We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast at the Copper Cafe”

Madonna Inn Copper Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Madonna Inn Copper Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 302 Restaurants in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Famous Copper Cafe is popular with tourists and locals alike for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, all served in a continental atmosphere. Elaborate woodcarvings, red leather seats, and hand-painted walls create a memorable, unique experience. Adjacent the Copper Cafe, the Madonna Inn Bakery features World Famous cakes, pies, pastries, French pastries, cookies and delightful cookies, all made daily.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast at the Copper Cafe”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Breakfast was really delicious - they did all of the really important things for me when it comes to breakfast: hot food, strong coffee, crispy bacon and perfectly cooked eggs. Whats not to love?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank STMRobynMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    172
    90
    40
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
226 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Massive portions, but heavy”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We ordered a Reuben sandwich and a spinach salas. Portions are big, bordering on massive, and felt "heavy". If this is your thing you're in for a treat. If not, stick to the salads that seemed to be the better choice as the Reuben was drenched if fat and melted cheese. Overall ok, but do expect an old-school feel to the food as opposed to contemporary.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Service was a little slow, but the food was awesome! The Egg Benedict is the way to go! Biggest slice of ham ever!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelers06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Expensive"”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We dined in the Steakhouse side of the Madonna Inn Restaurant. Average price started $20 per plate and went up from there.
I ordered the Filet Mignon $42 was to be prepared medium. Brought out RARE. I sent back, and it must have been microwaved. A bit rubbery, and steaming hot.
Also ordered was the Fettuccine and Shrimp, $26 the pasta and sauce was cold. Sent back, yes again I do believed warmed in a microwave.
With drinks and "Free" dessert from manager for sending back the food, the cost of the meal was $118
I have eaten in many fine dining restaurants and this was not one I would call that.
Zero flavor.
I guess the cost is the attraction of the odd decor of Pink Flowers, Grapes, and gold floating Angels.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottLisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting decor -- medicore food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After many years of visiting San Luis Obispo and seeing the Madonna Inn from the freeway I finally stopped to look around and eat. Wanted to really know if this very gaudy venue was all it was cracked up to be. The décor is without compare = defined as, wow what an overdone very pink motif.

The food was lacking in quality and flavor. Glorified freeway type presentation and kitchen skills. Overpriced for what they serve.

Basically "I" felt it is a typical over-hyped venue which, in it's day, (which was many years ago), it probably was THE place to see and be seen and to have been served a quality meal.

Turns out FOR ME, that stop will be the first and only.

But don't let that deter you from at least visiting to try for yourself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zantor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madonna Inn Copper Cafe also viewed

San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Madonna Inn Copper Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing