We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lighten up! No frills, but it's perfectly fine for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Luis Inn & Suites
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Yes, it was a little grungy, but the owners were very friendly, and as helpful as could be, offering suggestions, maps, advice about the area, etc. The room may not have been as equipped as I would have liked initially, but anything I asked for I received.
It's pretty cheap for the area, and yes, you get what you pay for. But if you're looking for an inexpensive, no frills place with friendly and helpful staff (and that's always more of a priority for me than amenities), then this is more than adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Devin627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2007

I LOVED this hotel. It was very welcoming and the employees were very friendly. Some of the people down there said that the towels were very flimsy and that they had signs posted saying not to use it for cars and bikes, etc, but thats probably what happened and now the towels became flimsy. The room was great and the beds were very comfortable. They had free wireless internet, cable tvs, and the rooms were CLEAN. I went to some hotels around there and they were not as good as this! I definitely recommend this hotel because it has a beautiful view of the mountain, and a swimming pool! My kids loved it and i am definitely coming back in 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lauren5029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2007

This was a terrible, grungy hotel. The walls in the bathroom were flaking off and there was mildew all over. The carpets were disgusting and the towels were worn and gross. Our family would rather camp than go here.

Stay here at your own risk. It makes me itchy just thinking about how nasty it was.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank splitnfragments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2007

Because that's what this place deserves. The room had missing parts, (no diffuser for the lightbar, no heat lamp bulb or switch with which to turn it on, no bolt in the deadbolt, etc.) The webpage claimed an ironing board, iron and microwave, but there were none. The sheets were not changed on our multiple night stay, so God only knows how long the blanket and bedspread had been on the bed. Next time SLO is booked, I would rather sleep in my car than in this place. YUCKY!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kayaker1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2006

We came to this hotel, my family of 5, and it was soo much better than a lot of hotels I have stayed at in San Luis Obispo. Everything is so close, the rooms are clean, and the employees are just soo kind, they make you feel welcome and you feel like your at home. This place was great. I loved it!

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank live2laugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2006

This was the cheapest hotel I stayed at my whole trip $66. The hotel was full; we checked in at 9 pm and almost did not get a room. My son and I got the 'suite'. It had one double bed and two twin beds, that were small and not sturdy. There was a real clothes bureau in the room and a large bathroom. The other traveler is right about the towels - very flimsy. They even had a sign on the bathroom not to use the towels to clean your shoes, your car or for other cleaning, and to request rags if you need to clean something. It offered free wireless access, unlike the Sheraton in LA airport, where I had to pay $11 for 24 hours of access.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank JB-journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2006

This was just an awful place. Old and junky; towels worse than worn dishrags; carpet was wet from leaking bathroon and I got bitten by bedbugs!

9  Thank sitaananth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sands Inn & Suites
Sands Inn & Suites
#15 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
273 reviews
0.8 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inn at San Luis Obispo
Inn at San Luis Obispo
#17 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
359 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luis Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luis Inn & Suites

Address: 404 Santa Rosa St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-2440
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £46 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Luis Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Luis Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luis Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing