We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Character, clean and central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Character, clean and central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My boss recommended I stay here because she enjoyed it too. Clean and comfortable with very helpful staff. Some nice touches that you don't get in the big hotels like great satellite channels. Also available are DVDs and popcorn. Some home baked cookies and water seem to be always available. And to top it all a slightly later check out was accommodated. That's always appreciated by a business traveller. Loved it will book again and will come and stay on vacation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Larcabout R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am so happy that we were able to provide you with all you needed. We hope that our business travelers feel 'at home' with us when away from their families.

We hope to see you again!

Thanks again,

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    159
    37
    15
    5
See reviews for
89
322
17
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We just spent 3 nights here (we were only going to stay 2 but added 1 because we were enjoying our stay) and loved it. The staff was very friendly and eager to assist. Breakfast is served in a quaint dining room from 7:30am-9:30am. Yesterday, we asked for a local recommendation for a local breakfast place as we were headed out at 10:30am after the dining room was closed. They were so kind to offer to make a to-go breakfast for us! We declined but appreciate the offer. Rooms were nicely appointed, clean, roomy. Each had a fireplace (we had two rooms). We stayed in the Londonderry building, but next time we will try the Craftsman. Three buildings; each with different decor. Mostly chain hotel/motel lodging all around this charming inn type lodging. We loved it here and plan to return!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vetski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for writing your review. I am so happy you appreciated all our attention to detail here. We try very hard to be as accommodating and flexible as possible. We hope to see you again in the future. Please call and we will be happy to discuss rooms available and we will try to answer any general questions you may have about our lovely town.

Have a great summer!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, CA
Level Contributor
185 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed here because of the reviews we'd seen and the price online. Our room, while not large, was VERY comfortable. Clearly they've updated the bathrooms and floors. Everything was very clean. Also, they offer a lovely breakfast including scrambled eggs and waffles to order, muffins, scones, oatmeal, sausages, and breakfast potatoes. They also have Starbuck's coffee. The staff was very attentive and professional and we truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msjj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. I am very happy that you had such a good stay. It is so rewarding to know that our efforts are appreciated.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Thanks again!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here with a group where we had the rooms in the Londonderry Building. The rooms were really nice and comfortable. The beds were excellent. The breakfast the next day was really good with freshly cooked meals prepared for us.

It is a bit out of town but took about 15 minutes or so to walk in

Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tour_contact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you so much for your comments here on Tripadvisor. I am happy you were able to enjoy the walk to the town center. There are lots of interesting things to see on the way that you may otherwise miss. We appreciate being a little out of the activity of the town center so that we are able to provide a pretty quiet environment for our visitors.

We hope to have an opportunity to see you again in the future.

Thank you again for taking the time to post this review.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here. The accommodations were well kept, clean, and very comfortable. In addition the room was spacious (compared to other hotels/motels) and quiet. The front and breakfast staff were very helpful. Nice breakfast with choice of scrambled eggs or waffles. Coffee (or tea) is available in your room. We would come back again.

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room to avoid stairs if you have heavy suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sporeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I hope you have an opportunity to visit us again in the future. We are always happy to help with any information you may need for a future visit so please feel free to call with any questions you may have.

Thanks again,

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We've stayed in a number of U.S. hotels over recent weeks and the San Luis Creek Lodge is, without doubt and by some considerable distance, the best. From the moment we checked in it was obvious that this is a hotel run by people who really know their business. The rooms are spacious, elegant and very well furnished including the largest, most comfortable sleigh bed I think we've ever slept in. The shower room facilities are excellent and the breakfast second to none, with a wide choice of cereals, dried and fresh fruit, numerous breads, a very good cooked option and copious amounts of fresh juice and hot coffee. The staff are, without exception, pleasant, capable and seemingly dedicated to the well being of their guests and you really could not ask for more. It's been suggested that the people of San Luis Obispo are the happiest in the U.S. After a night at the San Luis Creek Lodge I felt more than ready to join them. This is an example of how a hotel should be, a rare combination of class, quality and value. Certainly our favourite hotel in the U.S. and possibly anywhere. In short...simply the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Well, all I can say is thank you so much. We work very hard to provide as good a service as we possibly can here. Reviews like yours make us all very happy indeed!

Thank you so very much!

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Although I went to graduate school in San Luis, I'd never stayed in a hotel there. This place was perfect - walking distance to downtown, but not one of the hundred run-of-the-mill motels. The room was well-appointed, and the shower fantastic! My only little complaint is that the bedding should have been nicer for a hotel of of this calibre. I didn't expect cheap pillows and cotton blend sheets. The staff were very warm and welcoming, and breakfast included everything you might want. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The ground floor Plantation room was almost like sleeping in a treehouse - the oaks are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June M, Manager at San Luis Creek Lodge, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write your comments on Tripadvisor. We appreciate it very much. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. San Luis Obispo has a lot to offer our visitors.

I have to agree with you. We are not a run of the mill establishment and I think a lot of our guests really like that. I hope the rest of your trip went very well and thanks again for your review.

June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Property: San Luis Creek Lodge
Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing