We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Love This Place! LOVE LOVE LOVE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Long Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still Love This Place! LOVE LOVE LOVE”
Reviewed 28 August 2009

I already reviewed the Courtyard Marriott in SLO a year ago, but I just stayed there again last week and had to comment again that I adore this hotel. I think it is just beautiful, and awesome in every way. This time we stayed in a suite and it was so perfect since we have two kids. We could close the kids off in the bedroom and stay up late watching TV in the living room area, enjoying the wet bar. Nice. The suites are huge, and gorgeous like the rest of the hotel. Beds are so comfortable, and the amenities are so much better than anyone would expect. I will always stay here!

Someone else mentioned that if you get a room facing the pool area, it can be kind of loud. I do agree with this, but it wasn't terrible, and most people left before it was too late at night.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robenrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    169
    72
    13
    13
See reviews for
164
103
19
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Despite it's location slightly off the beaten track, though very convenient to the freeway, would highly recommend the SLO Marriott. The rooms are beautifully appointed, spacious, clean. The sheets are soft, the beds and pillows comfy, the bathrooms have all the amenities anyone could ask for. Everything is modern and lovely, the staff accommodating, and the hotel lobby even has free computers for the use of the guests.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB90292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2009

We stayed here for two nights and it was a nice room but I must agree with the previous review by Noduh - our room had a faint strange musty smell. This is a newer hotel and we were on the 3rd floor. Our room faced the mtns to the rear of the hotel and it was quiet as requested. At an average price of $200 per night I dont believe this place is a great value. The two reviews from the Toronto guest are a bit too positive, does he ever travel? LOL

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM_sacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Bay area
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

This may be one of the better hotels in SLO, but it isn't a good value. We wanted to like this hotel as much as we do the lively city, but there are problems. Our first room was over the kitchen and the exhaust fan was very loud until about midnight. The staff admitted the next day that some people are bothered by the sound and they very graciously moved us, though at first they tried to put us in a room with a view of the parking lot instead of the mountains. The hotel is in a great spot outside town and its layout is unique, surrounding a courtyard with pool. The drawback is that noise at the pool is magnified in the courtyard rooms, and the outside-facing rooms weren't available--obviously a premium to travelers in the know. This is a pretty new hotel but has an odd musty smell, and the rooms are small, especially for a the price. So depending on the room you get, you may enjoy your stay very much, but there's no way this is a bargain. Courtyard came up a little short on this place.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Stayed in this new hotel for one night on July 19th and loved it. It was very clean and modern. Staff was extremely friendly. Room was lovely. I loved the town of San Luis Obispo as well - a true gem. I'd definitely stay in this hotel - and this town - again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Everything about this hotel is great. The place is very clean and still smells new. Staff is very helpful, rooms are large, clean and well equiped. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Very easy to find and close to the downtown. Nice pool and hot tub area. Free parking, business center and wi-fi are all nice extras.
Stay here, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestly-2-U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, NM
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in June 2009. This place was new, clean and very nice. I asked for a quiet room and we never heard a noise or peep. It was so clean and such a nice place overall. There is a bar, restaurant, outdoor pool, jacuzzi and awesome workout room. The staff was very helpful. Our room was always clean. There were computers downstairs for our use. I slept very well here, the beds were very comfy. The hotel is on the edge of town but we had a car and we were out exploring everyday. We were able to drive up to Hearst Castle from here, then up to see the elephant seals and on Thurs night we went into SLO to to the Farmer's Market which was huge and had some of the best food and best produce around!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,207 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
624 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,403 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Property: Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Marriott
San Luis Obispo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing