We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Expensive"”

Madonna Inn Copper Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Madonna Inn Copper Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Famous Copper Cafe is popular with tourists and locals alike for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all served in a continental atmosphere. Elaborate woodcarvings, red leather seats, and hand-painted walls create a memorable, unique experience. Adjacent the Copper Cafe, the Madonna Inn Bakery features World Famous cakes, pies, pastries, French pastries, cookies and delightful cookies, all made daily.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Expensive"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We dined in the Steakhouse side of the Madonna Inn Restaurant. Average price started $20 per plate and went up from there.
I ordered the Filet Mignon $42 was to be prepared medium. Brought out RARE. I sent back, and it must have been microwaved. A bit rubbery, and steaming hot.
Also ordered was the Fettuccine and Shrimp, $26 the pasta and sauce was cold. Sent back, yes again I do believed warmed in a microwave.
With drinks and "Free" dessert from manager for sending back the food, the cost of the meal was $118
I have eaten in many fine dining restaurants and this was not one I would call that.
Zero flavor.
I guess the cost is the attraction of the odd decor of Pink Flowers, Grapes, and gold floating Angels.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottLisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    166
    86
    39
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting decor -- medicore food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

After many years of visiting San Luis Obispo and seeing the Madonna Inn from the freeway I finally stopped to look around and eat. Wanted to really know if this very gaudy venue was all it was cracked up to be. The décor is without compare = defined as, wow what an overdone very pink motif.

The food was lacking in quality and flavor. Glorified freeway type presentation and kitchen skills. Overpriced for what they serve.

Basically "I" felt it is a typical over-hyped venue which, in it's day, (which was many years ago), it probably was THE place to see and be seen and to have been served a quality meal.

Turns out FOR ME, that stop will be the first and only.

But don't let that deter you from at least visiting to try for yourself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zantor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Second visit - must be doing something right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Our second visit will come again.
Fantastic décor food on the dear side but quality is worth it.
Excellent service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank areyathere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I was expecting more of the overpriced, mediocre SLO area tourist trap cuisine. Yes, it's a bit more expensive than elsewhere, but, hey, the decor and the basement restrooms are definitely worth a few bucks extra. And, against all odds, my hot turkey sandwich with mashed potatoes was huge and quite good. If possible, I'd suggest sitting at the copper-clad counter for even better service and atmosphere. And then there's the desserts...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great choice and tasty food set in an atmospheric location. The service was fast, friendly and efficient. I wish I'd had room for the beautiful cakes!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Hardies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madonna Inn Copper Cafe also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Madonna Inn Copper Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing