We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff, lovely setting & quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I have stayed at this property several times over the past few years. It is set off the road and the surroundings are peaceful and you do not hear any road noise. The staff at this location is excellent. Amanda the front desk manager is just great. She is very helpful and makes you feel that you are a valued guest. Location provides easy access to Highway 101 and dowtown San Luis Obispo is only five minute drive. It is an easy drive to the airport as well (~10 minutes).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard San Luis Obispo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

Found this Courtyard by Marriott online while traveling from Santa Cruz to L.A. and needed a place to stop on the way . Staff was courteous and helpful. Room was large but no large bath towels. Pool looked ok but hot tub was not the cleanest. Although they say they have coffee24/7, they didn't. I woke up a little late and didnt get down in time to get coffee and couldn't even buy a cup in the hotel. Couldn't buy breakfast either and had to get in my car and drive to Starbucks to get coffee! Coffee in the room but no milk, creamer or anything. Decent price and it fit our needs but thank goodness we only stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Good place to crash after all day sightseeing. Nice location. Parking was a bit difficult to find, probably because of labor day weekend. Free internet was good, a bit spotty though. Would be good if the breakfast was included. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wndrlstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Just stayed again at Courtyard SLO - nice property but a little pricey compared to Holiday Inn Express. Rooms still look new (built 2008) and have nice flat screens but limited channels. There are no suites or so we were told, so don't expect an upgrade. Would be tight with 4 people and a rollaway, but just fine for 2. Nice spacious bathroom counter with Paul Mitchell shampoos. Nice curved shower curtain, good water pressure. Small frig and microwave in room. Free coffee in room and lobby. Courtyard facing rooms are very quiet. WiFi is free but connection often drops. Small hotel restaurant offers breakfast, small bar offers alcohol service until 10pm weeknights, 12am on weekends. AM/PM down the street can meet your beer and snack needs.

Rooms are small compared with Holiday Inn Express and Embassy Suites. A bit farther from freeway than Hampton so will be much more quiet. No free breakfast here or special treatment if you are an elite in MR except for better room location.

Overall I can recommend this hotel, though a bit pricey during high season weekends, Though we found rates dropped at all properties about 1-2 weeks before arrival (always keep checking).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boraxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lrrid262, General Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you so much for your comments regarding our hotel. You gave such a wonderful oversight of the property and its amenities. We do offer discounted prices to our qualified hotel guests. If you qualify for the Marriott senior discount or you have a AAA card the price is lower compared to the regular rate. I am sorry that you feel that we are pricey as we are very careful to stay in line with the other hotels in the vicinity. We also take into consideration the things that are complimentary like our Wi-Fi and parking which usually adds on another $30 to $40 at other properties. I hope that knowing all of this will bring you back to us on your next visit. We would love to have you back at the Courtyard by Marriott - San Luis Obispo.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Ridgeway - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Everything about this CY is great - it's clean, comfortable, staff is professional and helpful, good location, good facilities. However, the previous comments regarding smells at least in certain rooms are valid though - not sure what the issue is and it doesn't seem they are able to remedy it....the compliant and promises to address it go back some time, and, witnessing the hotel and staff, I'm sure they have tried to address it. But apparently to only some avail - my room did smell a bit like a locker room - you got used to the smell quickly once in the room and it seemed to be less when the AC was on, but when you went out and came back it was quite strong smelling at times.

If you are sensitive to this you may want to call in advance and insure that they assign you a room that does not have this odor.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdaecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This is a very nice hotel- extremely clean, spacious room and bathroom, free parking, very helpful staff. We were offered a variety of rooms on different floors to choose from.
The only problem is that there is no safe in the room, which is a bit annoying.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank YaB90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Avoid the X38 rooms. The elevator is quiet as elevators go, but still too loud for sleeping next to it..

This is my 3rd visit. They'll figure out who I am soon, so I'll have to stop leaving honest reviews.

The staff is genuinely WONDERFUL. They're friendly and helpful and always have a great attitude.

Rooms are still dark. I have eye strain. Every possible light is on. I have the TV on. Use brighter bulbs in the desk lamps. Whatever your lighting expert is telling you, you're overpaying them. It's dark and it's uncomfortable to work.

Avoid dinner at the bar. They were out of soup. Ordered the tri-tip sandwich. Waited forever. And ever. Arrived cold. Sent it back. Re-arrived just as cold. And when I asked why it was served without the promised horseradish sauce? "Oh, we're out of that." Sandwich served cold 2x? Not acceptable. Ordered the chicken sandwich. Arrived hot and edible. They took it off the bill, thanks for that. Waiting an hour for a sandwich? I won't do that again. The salad and chicken sandwich were both good.

Wine at $10/glass is over priced. Movies (it's the 14th, The Hunger Games comes out on DVD on the 18th...4 days...and the price for in room viewing is $17.99??? Nothing doing.) are highway robbery.

Bed is comfortable. Linens are excellent. The pillows are great. Parking is free and reasonably easy.

Room is very well appointed, the furniture is nice and everything is present.

Paul Mitchell shampoo/conditioner are nice and appreciated. Shower pressure is *meh*, water hot, towels really nice.

Wifi is patchy. It's up and down. When it's up, it's slow and weak. It went down in the middle of business e-mail. Kyber felt free to call me 2x.

Lastly, this pisses me off. It's the little things and this is a *big* little thing. You leave signs for me to save the planet by hanging up my towel. I do that. No problem. I recycle. No problem.

I set the room temperature to 78 degrees. You should appreciate that. It should save you energy. I'm from Phoenix. That's a good temperature for me. Why the heck do hotel staffers think it's okay to reset the temperature back to 68 degrees????

Save the planet? Not that way. I'm freezing and you're paying both to cool the room down to a temperature your guest DOES NOT WANT and heat it back up to something I can tolerate.

Breakfast was far better than dinner at the bar the previous night.

Room Tip: Over pool, looking toward the field, away from the 101 on the 3rd floor...and *new* away from the el...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonoran_Skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lrrid262, General Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Thank you so much for posting your Trip Advisor response. I have read your comments to each department head to give them an idea of what you experienced during your stay. We are all extremely ashamed and remorseful but determined to improve. Measures have been taken with our evening restaurant staff and I have been assured by my Food & Beverage Supervisor that a repeat of your situation will never happen again.

In response to the lighting in the guestrooms, I am thinking that we will need to provide something stronger for you upon your next stay. If you can call us prior to your stay dates we can get everything set up and in place.

Lastly, I would like to clear up why we run the A/C units at 68 degrees. We have found that the rooms become a little stagnant if their is no circulation so once we clean the rooms our housekeepers have been advised to run the air conditioning prior to a guest checking in or returning to their room. We can arrange to leave your temperature exactly where you like it the next time you are here. You will just need to make the front desk staff aware of this and it will be handled.

Your comments are what we need to assist us in delivering the best customer service that a loyal guest like you deserves. Your time and effort is much appreciated.

Sincerely,

Lindsey Ridgeway - General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott - San Luis Obispo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
727 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
625 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,424 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £111 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Marriott
San Luis Obispo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing