We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Marriott for the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Picked this hotel because we had Marriott points to cover one of the nights and were tired of staying in cheap hotel while visiting our son at Cal Poly.
Were delighted to see that this place was worth the money. Our rate for the night we had to pay was a little over $235 for the two of us. The room was large, clean, well appointed and offered a nice pool view.
The room was spotless and the air-conditioning pleasant during the summer heat. Rooms were quiet and we did not hear any noise, even thought the hotel was entirely filled during our stay. Bathrooms were updated with marble countertops but only one sink. Shower was nice and strong. Products for use were Paul Mitchell, they offered a good hair dryer and there were thick plush towels.
Would not plan to eat at their restaurant or hang at their bar, there are many more fun choices in town.
We got an excellent rest and felt it was worth the 5 minute drive out of downtown to stay here. Front desk was pleasant and very efficient. No waits, prompt service and friendly cleaning crew. The free parking is nice too, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lili B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear LiliB95125:
What a fabulous review of our hotel. Thank you so much for your comments and taking the time to let us know how pleasant your stay was with us! It means so much to us that you enjoyed our property and all we have to offer our guests. Our staff will be delighted to hear how much you enjoyed their services. It's so important that our guests have a satisfying stay and comments like yours put a big smile on all our faces. We can't wait to have you come visit us again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a really nice property that has great views of the surrounding area. There is a lot of open space and you can spot a lot of the local wildlife from the parking lot. It is a relaxing place to be after a day working.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scooterc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Scootercl:
You are so right! We have quite an abundant variety of wildlife in the area surrounding the hotel including horses, deer, owls, and hawks. I like to think of this location as very relaxing too and am pleased to know you enjoyed your stay after a hard day’s work. Our hillside and pasture views are a great remedy to an otherwise stressful day. If you have further business in this area, we would love to have you stay with us again! Thank you again for such wonderful comments and taking the time to review our hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stayed a couple of times here on a Friday night to go into downtown and enjoy the nightlife in SLO. The front desk is very helpful and the rooms are fairly quiet. They are large and clean. They have a full bar in the lobby and serve breakfast (not included with room). The breakfast didn't look wonderful and with the Apple Farm right up the way, didn't try ti.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimDevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear KimDevers:
I am so glad that you chose our hotel to stay with while you visited San Luis Obispo and enjoyed your visits with us. We take pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and the service of our staff. It is wonderful to have our travelers recognize our efforts! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay and we hope to see you again!

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way driving down the coast, so just stayed one night. The accommodations were more than sufficient: clean comfortable rooms, free wi-fi, warm heated pool, great staff helped to check us in.

My only complaint about this location was the breakfast. For $11.00 for breakfast, I wish it was tastier. The coffee was cold and bitter (even after I asked for a new cup full), the eggs tasted like sawdust. I wish I had driven into town and had breakfast instead.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KtLadyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear KtLadyBug:
Thank you for your mentions of our helpful staff and clean rooms. I am sorry your breakfast was not as enjoyable. Our heated pool and free wifi makes our guests' stays all that more enjoyable and I'm glad you had a pleasant stay with us. I am so glad to hear our staff was helpful at check-in and will relay the message on to them as I am sure they will appreciate hearing your positive comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I hope you return to our property again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed one night on our way to LA. The rooms were clean . my complaint is that the bath tub did not drain after my husband took a shower. I called the front desk and told them that I was unable to take a shower because the bath tub was backed up. the front desk clerk said she was sorry and that was it. She did not offer to send someone up to fix it or show that she cared that a guest was not happy. A hotel should include a shower. The staff needs some customer service training . Poor management and lack of customer service

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Ann S:
I regret to hear you experienced difficulties with your room and the response from the front desk staff. It is our top priority to satisfy our guests and their needs. I am so sorry by the reaction you encountered when reporting your concern. I will definitely bring this to the attention of our staff to make sure this does not happen again. Your feedback is important to us and I can't thank you enough for sharing your experience with us as it allows us to see were we need improvement. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your stay!

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

For visiting Cal Poly SLO University, this Marriott property is the only nearby property in town and they know it. I wish we had more Marriott choice in the immediate area. We are always warmly welcomed when we arrive--often late at night--and this trip was no different. The housekeeping staff and front desk folks are always pleasant, welcoming and warm. The price-to-value for this Courtyard is poor, however, most times of the year. However, for a family visiting the University, their suite rooms are very worthwhile with a private bedroom and a private living area that has a sofa bed (they'll bring in a rollaway) as wells as sink/fridge/microwave part of the room.

Room Tip: Very Close By to Cal Poly SLO University
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrSteve818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here as a one night getaway. Had lunch on our way into town and then checked in about 430 pm. Beautiful exterior, room is spacious with a micro and mini fridge. Restroom was a decent size as well. Our room 120 had a sliding door for full / quick access to the jacuzzi / pool area which i loved. Nice view of the mountains behind us. Quiet room. Room was so comfortable we never left for dinner or drinks like we planned, we stayed in and got some much needed rest. I would defnitely come back, worth staying here and driving to the beach than to stay so close to the beach. Superior Quality is always important when choosing our hotel.

Room Tip: First floor was great, access to the pool from our sliding door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seren96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
735 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#8 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
639 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
900 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £99 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Marriott
San Luis Obispo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing