We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2011

We just spent two very fun nights at the Quality Suites. It was wonderful. We traveled with our teenage son and two other families and their teenage sons. We headed down to SLO to tour Cal Poly and UCSB. The hotel is in a wonderful location. The community feels safe and the boys were able to walk down Monterey St. into town and have some freedom. And, we were able to hang out a the hotel and enjoy the patio with the firepits and happy hour. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. The pool area, pool area bathrooms and the breakfast room were also so clean and fresh. Loved the tough of clean hand towels in the pool bathroom. The evening bbq and happy hour really give the guests a chance to relax and mingle. We met some other very nice families and were able to chat with them each evening. The boys enjoyed the pool, hot tub and work out room. It was a great time for all of us. We loved Cal Poly and hope we get to spend more time in SLO and at the Quality Suites!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3sacharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It was great to hear that you found our hotel "wonderful" and that it was a "great time" for everyone. I always like to hear from our guest that are coming to visit Cal Poly. It is a very good school and I know as parents you have to be proud that someone in your family has in interest in attending Cal Poly. We just recently added the fire pits to our patio area and they have been very popular with our guests. Good to hear that you and the families you were traveling with were able to enjoy them.

We hope to see you again in SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    221
    53
    13
    6
See reviews for
302
197
23
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Quality Suites in SLO. It was overall a good experience. The hotel furniture is a bit outdated yet very clean. The convenience of having a microwave and refrigerator when traveling with two kids is immeasurable. The hotel is in a quiet part of SLO. The pool was a bit cold, but the sauna was a great temperature for a toddler. Complimentary drinks are offered each evening. Free DVD rentals and microwavable popcorn (for purchase) are available in the gift store. The best part was the evening BBQ offered Mon thru Sat evening. Both of my kids have severe food allergies, and the two ladies at the BBQ stand were amazing. We read all the food labels together, and they were very helpful and friendly. One even helped move some chairs for us, so we could sit near a patio heater. My son still raves about the two "special safe" hot dogs the lady chef helped prepare for him. I would highly recommend Quality Suites for families with young children. Relatively short drive to Pismo Beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodAllergyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I appreciate that you highly recommend our hotel for families traveling with children. I have a great staff and they do their best to accommodate all our guests. The BBQ is a popular feature with families that visit. Nice to hear that you thought the two BBQ cooks were amazing. We are currently in the process refurbishing all the suites so that they will have new furnishings.

We hope to see you again the next time you are able to visit SLO

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

What a great stay we had! Here one night in early April while visiting Cal Poly SLO with my teenagers. We had a large suite with mini refriegerator and microwave. The room is a little outdated, but certainly comfortable. The lobby is really cute, and has a 24 hour gift shop, a bar, computer terminals and lots of comfortable seating. The hotel offers free wine a beer, free movie rentals, free breakfast with eggs prepared to order, waffles, cereal, bagels, etc. Free wifi and parking. They also have a BBQ dinner - hamburgers, hotdogs, steak sandwich, veggie burger, salad, coleslaw with the most expensive item $6.00. An easy dinner for tired traverlers or families on a budget. The hotel is centrally located, close to downtown, freeway, and Cal Poly. If my son winds up at Cal Poly, we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 12 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Great to hear that you had the chance to enjoy the many amenities we provide here at our Hotel. We are in the process of renovating all of the suites. In fact, we have recently installed new LCD flat panel TV's is all the suites. I appreciate you pointing out the value and convenience of our BBQ. It is very popular feature of our hotel and it was good to hear that you think so as well.

Cal Poly is a great college. We hope that your son winds up here as well so that we can see you again.

Thanks.

George Newland
Owner Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

My wife tried to make reservations at this hotel, and after she checked prices, got the number as 877-662-6988. She called this number and was informed that it was a reservation bureau for several hotels. She gave them our credit card number, made reservations, but thought something was amiss. She imediately called our credit card company who informed here that several fraudulent charges has just been attempted from Paris France.

This is in no way a reflection of the hotel, just a heads up to others to be careful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cznbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Thank you for making us aware of this and for letting everyone know that this is in no way a reflection of the hotel or its staff.

I have contacted the guest to get more information. The customer's protection is very important to us and we will do everything possible to protect our guest.

Thank you.

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I spent a few days here with (adult) family over a rainy spell. The cozy lobby and bar -- with fireplace, computers, 24/7 small gift shop, free DVDs and paperbacks for the room, free wine and hot drinks, and even warm cookies -- was a refuge in the bad weather. Free hot breakfasts were served in the separate eating room. On weekend eves the staff grilled burgers under a tent by the deserted pool, so you didn't have to starve if you didn't want to go out. (There are cafes within walking distance, and downtown is a few minutes by car.) Our 2-room suite had microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, two TVs with extended cable and DVDs, table, and toiletries (save for bathrobes).
I do recommend asking for a suite on an upper floor in the back, which will be away from any noise from partymakers or children, and which might include at least one window with a view of the lovely hills and creek (rather than the motel-style covered corridor)..

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deekaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I took pleasure in hearing that our hotel provided you a refuge even in the bad weather. It looks like you were able to enjoy many of our amenities during your stay.

We hope see you again the next time you are able to visit San Luis Obispo. Hopefully, the weather will be better on your next visit.

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

We had come from cold, snowy NY and stayed in Pasadena for 3 weeks house-sitting and cat-sitting and were on our way towards Palo Alto and wanted to spend a day or so in San Luis Obispo. We wound up staying 3 nights in this lovely Hotel/Inn. We asked for a very quiet room (we were in room 225) which was an excellently furnished suite comprised of a bedroom (king size very comfortable bed) and a "living room" with a L-Shaped sleep sofa, a large-screen LCD TV in both the bedroom and living room, DVD player, small refrig, microwave and anything else you would lilke for a comfortable stay. The breakfast is "custom" and was included in the price with all manner of goodies availble cooked to ones specification plus the usual cold and hot cereals, muffins, fruit, etc. You could also make coffee in your room or get some coffee or tea in the large lobby which also had 2 computers/printers for guest use.
In addition, in the evening they had a very affordable barbecue (hamburgers, chicken, steak sandwhiches, etc) with $6.00 being the costliest item on the menu. Both free wine and soda are availble every evening as well. The place is well-located to get to any place of interest and we went to Pismo, "down-town" San Luis Obispo (SLO), etc. There is a hotel van to take you downtown if you don't want to drive. The staff was very accomodating to all requests.
The only possible drawback- on occasion you might hear the AMTRAK train whistle in the middle of the night, but that would apply to all the hotels in the vicinity. This is an excellent place to stay ; ask for what discounts they can offer you and you'll be sure to save some $'s over the "list" rate.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ericjf2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Wow! Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our property. From your review it looks like you were able to enjoy most of the amenities that we provide. It is nice to hear that you decided to extend your stay to 3 nights. San Luis Obispo is a great town and I am sure spending 3 days helped you explore the area.

We hope to see you again the next time you are able to visit SLO.

Thank you

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Friendly staff and some nice touches. Quality Suites actually provides a hot breakfast with good coffee! Also loved the dvd library - some pretty recently released movies that sure came in handy given the rainy weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rzngro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this review, 1 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. Nice to know that you liked the coffee and dvd selection. It helps us do a better job when we find out what customers like you appreciate about the amenities we offer.

We hope to see you again the next time you are able to visit SLO.

Thank you

George Newland
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,364 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Madonna Inn
Madonna Inn
#5 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,571 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Property: Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing