We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent experience”
Review of Novo

Novo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Broad st.
Description: Set against a rich eclectic backdrop, Novo's international flavors are the leading ingredients in an exotic dining experience. Located downtown San Luis Obispo in a historic turn of the century building with spectacular creekside dining. Multi award winning restaurant for food, service and ambiance. Extensive global and local wine and beer selection. Novo easily accommodates large parties either on one of the patios in in their lower level "cellar room". A favorite with both locals and tourists, Novo is a truly a San Luis Obispo experience.
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent experience”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

the patio is beautiful especially at night! the food is delicious. the drinks from the bar are delicious. the bartender is fun to talk with and very helpful to find just the drink for you. did I say the food is delicious yes it is very!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wonderful32859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    578
    291
    72
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and fantastic food”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Visited on holiday and had a wonderful meal in great surroundings. The service was excellent and the atmosphere and food also superb.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KatieSpruceTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I am in the area for business and since I had to stay the weekend, I brought my wife with me. I asked some co-workers if there was a must eat restaurant in the area and they said Novo. They were certainly right! Everything about it was excellent. It is very deceiving from the street as all you see is a small bar area with a few tables. The main dining is the wonderful creek side deck area out back. The atmosphere and the service was outstanding!

We started with some prawn lettuce wraps as an appetizer. They were very good. We both had the lamb chops and thoroughly enjoyed them. The only disappointing thing was taking the last bite as it was then we had to realize we had finished eating.... We had a creme brûlée and a strawberry shortcake cheesecake for dessert and as expected they were both excellent.

I highly recommend Novo as the place to dine when in SLO.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank REVoigt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Creekside Deck”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very good food and service. A most pleasant Deck shaded by large trees and just over and beside a small creek. A very good way to enjoy a meal. Don't miss this one.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jleec2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Upbeat and Tasty”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The patio seating at Novo is terrific, overlooking San Luis Obispo Creek. The tables are well spaced and the atmosphere very inviting.

The menu is self-described as global, and has many India-inspired dishes as well as California choices. My husband and one of our friends had a spicy squash/lentil soup they both enjoyed. The entrees were: Moroccan fried chicken (rated A), Duck breast (rated B+-great flavor, but slightly over-cooked), tandoori prawns (rated B- - did not have a distinctive flavor until my friend borrowed the sauce from my dish). I had two appetizers: the samosas - nice spice in the potato stuffing and crisply fried (rated A), and the fresh spring rolls which were a little bland, despite the sauces provided (rated B-).

Good wine selections. We passed on dessert.

Prices are very attractive for this kind of dining. Well worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Novo also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing