We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and new”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and new”
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Our room had 2 queen beds and a sofa sleeper. It was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was not included, though there was a restaurant on site which we did not use. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only a short drive to downtown San Luis Obispo, which was a really cute, lively downtown.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelersMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    166
    72
    13
    13
See reviews for
162
102
19
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san jose
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2009

I attempted to get a room at this location approximately 11:30PM.
However after 11pm you need a room card to get in, so I was speaking to the person at the front desk through the intercom.
She repeatedly informed me that the hotel was 100% full, which I sincerely doubted. I'm a Platinum member and stay at a lot of marriotts. So this lady tells me 3x that the hotel was 100% full and won't let me into the lobby. She calls the night manager and replys back through the intercom that if I don't leave then she WILL CALL THE POLICE.

This is absolutely ridiculous.. So I'm tired of driving on the road and this lady at the front desk threatens to call the police? I understand there was some language barrier on her side, but she was under the direction of the night manager through her handy walkie talkie. I can't believe I was treated like this. It was very OFFENSIVE and the night manager should take responsibility.

I later called the Platinum reservation line, and guess what? the hotel wasn't at 100% capacity. No kidding.. So I was given false information which was repeatedly verified when I inquired again and again due to my disbelief that there were no vacancies.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatoranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
courtyardslo, Manager at Courtyard San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 9 January 2010
We strive to provide a safe and secure environment for all guests and associates and regret that on this particular occasion our security measures prevented a weary traveler from obtaining a room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Located just off Highway 101, this is a fantastic stopping point if you are travelling between LA and Monterey. Free parking. Spacious, clean modern rooms. Friendly staff. Free internet area where you can also get complimentary tea & coffee.
You definitely need a car to stay here. Downtown is approx. 10 mins drive away.
SLO is a charming town, with a lovely atmosphere. There is a Farmers' Market evey Thursday night 6-9pm, with lots of stalls selling a large variety of cooked foods items such as BBQ, Mexican, Oriental etc. We were lucky enough to be there on the Thur before Halloween, and so there was additional entertainment, making is a very enjoyable evening. Free/ cheap parking available downtown. Smart looking gym and pool on site. Guest laundry facilities costing only a few $. Microwave, iron and coffee maker in room. As others have mentioned, go to Margie's diner; good real food (although they somehow manage to burn the toast) and great service.
All in all, we really liked this place and my only criticism would be that the heating units used by lots of hotels in the US are very noisy. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We stayed here for two nights at the end of October.
Although not located in SLO, it's within a 5 minute drive to downtown.
The front desk personnel were professional, courteous, helpful (esp. with SLO downtown info.....restaurants, parking, etc.) and check in-out went very smoothly.
The rooms are very, very spacious, immaculate.....ours overlooked the pool/spa area and the slopes of a ranch next door.....idyllic! We felt we were at a spa!!!
The lobby/bar/sitting areas were very comfortable and spacious as well. There is a fitness center on the first floor as well as a separate internet area.
This is the best Courtyard we have stayed in and we would not hesitate to return and we would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0vingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We only stayed at this property for 1 night as we were traveling down the coast. Wish we could have stayed longer! The property itself is spotless and well situated near the highway. I had asked for a room facing the back of the property which was given and it was quiet and scenic as we got to see the wild horses grazing in the morning from our window. We were only 10 minutes driving from the center of town which was great. We did not eat at the hotel but did go to the diner around the corner for breakfast and it was excellent diner food! Free internet and parking made it very affordable, we really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanetrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa clara, ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Have a real good experience staying at Courtyard San Luis Obispo. Chris, the front desk manager is a very customer-service oriented guy. He's wonderful. Lots of familiies stayed there during our stay, mostly soccer families. They even have singing and dancing at night, which was really enjoyable and fun.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tati-betz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Our family has stayed at this property twice now, and each time found it to be an outstanding lodging experience.

Our first stay was to celebrate my husband and my anniversary, and upon check-in we were presented with a complimentary beverage voucher for the lounge. The clerk said it was 'to wish you a Happy Anniversary on behalf of Courtyard.' A thoughtful gesture that goes a long way with us and speaks of quality customer service. We were given a room in a more quiet and private portion of the hotel, and staff went out of their way to accommodate any travel-related questions such as directions, dining recommendations and other local entertainment options. From the desk staff to the cleaning staff, we enjoyed professional, courteous service above and beyond the call of duty.

Our second stay was with our teenaged children and again the hotel was clean, elegantly decorated and staff was cheerful and helpful. It's location is terrific - close to the beaches, the town proper and the university. It's easy to access via the freeway but set off enough that traffic sounds are never an issue.

The rooms are spacious and the beds heavenly and large. This has become our hotel of choice any and every time we visit the coast. Thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrssalamander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.5 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
710 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,194 reviews
3.7 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
592 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,379 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Luis Obispo

Property: Courtyard San Luis Obispo
Address: 1605 Calle Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-7214
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#8 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#10 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott is San Luis Obispo's newest hotel and is conveniently located near Cal Poly and is 7 mi to Pismo and Avila Beach. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo is 4 mi to San Luis Obispo County Airport with easy access to all area attractions and landmarks. Our San Luis Obispo hotel has a distinctive architectural style where you can enjoy the warmth of the California sun. The Courtyard San Luis Obispo has a customer-focused guest room design combining both comfort and functionality. Our San Luis Obispo hotel offers spacious rooms, complimentary wireless internet, as well as a fitness center and an outdoor heated pool with jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo Marriott
San Luis Obispo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing