We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet B n' B, great location”
Review of Garden Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sweet B n' B, great location”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed at The Garden Street Inn at the end of a two week roadtrip, en route back to San Francisco. We didn't have a reservation but the chap at the desk was really helpful booking us in and giving us directions to the carpark (the bnb doesn't have on street parking but they have a set up with the local multi storey carpark - ask when booking).

The Garden Street inn rooms each have a theme. Our room "Field of Dreams" had a baseball theme and the owners had really gone to town displaying memorabilia throughout the room and even in the en suite. It was a little ott for us but you have to admire their dedication. The Inn itself has a lovely homely feel, with a traditional feeling library/lounge downstairs and a huge sweeping staircase up to the rooms on the first floor and all the rooms have traditional key locks...no issues with cards that haven't been properly loaded.

We were a little concerned we'd find the room noisy having read some other reviews and seeing how close we were to the main street but we needn't have worried, the room was blissfully dark and quiet. That said, the bnb IS ideally located just off the main shopping street and close to a range of restaurants and bars.

We also didn't expect much in the way of breakfast having read reviews and also hearing the chef had been asked to leave the night before! Again, nothing to worry about the breakfast was delicious! Not bad seeing it was put together by (we're guessing) the proprietor who was also looking after other 8 guests.

The Inn is a bnb so don't stay expecting all the trappings of a fancy boutique hotel (although you may well still get them), its charming, quiet, well positioned and perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBears_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    76
    22
    13
    15
See reviews for
26
110
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I recently stayed at the Garden Street Inn on a business trip passing through the city. I called for a last minute reservation and the reception not only upgraded my room to a suite at no charge but also gave me a discount when she found out I had to leave prior to breakfast. A quaint bed and breakfast in the heart of downtown.

The prices were good given the location and the bed and breakfast was well maintained. A few quirks with the sink being in the room instead of the bathroom and the design of the space, but this was a bed and breakfast and perfectly charming.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasi_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We just spent 3 days in the Garden Street Inn, which is just as charming as on the website and in photos. The location within walking distance of downtown SLO is why we chose it. Our 1st floor room was spacious & clean, however it's time to clean and plump up the "tired" sofa. Innkeeper John was helpful, efficient and friendly.
The BIG disappointment was the very mediocre breakfasts. The menu selections & presentations were unacceptable for a "Bed and Breakfast". The food was always barely warm, served 30 minutes after the posted start time, thus causing guests to have to wait for table openings and then being late to start the day's activities. Even more frustrating was the attitude of the cook/server. He never greeted anyone, smiled, made eye contact or asked if anything was needed.
We've enjoyed the small, quaint, personal experiences in other B&B's, and had expectations based on those previous trips. Special, unique, fresh fruits and home baked foods have been the offerings, but NOT at the Garden Street Inn.
LOCATION: Ideal
BED Rooms/Furnishings: Charming & Clean
BREAKFAST: go to Louisa's Place, cause there's nothing satisfying about it here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We made all of our friends jealous finding this lovely inn! We were wedding guests in the area and by far had the best accommodations. Very clean and close to all the main restaurants and bars. Wish we would have booked an extra day in advance as they were already sold out. We will definitely stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ101511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is an excellent place to stay. We just happened on it whilst looking for a one night stay in San Luis on our way to Carmel. If we hadn't already booked Carmel we would have stayed longer. Really lovely house with oodles of character, the rooms were spacious, very clean comfortable beds and decorated in keeping with the age of the house. The breakfast was good and the price was also good. The owner was very helpful and gave us advise on where to eat on the night, 'The Slow Brewhouse' the food was good and their own sweet apple cider was even better !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This beautiful place is the perfect combination of location, friendly staff, and rooms that makes you feel at home. Breakfast was very good, parking arrangement for our car, free WiFi. In short - everything you need to spend a good time in San Luis Obispo and the area around.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aharonamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect location for checking out the main area of San Luis Obispo on foot. We stayed 2 nights and didn't run out of things to do. We love this town!

The breakfast was very good and different each morning.

Staff were friendly and helpful and the old house is Beautiful.

Wifi was hit and miss in our room on the iPhone but worked fine on our laptop. I phone worked fine elsewhere.

Nitpick detail, include local preserves with breakfast, this area has so many neat producers it would add a local touch.

We stayed with our dog.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advantex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
1.0 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,571 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
380 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Street Inn

Property: Garden Street Inn
Address: 1212 Garden St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-3914
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown San Luis Obispo on the Central California Coast, The Garden Street Inn is just steps from all the sights, sounds, shopping and history of vintage San Luis Obispo. This nostalgic college town surrounded by the natural beauty of the rolling hills and coastal valleys is a short drive from Avila and Morro Bay, Hearst Castle, Pismo Beach and artistic Cambria. Golf, tennis, biking and hiking opportunities abound. The myriad local tourist attractions including world renowned vineyards and wineries, California Missions, Museums and Beaches, make SLO a wonderful choice for a vacation getaway.Classic decor reflects Victorian charm in the 9 guest rooms and 4 suites of this San Luis Obispo Boutique Hotel - all with private baths, appointed with antiques, some with jacuzzi tubs and historical, cultural and personal memorabilia. The staff at the inn prepares a delicious breakfast each morning which is served in the McCaffrey Morning Room surrounded by original stained-glass windows.With spacious outside decks, a well-stocked Goldtree Library and well appointed accommodations, our San Luis Obispo staff in residence is proud to host your romantic interlude or a relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Garden Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Street Hotel San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing