We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Having stayed at a few different hotels over the years in San Luis Obispo we opted to stay at Quality Suites this time around given the tripadvisor reviews. We were not disappointed.

The rooms at this hotel were among the best and most spacious we stayed in on our trip to California with separate lounge area to the beds and a balcony. The bedding was extremely comfortable, just the thing after a long drive from LA. The hotel had a very good athmosphere with plenty of activity around the pool and what appeared to be a BBQ area. Rooms were very clean and launderette facilities were good. As regards other hotel facilities we did notice that the shop behind reception was poorly stocked and certainly nothing like the pictures in the hotel booklet. This is a minor issue. Maybe they'd been cleared out by the large group of sports club kids staying at the hotel the night we were there.

The free hot cooked breakfast was very welcome and no complaints regarding the food.

The reception staff were very helpful especially when I sought directions to the airport's car rental desk and check-in and out was very efficient.

The hotel is accessible to the freeway without being so near that noise becomes an issue. Its a short walk into San Luis Obispo which is rather pleasant. Parking was plentiful even though the hotel looked busy.

We'd stay here again enroute to San Francisco from LA.

Room Tip: Suites were spacious and ideal for separating kids from adults in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dfenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

Thank you for letting us know about your stay at our Hotel. Since we have limited space in our convenience store we stock it to provide the things that guests ask for the most. We do see more activity in the convenience store in the summer. The complimentary DVD rentals in our store is very popular with our guests.

Great to read that you had a pleasant walk to the downtown area of San Luis Obispo. Our guests have told us many times that is well worth the 10 minute walk.

We hope to see you again the next time you are able to visit.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

What a gem of a hotel! The reception is welcoming and the grounds surrounding the rooms were such a pleasant surprise.
The suites are huge and can be seperated into two rooms with a sliding door. They provided all you could wish for! We enjoyed complimentary drinks at the bar prior to being taken into town in the hotels car. We were also collected after dinner-what wonderful service. On checking out my son left his jeans in the room and the hotel were more than helpful in arranging to post them to us in the UK and generally gave excellent service. The beloved jeans arrived safely a few days after we returned home, so Thank You Very Much!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theharrogatelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Thank you for providing us your experiences at our hotel and posting them on tripadvisor. I appreciate you getting back to us to let us know that you received the jeans your son left behind. We have a great housekeeping staff and the they are very proud of their record with lost and found. They will like knowing that your son's "beloved" jeans arrived safely. It was enjoyable to read that you found us to be a "gem" of a hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We checked in for one night and were so comfortable...we stayed 3 more nights. The wifi worked great, the couch was fairly new and in great shape (hotel couches usually creep me out...) and the bed was truly comfortable. The rooms were separated with doors (rather than studio style) so I could work while my husband slept and vice versa. Nice pool and hot tub too! The staff is very friendly and helpful. The beer/wine/bbq hour actually gives the hotel a sense of community. It's a bit expensive but we loved it. Will happily go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WriterWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It was great to read that you decided to extend your stay from one day to three. I am glad that the setup of the suites worked out well for you and your husband. I appreciated seeing your comment on the sense of community that we have here during the evening manager's reception. It is hare to convey the relaxed family feeling atmosphere that we have at our poolside barbecue until someone has stayed and experienced it themselves. Your comments will help others understand the community feeling we have here.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

The staff were very knowledgeable about the area. they were friendly and very helpful
rooms were very clean and newly furbished with flat screen tvs and free DVD rentals in the reception area
There were extra touchs that helped make the stay enjoyable
free wifi - a must with teenagers
free drinks for 2 hours in the evening(alcoholic and soft)
pretzels and crisps available to have with drinks
these could be taken out into the pool area
tea and coffee in the room as well as a fridge and mini kitchen with sink and microwave
family rooms with 2 beds and a comfortable sofa bed
free tea and coffee in reception area with freshly baked cookies available as certain times
the hotel is within a 5 minute walk to the centre of the town.
We were only sorry that we were stopping here on our way south other wise we would have stayed for a week the town is lovely with lots of shops and resturants

Room Tip: not to be confused with other quality suites as they are franchised and not of the same outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank applepie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel and the "excellent" rating. We hope that next time you are able to visit SLO that you will be able to stay with us for a week. We are in the middle of great town that provides our guests a lot fun and to good opportunity to get out and explore the area. I appreciate that you provided the tip that we are of "outstanding quality" as compared to other hotels in the chain.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We were on the road for a long day and it was so wonderful to check in to a comfortable, clean, and cozy room. The lobby was beautifully decorated. Breakfast was delicious and there were lots of choices. Downtown San Luis Obispo was a short drive away and very fun to explore. All in all, a great stay and it does live up to its #1 ranking on Trip Advisor. If we are ever in the area again, we will stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler888888888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Thank you for posting your comments about our hotel on TripAdvisor. It was good the read that we continue to live up to our #1 ranking. Many of our guest stay just to relax and visit our town. SLO has a lot to offer so it was good to hear that you had time to get out and do a little exploring.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

A one night stop over and I wished I stayed longer so I could enjoy the facilities. There was a BBQ dinner (I think guests paid for food, I wasn’t sure as I headed into town for a nice feed) and happy hour free drinks at the bar (I got to try a few new beers…thanks). The pool looked like fun. The room was big, clean and had all the necessary amenities (including a TV in the sitting room, plus another in the bedroom). Plenty of parking available. I enjoyed by very brief stay and would be more than happy to book in here again on my next visit to SLO.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It was good to read that you enjoyed your stay even though it was brief. All our barbecue items are $6 or less. Many of our guests have told us that this is the best deal in town.

We hope that you will be able to visit again and spend a little more time enjoying our hotel and SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stopped here for one night while driving up the California coast. We didn't plan ahead, as we didn't know how far we would get each day, but they were able to accommodate us with short notice. At check-in our children were offered cookies at the front desk, and the receptionist told my husband and me to hurry and catch the last 30 minutes of happy hour in the bar. They were serving complimentary wine and beer. Out by the pool, a grill was going where you could order up burgers for just $2-3. We passed on dinner because we had plans, but there were a lot of people enjoying eating out by the firepits and pool. Overall it was a fun environment. The room was sectioned off with a separate living area with pull-out, and flat screen. The bedroom also had a flat screen tv and a comfortable bed. While basic, it was tons of space, counterspace, etc. The only complaint was that there was apparently a regional baseball tournament going on, so lots of 8-14 year-old boys were dominating the pool and cookout area and were loud until about 10pm. Most rooms face into the pool courtyard area. To the hotel's credit, it seems they enforced their pool hours, as it got much more quiet after 10pm. In the morning, we received a full cook-to-order hot breakfast in the cafe. We hated that we could only stay one night!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeachyKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Thank you for providing such a detailed review of our hotel . I am glad that you decided to stop in on your trip up the coast. Nice to hear that you found our hotel to be a "fun environment". All our associates do their best to make it fun and enjoyable for all our guest.

I hope the next time you are able to visit that you will have the opportunity to stay for several days.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
0.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,467 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#12 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#4 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
922 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis Obispo
Hampton Inn & Suites- San Luis O...
#7 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
650 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#13 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites San Luis Obispo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites San Luis Obispo

Address: 1631 Monterey St, San Luis Obispo, CA 93401-2929 (Formerly Quality Suites Central Coast)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#3 Business Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price Range: £103 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites San Luis Obispo 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring complimentary breakfast, complimentary beer & wine tasting reception, and a downtown San Luis Obispo location, The Quality Suites San Luis Obispo awaits you with a combination of beautifully appointed suites and an array of area activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Suites San Luis Obispo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo Hotel San Luis Obispo
Quality Inn San Luis Obispo
Quality San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing