We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent access to college”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the SLCL while visiting the college with our daughter. The room was very nice. The beds were not super comfortable, but were decent. Overall the place was clean and with nice amenities (microwave, coffee maker, Philosophy shampoos). We enjoyed the breakfast as well. We were in a three story unit so if you have trouble with stairs be sure to ask for a lower floor.

A couple complaints would be that we could not get WiFi in our room and my husband could not do any work from the hotel. And to be nit-picky the faucets in the bathroom where installed backwards (not hot vs. cold) but the way you turned them on and off and the shower head was installed for a person about 5 feet in height. If they were to get a new plumber, fix the WiFi and upgrade the beds, it would be an A+.

Room Tip: No elevators so be aware of that if you don't like stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gradeschoolmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review here. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us. We are in a good location for Cal Poly visitors.

Sorry about the WiFi glitch. We know how important that is to our visitors. We have recently had all the equipment replaced and upgraded. Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention.

We hope to see you again in the future!

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 644 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We picked San Luis Creek Lodge based on other Trip Advisor reviews. Great place. Convenient to the highway and to town. King bed was very comfortable, the room was quiet(all we heard was the frogs outside), and breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Room 206 toward the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffAlpharetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your stay on Tripadvisor and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! It is good to know that the frogs are still charming our visitors.

Have a great summer and come back and see us again!

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This property is squeezed in between a motel 8 and some other hotel and yet once you're in the room, it seems as if you are not in such close proximity to other properties. Small operation with only one staff member on duty in the office who is only there until 9 p.m. We met three different clerks during our stay and they were all pleasant and helpful.

The rooms are boldly decorated with themes (we were in Londonberry and my son said it was like a room you'd expect in a castle). Could be kitchy, but managed to be nice. Our room was very large, clean (smelled good) and had more than you would expect (microwave in the closet you could plug in; coffee maker with Starbucks and a tea selection; electric fireplace/heater; convenient plugs everywhere; small fridge and a selection of coffee table books about the area). Beds were comfortable.

One issue we had was that our room was handicapped accessible and had a walk in shower. It was a bit of a design flaw for if you did not block off the corner of the shower floor with towels, all the water would run out the edge of the shower floor straight to the carpeted room. I caught it in time, but it could have been quite a swamp.

The breakfast was fresh and had a good assortment. The desk clerk doubles as the chef and will make scrambled eggs and.or waffles on request. She offered to do so, quite pleasantly, to all the guests as we arrived. The breakfast room is cute but incredibly small, so we took our plates back to the room. Oatmeal, assorted breads, fruit, sausage, potatoes, juice and coffee. Nicely arranged.

We had no issue with the parking, but I can see how it might be an issue if the place was full. My recommendation would be to back in when you arrive, so it's easy to pull out.

My biggest issue, and the only reason this review did not give 5 stars was the noise from our upstairs occupant. Either he was a Sasquatch in tap shoes or the floors are hardwood and thin. It sounded like being under the stage at a Lord of the Dance review. It was quite awful until Sasquatch finally got tired and went to bed.

Good location for CalPoly visit and for access to the 101 or downtown eateries and shopping. I would stay here again, just maybe upstairs next time so that we don't have to put up with the Sasquatch. ;)

Room Tip: Upper floors are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLC&N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Many thanks for writing such a detailed review here on Tripadvisor, we appreciate it and I am sure our potential guests do too. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the tapdancing above you. Occasionally these things happen, we do try to help if possible if guests bring these things to our attention. I am very happy that this did not spoil your visit and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Thanks again, and have a wonderful summer!

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We spent one night at the Lodge. The room was superb - very well equipped, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and everyone was helpful. Access from the Coastal Highway was straightforward. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It is very gratifying to know that our work is so appreciated.

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you some time in the future.

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I have stayed here twice now over the course of the last 12 months. Both experiences were good; no complaints. First time we stayed in the Craftsman building and Plantation building the second time. Found both rooms to be charming and unique. Visits have been in conjunction with meetings so have not had the experience of breakfast. Great location for access to Cal Poly SLO campus and downtown. We usually just stroll downtown to take in local restaurants or infamous farmer's market. We had no problem parking in a full size pick-up truck. While parking flow might be limited, in my opinion other reviews make too much of this. Look forward to next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0ldenState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

We will look forward to your return. Perhaps you could try our third building, The Londonderry, when you return. Please call if you would like information on what rooms are available and we will be happy to discuss that with you.

Thank you for your comments, I am delighted you had an enjoyable visit.

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

On our 3-day drive from LA to SFO we stayed the first night at 'San Luis Creek Lodge'.

And I have to say it was a very positive surprise! The location is ideal, the staff super-friendly and helpful, the room extremely clean and well appointed. Inside the room I didn't see one scratch of a suitcase. The bed was very comfortable, the TV HUGE, such as the bathroom. Internet is free and fast, even the breakfast included in the room rate.

At the reception there's all-day free coffee and cookies.

What else do you need? This hotel is just perfect!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you so much for writing this review. It is always really wonderful to have good comments about our staff and service. San Luis Obispo has a lot to offer so we hope to welcome you back some time in the future.

Thanks again,

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. The room was beautifully done, warm and inviting. Wonderful service, great breakfast. We will definitely return. We stayed two nights and couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. Our first night in town was just up the street and we actually would have remained there except they were booked for the rest of the weekend- lucky for us !!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Well thank you so much for these wonderful comments. We do hope that we have an opportunity to impress you again in the future.

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write these comments on Tripadvisor!

June

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
739 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,263 reviews
1.1 mi away
SLO Brew Lofts
SLO Brew Lofts
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
67 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#9 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#5 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £115 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing