We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advice to incoming Cal Poly parents - get to know this place, you won't be sorry.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Although we are very happy that our son has graduated from Cal Poly, we are sorry to say goodbye to our "home away from home" at San Luis Creek Lodge. We have stayed here numerous times over the past five years and have come to feel quite comfortable. We have stayed at the lodge through two different owners. I have to say, the transition between the two was not a smooth one, but things are back on track now...in fact it is better than ever. It is so nice to see some of the familiar staff back running the place as it should be. The rooms are thoughtfully furnished, tastefully decorated, and spotless. The included breakfast is delicious. We loved the freshly scrambled eggs and the new addition of rosemary potatoes. Ours days always ended with a free DVD and popcorn.

Although there is no happy hour at this hotel we found that the quiet, peaceful environment was well worth giving up a free glass of wine. Instead, we enjoyed walking to the wine bar right down the street or to the livelier area downtown, less than a mile away. Hopefully we will have a chance to return here on vacation. Advice to incoming Cal Poly parents - get to know this place, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annewilcoxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

As one of the familiar faces, I would like to thank you very much for your comments. I appreciate your sensitivity to our changes over the last two years and I am happy that you can see that we are in a very good place now. We love our Cal Poly connection and enjoy seeing the families go from initial college visits right through to Graduation ( sometimes more than once). We hope to see you again in the future, as a family or as a couple. San Luis Obispo always has something to offer to visitors no matter how many times you have been here.

Thanks again,

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2013

Found this little gem on trip advisor and it lived up to its press. Great, friendly people at the front desk. Very nice large room in one of the buildings off the main street. Quiet, comfortable, and with refrigerator and great bed with nice linens.
Very good breakfast and they even asked for your egg order which was prepared expertly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girardot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to post them. We are having a great summer, enjoying our visitors and it gives us so much satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

Please come and see us again,

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We were pleasantly surprised with our first visit to the San Luis Creek Lodge. The rooms were spacious, well decorated, and very clean. The included breakfast was especially a treat. Lots of choices, included made to order eggs. The staff were friendly and helpful, including housekeeping staff, who greeted us warmly whenever we passed. Good value for the price. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonQZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. Our staff play a very important role in making guests feel welcome and comfortable and I really appreciate your comments about our housekeepers. I hope we have an opportunity to see you again in the future. Always feel free to call to discuss what is going on in the area, rooms available and anything else we can help you with.

Thanks again, and have a wonderful 4th July,

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

While the appearance of the San Luis Creek Lodge is charming cottage, I experienced some difficulty conducting business due to a faulty WiFi systems. I was told they would need to have a technician fix the problem but I could work in the reception area if an emergency. Unfortunately, not ideal for concentration for an 8:30 am presentation. Also, be aware that prior rooms are given when booking directly with hotel and not through third-party websites like Hotel.com or Travelocity. You most likely will be in a lower floor room facing the parking.

Room Tip: The Plantation Rooms are the furthest from the street and if you can get 606, 608, 620, 626 or 628 y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentTravelerPNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the lack of wi-fi connection during your visit. This was indeed a technical problem beyond our ability to fix. We had a technician replace some equipment that was damaged by a very significant and widespread power outage we had recently. Unfortunately the problem did not show itself immediately and on the day you stayed we just discovered the issue. It was fixed by the next day but I do understand your frustration and the inconvenience caused. Unfortunately I do not know how to contact you directly as we did not converse but again I can only apologize. The power outage left 140,000 people without power so I guess an event like that causes many problems. If you decide to stay with us again in the future, please always feel free to contact us to discuss room availability. If you have a room preference we will do our very best to take that into account.

Once again, thank you for taking time out of your day to post these comments, we appreciate it and hope that your presentation went well despite the inconveniece.

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We were here last month. Although San Luis Obispo was just a stopover on our way to Los Angeles it was great. The service is excellent. One can even get a DVD at the front desk with free microwave popcorn. How thoughtfull is that? ALso the map with the restaurant tips was nice. The breakfast was good, what do you expect from a breakfast in the States? Muffins in plastic? Cereal and horrible coffee. Here non of this, good coffee, fresh fruit, waffles and pancakes on demand. It was great! Next time we will be back and definitely stay longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will look forward to seeing you next time. Feel free to call us for any information or help we may be able to offer. There are always lots of fun things going on from the famous Thursday night Farmer's Market to the summer concerts in the Mission Plaza every Friday evening.

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to post your review. We appreciate it!

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

I called and spoke to a very friendly young lady who gave me a better quote than anything online. The room she gave us (as a walk in, no reservations) was in the plantation building and had beautiful views of the namesake creek behind the hotel. The bed is huge, luxurious, and the room is setup so that we wouldn't be disturbed during the night by anything other than each other. The rustle of the trees and the frogs outside were soothing sounds to fall asleep to. We only stayed one night, but we will definitely be making our way back here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amondala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thank you so much for this review and for choosing our hotel. The Plantation Building has a wonderful feel to it. Your review made me want to spend the night!

Thanks again and please come and visit us in the future. We would be happy to show you rooms in the other buildings if they are available. The Londonderry and the Craftsman have great individual style also.

Have a wonderful Summer,

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Annually, my husband and I visit our college friends in SLO and San Luis Creek Lodge is our hotel of choice. We prefer a boutique hotel such as San Luis Creek Lodge because of the well-appointed clean rooms, welcoming staff, good location and free breakfast that includes made to order eggs and waffles! We already have and will continue to recommend San Luis Creek Lodge to our friends!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Word of mouth recommendations are the most important of all. Thank you for telling others about our little place. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Have a wonderful summer!

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,442 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
403 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £124 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing