining of the air conditioner sounded bad but we were lucky that is was a nice day and didnt use it for long, also parking maybe a problem if you come late.
Breakfast was good and there was still enough food when we arrived at 9:40. Like the 12 noon checkout

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m1mars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The rooms were nice with lots of amenities (Big TV, free DVD rental). The breakfast was quite good and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location was not ideal as you were on a busy street and not near the main street of the town. Overall a good place to stop for a night on your way down the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benjaminm454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews