We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B & B or business hotel? A little of both”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Luis Creek Lodge
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“B & B or business hotel? A little of both”
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Our room in the Londonderry was a little noisy due to the stairs behind the room, but it was not too bad. Our room was pretty small so some of the furnishings in the room seemed unnecessary and bulky for the size of the room No major complaints. Breakfast was good quality and plenty of choices...coffee was not so great. We had to go to Peets up the road.





Professionally run hotel that offers b and b like accomodations without the frilly rooms. The room we had was pretty small and the furnishings seemed bulky for the size room, but it was very comfortable with tasteful unisex decor. The stair case behind our room was noisy at times but not too bad. Breakfast was adequate and good quality, but the coffee was not to our likeing so went to Petes every day. Location is great with restaurants and bars close by...good freeway access. Staff was helpful, but could be warmer. Prices are a little high for what it offers.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intrepidtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    160
    38
    15
    5
See reviews for
91
323
17
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east coast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Every time we travel to this lovely town, we stay at the San Luis Creek Lodge. We have found the rooms to be spacious and clean - the hotel staff is helpful and professional - and the location is great (easy highway access, without the noise). The breakfast room is comfortable and the food is good. We leave feeling well rested and happy ~ like I said - a wonderful value.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fab34me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Stayed one night. The room was first class and the persons at the desk were truly great. You willl not go wrong at this B&B/motel.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tommo_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Travelling from SF to LA, we booked this hotel because of tripadvisor reviews. They were dead on. Great place to stay. Large, very clean room with a fantastic bathroom. No bathtub but shower was very large with nice tiles. Breakfast was very good. Not close to downtown but most have a car and can easily drive there. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. Quaint style lodges.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habs1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Right from the first contact with San Luis Creek Lodge it was obvious that this was a special place. Patti on the front desk was helpful, professional and informative without being intrusive. She made fantastic suggestions for restaurants, places of interest & other general information that enhanced our stay. The room was fantastic - we stayed in the Londonderry section and had a fireplace, four poster bed & a great bathroom. The attention to detail and the fittings and amenities make this accommodation more than a great place to stay. The breakfast was more that adequate with freshly made to order eggs, pancakes and many other choices. Our only problem - our schedule prevented us from staying longer!!! If you are in this area (approx halfway between San Francisco & Los Angeles) do yourself a favour & stay at San Luis Creek Lodge - you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I enjoy writing reviews on the hotels that I stay at. I stay in tons of hotels since I work for Skywest. This hotel is great!!!!! Awesome happy hour and awesome breakfast! The staff are always nice to us and there's tons of stores nearby. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misstravelqueen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

This is a great place to stay if you're in town. The room was fabulous and the price was right. My favorite feature was the fireplace in our room.

My only complaint was the day I arrived there was a bad storm coming through town. My friend and I were two hours early with no place to go. The winds were high and it was pouring outside. We asked if we could check in a little early and they claimed that the rooms weren't clean yet. So my friend and I had to drive around for two hours to pass the time. Aside from that everything was great.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koli_0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
2.1 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Creek Lodge

Property: San Luis Creek Lodge
Address: 1941 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#4 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#6 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — San Luis Creek Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of San Luis Obispo's newest hotels, ideally located close to charming downtown San Luis Obispo, 5 minutes from Cal Poly, and just 1 hour to Hearst Castle. Luxury spacious rooms feature premium furnishings, luxury upholstery, top-of-the-line bedding and dual pedestal sink bathrooms with imported tile. Extended Continental breakfast with delicious pastries, different breads, bagels and English muffins to toast, hot fresh oatmeal, scrambled eggs upon request and more, large flat-screen Sony televisions and DVD players. There are complimentary DVD rentals located in the Front Office. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your San Luis Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Creek Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Creek Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing