We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet English B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My wife and I were passing through San Luis Obispo and decided to stay in a place we hadn't tried yet. We stayed in the Londonderry. The English decor was a nice change and although the website stated a refresh was done on the rooms in 2008 everything looked as if it was brand new. The room was very cozy with a comfortable bed,fireplace and a large screen TV. Free DVD's were available with popcorn to pop in the microwave. Breakfast was very good, eggs made fresh. I wish we had more time to enjoy the Winter Romance Special, tempting for the next time we return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your taking time out of your day. We do try to keep our rooms as well maintained and cared for as possible, so it is very gratifying when guests notice that.

Please come back and see us again, and if you are able to take advantage of the Winter Specials on our website, that would be wonderful!

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

The room was large; the decor was nice; the room was in the rear and quiet, as requested. Breakfast had the typical range of breads, pastries, and cereals. In addition, staff would prepare scrambled eggs or french toast to order, and bacon and sausage was available. The lodge was much better than the typical motel and well worth its number one ranking.

The one drawback for me is that the lodge is over a mile from the downtown area, the site of most of the good restaurants and places of interest.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rivetcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I am so happy you had such an enjoyable experience. Please come back and stay with us again, we have some interesting specials on our website right now and we would love to have you back.

Thanks again,

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We recently stayed at the San Luis Creek Lodge and had a very satisfying stay. We found our room to be quiet, clean and very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was very good and the staff were great.

Room Tip: Ask about the style of décor as you have choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virgil i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate it. I am happy you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again sometime in the future. As always we love to hear good comments about our staff.

Thank you again, and stay warm and safe out there!

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel was built not that long ago by an American octogenarian architect who was obviously having a bit of fun before he retired. It is very British, even down to the red telephone box standing outside. We had a very good reception by a Mancurian lady. The hotel is arranged in different buildings with plenty of parking close to each one. We were on the first floor of a building called Londonderry, and it was a very impressive room with dark wood ceiling beams and furniture, and a corner real flame fireplace which was very homely. The bedroom and bathroom were extremely well finished and we even had a four-poster king bed with ornate colonnaded corner posts.
We walked to 'downtown' which only took about 10 minutes and once there we discovered a huge variety of restaurants, shops and galleries. It was obvious the Creek Lodge was by far the most characterful hotel in Monterey Street, where most of the other hotels are situated.
Breakfast was excellent, and in addition to the continental breakfast available on a self-service basis, there was the option of asking for freshly made scrambled egg (which we thought was overcooked) and waffles. Hot oatmeal/porridge was also available. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rose-of-the-Shires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you so much for this review. I really appreciate the time you took to include so much detail. It is very helpful for other guests to be able to have that information. I am so happy you appreciated all the attention to detail and enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you again and have a Wonderful New Year!

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights and found the San Luis Creek Lodge to be the perfect getaway for a couple. Warm and inviting and cozy rooms - ours had a fireplace - loved the furnishings, especially the four-poster bed. Very romantic! Super breakfast both mornings and very attentive staff. They sent us to an amazing 4 star restaurant for dinner. Because of the hotel's central location, we were able to walk everywhere and we loved leaving our car behind. All in all, we can't wait to return to this very special hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you for your comments. We would love to have you back! We are so fortunate to live in such a great area. I am glad you appreciated your room and thank you for mentioning our great staff. I always love to hear that they are doing such a good job assisting our guests.

Have a wonderful New Year and hopefully we will see you again in 2014!

Thanks again,

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed in room 608 Christmas Eve for one night. Hard to imagine a better room. Hot breakfast in the morning was the icing on the cake. Territorial view of trees and hills. No evidence of smoking anywhere. Pleasant staff and thorough attention to details evident everywhere.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank Fritzy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to write this review during your Holiday time. We really appreciate that and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and noticed the small touches that I feel makes our place a little special. As always I love to hear nice things about our staff. There is nothing more important.

Wishing you all good things for 2014 and we hope to see you again!

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights 12/13-12/15 on a college visit, with a student in tow we needed internet to down load homework, a restful room and a good meal to start the day
The room was very well appointed but we had no internet service our entire stay plus the breakfast was too late , started at 7.30am for an athlete to take advantage of. Disappointing I was expecting more
Althought this was not the fault of the hotel the next hotel to ours had young men drinking on their balcony all evening both nights. a little noisy but no trouble.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to put this review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry you experienced the issues with our internet connection. I am disappointed we were not able to resolve this issue at least in part by providing perhaps a different room or by making our computer system available to you. I believe we did speak and, if I am correct, I explained that due to some extraordinary personal circumstances, our computer technician was not available for an immediate visit. This was unfortunately out of my control.
Our breakfast times generally work for the majority of our guests. We do provide to go bags and can provide items for guests to have in their refridgerator the evening before if that works. I apologize if this did not work for you or if for some reason we did not inform you of all the options. As a mother of a college athlete myself, I appreciate the importance of a good breakfast! I hope you enjoyed your visit all in all and that we have the opportunity to see you and your family again some time in the future.

Have a wonderful Holiday Season, and thanks again for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,443 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,236 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
403 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £124 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing