We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Campground”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Luis Obispo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Avila / Pismo Beach KOA
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice Campground”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed for one night in Apr 2014. The pool and playgrounds were a hit with the kids. As previously mentioned it is a bit cramped and can be noisy as it is next to the freeway. The only downside was the "store" closing at 5pm meaning we had to drive into Avila for some basics, otherwise the rating would have been higher

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    5
    14
    13
    5
See reviews for
24
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
oakland, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We camped here in an RV for 3 nights on spring break with our 10 and 13 year old boys and two small dogs. Our friend stayed in one of the cabins and liked it very much. It is not on the beach as pointed out by another reviewer, but we felt staying right on the coast would be iffy at this time of year (as it is in summer because of coastal fog.) The location turned out to be GREAT because Avila is much sunnier and less windy than Avila Beach, where the fog doesn't burn off until the afternoons, but is closer to the coast than SLO. Our kids really loved this KOA, with it's very nice pool, hot tub, and basketball court. It seemed to be a very popular spot for families and they instantly met a lot of new friends to play with. We were back by the pool area and the spaces are close as reviewed, but were adequate for our needs as we were out of the site most of the time enjoying the area and there is a lot of play area for the kids, and was a dogwalk for the dogs. I would ask for one of the sites that backs up to the grass by the pool I think next time. The freeway is not that far away, but it wasn't that noisy at night, and didn't keep anyone up. Campers seemed to respect the quiet hours. Shower facilities were clean and nice. There is a pancake breakfast on weekends, but we did not try it. We brought our bikes and enjoyed hiking and riding the Bob Jones Bike Trail into Avila Beach (this trail is also dog friendly.) Our friend who did not have a bike was able to rent a very nice cruiser (with a basket!) from the KOA and join us. This is a GREAT trail and I understand will also be extended to go into SLO. If you don't want to cook, you can run over to the restaurant at Avila Hot Springs and grab something, walk across the street to the fantastic Avila Barn for fresh farmstand produce, grilled corn on the cob, amazing deli sandwiches, baked goods, fudge and ice cream, or bike down about a mile to the Woodstone Market on the Bob Jones Trail. All good options though they all do close early. It's maybe 10 minutes into SLO or 5 minutes to Avila Beach via car. All the staff were friendly as were our fellow campers. A nice spot we would definitely return to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravelingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Good location near turn off to 101 and right on the road to Avila beach (about 3 miles). we are crammed in like sardines, I'll admit that. But the pool is nice, and most importantly, the wifi is actually really strong! Rare in RV parks. LOVE that. Bathrooms, etc. are clean, etc. It'd be nice if there were a few more trees and a bit more space, but I still would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inishmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Well run, and clean - BUT very far from the beach, not as advertised. It's no where close to being on the beach.

Huge bonus was the heated pool and hot tub. The staff were fantastic, the "store" wasn't really a store at all.

Very noisy as you are right on the highway 110.

Room Tip: If it's an extended stay you're looking for - don't. Go to Pismo Coast Village RV park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryMarnewick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Luis Obispo
1.8 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avila Village Inn
Avila Village Inn
#2 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#11 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Avila Beach
Inn at Avila Beach
#4 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.2 mi away
San Luis Bay Inn
San Luis Bay Inn
#5 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avila / Pismo Beach KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avila / Pismo Beach KOA

Property: Avila / Pismo Beach KOA
Address: 7075 Ontario Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-8033
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing