We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel in a Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel in a Great Location”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Was able to make a reservation with little advance notice for a mid-week one night stay. Everyone was professional, friendly and welcoming. They graciously upgraded our room which is always nice. Clean, updated room with very comfy bedding and all amenities. Hotel is handy to the #101 Freeway but not noisy at all. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bud9845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear bud9845,

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always nice to hear our staff described as “professional, friendly and welcoming.” We strive for excellence when it comes to customer service and meeting the needs of our guests. I am glad you will be joining us again on a future visit. We look forward to serving you once more!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    163
    72
    13
    13
See reviews for
160
101
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Fairly new property, well maintained, slick staff. Everything runs like clockwork and a guaranteed good night sleep. Staff serving breakfast were so friendly felt like a family run hotel. Check in process so easy and quick

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Abelina,

How nice of you to say! “Family run hotel” is what we love to hear. Our staff prides themselves on the service they provide to our guests and we like to think of our team as a family happy to serve. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. If you are ever in San Luis Obispo again we would love to have you stay with us!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Rooms are nice size and very clean the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, the location is the only thing that I can be "improved". As a business traveler I will most likely give this hotel another visit in the bear future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Michel D,

Thank you so much for sharing your comments about your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott in San Luis Obispo. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and even more pleased to hear our staff met and exceeded your expectations. It is our highest priority that our guests feel appreciated, welcomed and accommodated. We hope to see you again very soon!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood MO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property. Friendly front desk. Complimentary papers, coffee, etc. Convenient location to highway n airport. Food store n trader Joes nearby. Clean. Sunbeam iron was made for a guy n simple to figure out how to operate. Only issue was pesky wi-fi that was either slow or kept dropping.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear James W,

Thank you for your comments! It is always great to hear how helpful and friendly our staff treat our guests and I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. You are correct that we provide quite a few amenities to our guests including: coffee, tea, newspapers, cookies at check-in, business center with free printing, free wifi, fitness center, laundry facility, etc. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed here for one night on my way from San Francisco to San Diego via California 1. Our family, four people, booked an one bedroom suite. The room was quite, clean, spacious, plus the outdoor pool and spa (a little too small), we all got good rest. And the staff was very helpful as well.
The only glitch was that when we got there around 4:30pm, the room was still not ready, and we had to wait for about 30mins in the lobby.

Room Tip: Try to get a even number room. They face pool/garden and quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Dan C,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us while passing through the central coast. We only have a selected amount of suites which can cause check-in time delays. I am pleased to hear our staff were helpful to you and your family. If you are travelling up the coast again, we would love to have you stay with us!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
226 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our family uses all of Marriott's products and the Courtyard fits into our plans just fine. My wife and I had two nights to run up to the central coast for pleasure, and we stayed one night here using our Gold Elite points. The hotel is fairly new and everything is in good shape, it was too cold to use the pool/jaquzi but we got a great nights sleep and were off for golf at Avila beach Sunday morning. There is a restaruant here, they were offering a Valentines menu all weekend, but we could not take advantage of this. We love all Marriott products and use them often.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Kenneth Q,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us during the Valentine’s Day Weekend. Although it was a little chilly outside, please note that our pool and Jacuzzi are both heated. Make sure to join us next time for dinner as we have some wonderful and delicious menu selections to choose from. We hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed at this Courtyard while visiting family. Centrally located and very convenient. A traditional Courtyard by very clean and staff very friendly and welcoming. The only downside is that the pool is outside and the wind seldom stops blowing in the area.

Room Tip: get a room in back facing the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remi_Bordelon, Front Office Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear mfags,

Thank you for your comments! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott in San Luis Obispo. You are right that our hillside facing view is very beautiful and most desirable. Although our pool is located outside it is heated and we also have a spa to enjoy. Whether your next trip is a short vacation or longer, we would love to have you stay with us again!

Warmest Regards,
Remi Bordelon
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Property: Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Marriott
San Luis Obispo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing