We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great accommodations and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
1 review
“great accommodations and location”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

our stay at the lodge may 15-17 was great, as it usually is. we have tried several places in SLO during our visits to see our son at CalPoly. san luis creek lodge is our favorite. the rooms are large and well appointed. and the breakfasts are yummy!

we also appreciated the extended check out we received on checkout day - my husband had a conference call that would have been difficult to participate in on the road.

Room Tip: we have stayed in 4 different rooms and they all have been great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. So glad to have you back. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much, we know we have lots of great competition. We are a pretty good choice for Cal Poly parents as we are so close to the campus. We always try to be flexible with guests whenever we can so I'm glad your husband was able to get his business done in a comfortable setting.

Looking forward to seeing you next time!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    163
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
93
327
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is the perfect little hotel for us. The rooms are nicely furnished, bathroom had travertine tile and a jetted tub. Our stay was very comfortable The staff is very helpful. The breakfast was fresh and made for us. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hwaiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your room, I think our bathrooms are particularly nice. We will look forward to seeing you again! Let us know if you have any building preference next time you book and we will do our best to help with that.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We were here over Cal Poly Open House weekend in April, and I can't say enough about the staff. Some previous reviews made me wonder what kind of service we would get, but they couldn't have been more helpful. Our son was supposed to be staying somewhere else, but became ill and ended up staying with us. No problem, gave us extra bedding and cookies. We had a two-night reservation but had to check out a day early because he was sick. Not only did they not charge us for leaving early, but packed a bag of snacks for the trip home.
We had a king room with fireplace in the Craftsman building. Spacious room, nicely decorated, comfy bed, quiet. Much nicer than the other hotels along Monterey Street. With our son attending Cal Poly in the fall, we will definitely be back and make this our regular hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review. I am glad we were able to be flexible in the circumstances. A lot of Cal Poly families stay with us, our proximity to the campus helps. We look forward to seeing you on future visits.

I hope your son is doing well and is fully recovered!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Nice large, clean well equippped rooms and ours was quiet. Very friendly, helpful staff. Bit more than the 15 min walk to downtown that we were told, but not far enough to make taking the car worthwhile. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. It is very nice to hear good comments about the staff. We try to do all we can to create a welcoming and comfortable place for our guests to enjoy.

Thank you again for taking the time out of your day to post this review, we really appreciate it!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I spent one night at San Luis Creek Lodge on a vacation/business trip and really liked the place. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The room was very nicely decorated and was a pleasant change from the cookie-cutter chains. The price was a great value and I booked based on Trip Advisor rating. They just need to start their breakfast earlier

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. I understand that sometimes our guests need to leave early, particularly when on business. Ideally we hope to have all guests for our full breakfast but we do have 'to go' breakfast bags here if you are around when our gatehouse is open. We are also very happy to put some items together for you the evening before your departure to have in your room ready for an early departure. We need to make sure all of our guests are aware of these options in future. I thank you for that comment, it helps us to improve our service.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time,

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Enjoyed two nights here. Spacious room with gas fireplace. Staff was very helpful. We were leaving early one morning for kayak trip before breakfast open, and manager raced around to prepare some excellent bags of pastries, fruit and drinks for us, and found some towels for us to take kayaking. Cute decor with tudor theme in our building. Convenient to the downtown area which is about a mile away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad I was around and able to provide a 'Breakfast to Go' for you. I hope you had fun at the beach and we would love to see you all in the future if you visit the area again...there's a lot to do here for the whole family!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed here in early April. One of my favorite spots in SLO. Close to Cal Poly and a good walk to downtown. Comfortable bed and the breakfast is worthwhile and is included with your stay. Yes, it seems spendy, but after checking the prices of other motels that offer less value, I won't stay anyplace else on SLO.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdxmichael97266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We do try to offer value to our guests. I am glad you appreciated our breakfast. We have made some additions to our offerings recently and I am very happy that they have been well received. Please come back and see us again, our lovely town has lots to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,364 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
379 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
825 reviews
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Property: San Luis Creek Lodge
Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing