We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Say”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
GreenLeadersSilver level
Southern California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Say”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

Brand new sparkling clean hotel. Location is out of town, not walking distance, but if you are looking for a nice, clean, modern place to stay, this is the place. Staff was great, very nice and welcoming.

  • Liked — New
  • Disliked — Out of downtown
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cutsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    161
    71
    13
    13
See reviews for
158
101
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blumenau
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2008

This brand new Marriot hotel is really Excellent.
Good location (right off the highway), gracious staff, spacious and clean rooms, good value.
I recommend undoubtedly.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nuviBlumenau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2008

In our way to San Francisco from LA we decided to stop one night at SLO.
The courtyard is next to the 101 highway and some miles before SLO. It's a big building but charming.
The hall at the lobby is big enoght and you can have a very good breakfast in it. We have some problem with the waitress at ordering breakfast, maybe due to our accent, we are foreigner.
The room are pretty and clean.
I arranged in at advanced a surprise to my wife cause it was her birthday. I ordered cheese, fruits and wine. Everything was perfect when we arrived. The staff was very gentle and worry to set up everything as I wanted. The also call me after to check if everything was as I asked for.
This stay make us the trip shorter and lighter.

  • Liked — Professional staff oriented to client.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chonguito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2008

We stayed at the SLO Courtyard (CY) for one night on our way to LA from Monterey. This is the nicest CY I've stayed in. I generally don't review CY's because they are all sort of the same. This one is one of the brand new CY's and it is really nice. The lobby is spacious and modern as are the rooms. The rooms are a nice size with flat screen HGTV, microwave, refrigerator and FREE WIRELESS! We had a room facing the pool and the hills. When I went to the lobby to get a drink, the bartender told us that there is a pack of wild horses that roams in the hills. Well, sure enough I looked out the window and saw them. Incredible! Also, I can't say enough about the staff. Everyone from the front desk, maids, and management were very nice. It just seems like everyone was well trained and the management has this place under control. We were so relaxed that we decided not to leave for dinner and we ordered room service. The food was good and they have a good wine list with lots of local wines and micro brews. We stayed with our two year old son and this hotel (like all CY's) is very accommodating to familes with young children.

  • Liked — Service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank E_S_Liam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

The Courtyard Marriott San Luis Obispo is a brand new hotel right off the highway. Its very convenient if you are travelling and want a good place to stay. However, you cannot walk to anything from the hotel, you must drive. It's really just right off the highway.

The hotel is new and the rooms are very comfortable and clean. We paid $169 using hotels.com. We were traveling north from LA to San Francisco and this was our third night on the road (LA, Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo). We did not eat dinner in the area since we had eaten a really big lunch. However we really enjoyed the $10 breakfast at the hotel in the morning. Its a buffet, but the wait staff is very attentive and makes the experience very nice. They make omlets to order or you can make your own Belgian waffle, along with all the other selections. We had a big breakfast and headed up the coast to see the Hearst Castle. (advance reservations are necessary to get on a guided tour of the castle).

In fairness we did not drive into the town of San Luis Obispo, because we arrived after dark. The Marriott is a great place to stay en route to somewhere else, but is not a destination hotel.

  • Liked — convenience to highway and cleanliness
  • Disliked — its not near anything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SoccerFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

My wife and I stayed here for a single night ato be close to Heart Castle down Highway 1 the next day - I'm a Marriott platinum member so tend to get better treatment than the average guest so bear this in mind with my review. I was staying on points.

After getting to the hotel, easily finding parking, we had a pleasant time chatting to the very friendly receptionist who mentioned that night was a Jazz night with live music at the hotel (impressive for a Courtyard). We later caught a glimpse of this and it seemed like a nice event.

Our room looked onto the pool and into the hills, so a very nice room. As others have mentioned - the TV was very impressive, large new flat screen high-def TV - and we had a full sofa opposite to watch it on. Later in the night we brought it out on a full swivel stand so we could watch it in bed too. The bathroom in the hotel was all fine too, and there was even a microwave and fridge in our room which would be nice if you wanted to save a bit of cash.

Other than that, we ate out in the town, which is about a 2 mile drive down the highway and was a pleasant experience. Checkout the next morning was smooth and away we went.

Overall, as the hotel appears pretty much brand new with all the high end things you might like, it was a really great stay and is a bargain for the usual prices that were being charged (even though of course we used points). If you are travelling from LA-SF or want to see Hearst Castle then it is just great. The drive to Hearst Castle was just over an hour and very pleasant too.

  • Liked — Really great value for money
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank littev0ices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

We had a quick overnight stay here in July and it was just great. The room was very comfortable, even for 4 of us (including my two near-teenage sons). The hotel is quite new, so everything is in great shape. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean, and the shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water. The front desk was very cordial, and quite accommodating. The only thing we didn't like was that breakfast was not included in our room, and the on-site restaurant facilities are pretty sparse. As in there weren't any. They did have a nifty little snack closet that you could buy a few snacks from by the front desk... good for a quick chocolate fix! Overall a very reasonable rate for a nice, comfortable hotel. We will definitely be back when we are SLO again.

  • Liked — Very comfortable for a great rate
  • Disliked — No good food
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FolsomTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hotel
BEST WESTERN PLUS Royal Oak Hote...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Property: Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Courtyard
San Luis Obispo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing