We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
San Luis Creek Lodge(San Luis Obispo)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peach Tree Inn(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbeam Motel(San Luis Obispo)
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Motel(San Luis Obispo)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avenue Inn Downtown San Luis Obispo(San Luis Obispo)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
439
238
57
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
238
57
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourfree shuttlefree beer and winecal polyevening bbqmade to order breakfastliving areabreakfast burritofree breakfastthe hotel offerschoice hotelspull out couchwafflessitting roompool areamanager's receptioncollege tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

thanks to trip advisor reviews i had no trouble deciding to book here. spanish hacienda hotel, room for 6 people, dreamy hotel. perfect and v recommended, pool was warm and clean. a great way to start the highway 1 journey

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaharliora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Thank you for letting us know about your stay at our hotel on tripadvisor. It was good to read that you found us to a “dreamy hotel”. We hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable along HWY 1. We highly recommend to our guests to take a trip north along HWY 1. If you have never done it, the views can be spectacular.

We hope you are able to visit us again soon.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This hotel is quite average.

The good:
Breakfast is quite good.
Nightly BBQ is very avg food for relatively low prices.
Free "ok" beer and low quality wine from 5:30 - 7:30
Close proximity to downtown (you can walk almost anywhere).
Friendly staff

The Bad:
Furnishings and decor are old and dated.
Small bathrooms are through the bedroom (if you have guests in the living room this can be awkward). Also, the sink for the bathroom is in the bedroom NOT in the bathroom itself.
Beds are SOFT (if you like firm beds this is not good).
Pool was barely heated if at all. Kids were cold.
One day the room service made the beds but left our trash cans full, living room sink dirty, no new glasses or bag for ice (bucket with bag still full of water from day before next to sink).

The Awful:
Hope you don't like to sleep:
1. NOISE!!! The walls are paper thin. We could hear conversations at normal speaking volume in the next room (and we tried TWO rooms) as well as from outside the front door.
2. If you have a room on the 1st floor you can hear EVERY suitcase and maid's cart being rolled down the halls of the upstairs floors not to mention enormous noise from people walking, dropping suitcases, children running upstairs (not to mention EVERY adult's footsteps as well).
3. Dog poop on courtyard lawn (obviously the fault of dog owner primarily).

I won't stay here again, but it could work you as long as you're ok with the above.

If the Villagio in Napa is a 4-5 star hotel... I'd say this is a 2-3 at best.

By the way - "Pepe Delgado's" Mexican restaurant (right next door) has "poor-to-ok" food at best and the margaritas SUCK... stick with beer.

Room Tip: Want even MORE noise??? Get a room facing the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. I was sorry to see that you were disturbed by noise during your stay. We have a good staff and we do our best to provide the best stay possible for all our guests. Most of our guests tell us how much they enjoy their stay at our hotel. Many of our guests enjoy our hotel so much that they stay with us again and again whenever they have the opportunity to visit SLO. Therefore, we do not feel that the positive reviews we receive are hype. We understand that we cannot be all things to all people so we do the best we can with the staff and amenities that we offer. Many of our repeat guests that prefer a quieter suite choose a higher floor in our gazebo courtyard.

It was good to see that you enjoyed the barbecue and our location to downtown.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Overall a good choice for most people with just a couple of caveats. Suite order is front door - living room with bar sink & counter, frig, microwave & TV - sliding door - bedroom containing closet, counter with sink, mirror and coffee machine - another sliding door to the bathroom (which does not include sink & mirror). This makes it difficult for couples where one wants to sleep late and the other wants to get up, shower, brush teeth, put on make-up, & get dressed to, say, go to breakfast. I prefer a complete bathroom so I can hang all my clothes for the next day in it, get up early in the morning and get ready in the bathroom without disturbing anyone sleeping. If the person who is sleeping late also stayed up late in the living room while the other went to bed, they would have to tip-toe in complete darkness through the bedroom to get to the bathroom. I always take a nightlight to deal with hotel darkness, but in this case the best outlet to plug it in was at the sink counter in the bedroom, which has a mirror that reflected the light and made it too bright. We have stayed here before and were bothered by noise on the first floor (I remember rumbling of housekeeper carts on the cement walk), but this time we had a room higher (e.g., 3rd floor) where the walks are quieter, and towards the back area where it's farther from pool area. Free breakfast is fine, but coffee was quite weak. Coffee you make yourself in the rooms was better (except that you have to use powdered stuff instead of half-n-half). The on-site shop could be more useful if they had frozen items that you could heat up in the in-room microwave. All-in-all would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you for providing a review of our hotel and posting it on tripadvisor. It was nice to see that you think we are a “good choice for SLO" and that you have stayed with us before. Many of our guests prefer having the bathroom next to the bedroom. We understand that it does not work in all situations. It was good to see that you preferred the room on the third floor in our gazebo courtyard. This is a favorite area among many of our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are able to visit SLO.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a Thursday night in August 2012 as we were going to see Paula Fuga and ALO play at SLO Brew just down the road (an easy walk, less than a mile) and we were quite happy with the entire experience. The property is well kept with a very appealing pool area in the courtyard along with many tables and chairs to relax at. They have a free beer and wine happy hour along with a poolside barbeque in the evening and their complimentary breakfast in the morning is more than what you most places offer. We didn't take advantage of any of these perks, but if we had had more time would certainly would have.
The room itself was nice, a suite with a king bed. It included 2 flat screen TVs, a fridge, microwave, even a DVD player (they have free DVD rentals).
Even the check in experience was great - we got checked in right away and the person who dealt with us was very professional telling us all about the different amenities the hotel offered.
Would definitely stay here again next time we're in SLO.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashcalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was great to see that you were able to visit us while enjoying one of the performances at SLO brew. Many of our guests have told us that they enjoy going to SLO brew and like you they find it and easy walk to downtown.

We hope that next time you visit you will have more time to enjoy the many amenities we offer. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
George Newland
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I have never stayed at a Quality brand hotel before, but this hotel gets great reviews-- for a reason. The hotel is very clean and every room is actually a one-bedroom suite, with a separate king bedroom and family room with fold-out sofa. The room includes a refrigerator and microwave, in addition to an in-room DVD player (movies can be rented for free in the gift shop.) A wine and beer-tasting reception is held each evening, and most nights also include dinner for a nominal price. The pool and spa area are great, and the hotel overall has a friendly semi-resort feel at a great price. Location is great and walking distance to several restaurants. Made-to-order breakfast included, value for price is fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyVonStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnewland, Owner at Quality Suites San Luis Obispo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel on tripadvisor. It was great to see that you decided to give us a try even though you had never stayed at a Quality brand hotel before. We try and provide a good mix of amenities that will suit both the family travelers and the business traveler. Generally we see more families on the weekend and businesspeople during the weekdays. We appreciate that you noticed we are “great for business and family travel".

We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in SLO.

Thank you,

George Newland
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews