We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“San Luis Creek Lodge stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Durand, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“San Luis Creek Lodge stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We recently stayed at the San Luis Creek Lodge and had a very satisfying stay. We found our room to be quiet, clean and very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was very good and the staff were great.

Room Tip: Ask about the style of décor as you have choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virgil i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate it. I am happy you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again sometime in the future. As always we love to hear good comments about our staff.

Thank you again, and stay warm and safe out there!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    159
    37
    15
    5
See reviews for
89
322
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northants, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel was built not that long ago by an American octogenarian architect who was obviously having a bit of fun before he retired. It is very British, even down to the red telephone box standing outside. We had a very good reception by a Mancurian lady. The hotel is arranged in different buildings with plenty of parking close to each one. We were on the first floor of a building called Londonderry, and it was a very impressive room with dark wood ceiling beams and furniture, and a corner real flame fireplace which was very homely. The bedroom and bathroom were extremely well finished and we even had a four-poster king bed with ornate colonnaded corner posts.
We walked to 'downtown' which only took about 10 minutes and once there we discovered a huge variety of restaurants, shops and galleries. It was obvious the Creek Lodge was by far the most characterful hotel in Monterey Street, where most of the other hotels are situated.
Breakfast was excellent, and in addition to the continental breakfast available on a self-service basis, there was the option of asking for freshly made scrambled egg (which we thought was overcooked) and waffles. Hot oatmeal/porridge was also available. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose-of-the-Shires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you so much for this review. I really appreciate the time you took to include so much detail. It is very helpful for other guests to be able to have that information. I am so happy you appreciated all the attention to detail and enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again and have a Wonderful New Year!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights and found the San Luis Creek Lodge to be the perfect getaway for a couple. Warm and inviting and cozy rooms - ours had a fireplace - loved the furnishings, especially the four-poster bed. Very romantic! Super breakfast both mornings and very attentive staff. They sent us to an amazing 4 star restaurant for dinner. Because of the hotel's central location, we were able to walk everywhere and we loved leaving our car behind. All in all, we can't wait to return to this very special hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you for your comments. We would love to have you back! We are so fortunate to live in such a great area. I am glad you appreciated your room and thank you for mentioning our great staff. I always love to hear that they are doing such a good job assisting our guests.

Have a wonderful New Year and hopefully we will see you again in 2014!

Thanks again,

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 608 Christmas Eve for one night. Hard to imagine a better room. Hot breakfast in the morning was the icing on the cake. Territorial view of trees and hills. No evidence of smoking anywhere. Pleasant staff and thorough attention to details evident everywhere.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Fritzy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write this review during your Holiday time. We really appreciate that and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and noticed the small touches that I feel makes our place a little special. As always I love to hear nice things about our staff. There is nothing more important.

Wishing you all good things for 2014 and we hope to see you again!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights 12/13-12/15 on a college visit, with a student in tow we needed internet to down load homework, a restful room and a good meal to start the day
The room was very well appointed but we had no internet service our entire stay plus the breakfast was too late , started at 7.30am for an athlete to take advantage of. Disappointing I was expecting more
Althought this was not the fault of the hotel the next hotel to ours had young men drinking on their balcony all evening both nights. a little noisy but no trouble.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to put this review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry you experienced the issues with our internet connection. I am disappointed we were not able to resolve this issue at least in part by providing perhaps a different room or by making our computer system available to you. I believe we did speak and, if I am correct, I explained that due to some extraordinary personal circumstances, our computer technician was not available for an immediate visit. This was unfortunately out of my control.
Our breakfast times generally work for the majority of our guests. We do provide to go bags and can provide items for guests to have in their refridgerator the evening before if that works. I apologize if this did not work for you or if for some reason we did not inform you of all the options. As a mother of a college athlete myself, I appreciate the importance of a good breakfast! I hope you enjoyed your visit all in all and that we have the opportunity to see you and your family again some time in the future.

Have a wonderful Holiday Season, and thanks again for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The San Luis Creek Lodge had a good size room and was nice and clean. We paid for the "fireplace" premium upgrade and it was a nice touch. The bed was comfortable. It was a very cold night outside and the room heater did a great job keeping us warm. It was forced air, not a radiator type, which made it nice and cozy. The breakfast was a good continental style with fresh eggs and waffle on request. The staff was friendly. We would likely stay here again when we are in SLO. Several nice touches in the bathroom and around the property.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeblowHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you very much for writing your comments here. We appreciate your time...especially in the holiday season when everyone is busy! We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The rooms are particularly cozy at this time of the year. Thanks for noticing the nice touches around the property. As a small boutique property we have a lot of individual items around, I think it helps make our hotel a fun place to stay.

Thanks again,

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My wife and I only had a single night to spend in San Luis Obispo and were fortunate enough to choose this place. The experience was great from beginning to end with friendly service at reception in the evening and a great cooked breakfast in the morning.

The room was large with HUGE beds - we were in the 'Plantation' wing and the attention to detail in the room was excellent, with beautiful furniture and a large bathroom. The place just seemed to go the extra mile: for example offering coffee and cookies on arrival or free microwave popcorn to accompany a DVD from their extensive guest library.

All in all, very impressed and I would happily return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1985Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you so much for writing this review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to see you again some time in the future. Have a wonderful Holiday Season and a very Happy New Year!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Property: San Luis Creek Lodge
Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing